User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 29th November 2020) with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Lord Wilson (Lloyds No1), Huddersfield

Pub added by Jim Newell
King Street
Huddersfield
HD1 2QB
Phone: 01484411020

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 4 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Lord Wilson (Lloyds No1)

We had a much better experience than the previous reviewers. Maybe there's been a change of management. One very large room which was bright and airy on our Sunday evening visit. No rubbish on any of the tables and the barman that served us was chatty and efficient. It's a pretty nondescript JDW to be honest with no features at all. 4 beers available and my pint of Saltaire Elderflower Blonde was in good nick. It may still be madness on a Friday night, but it's certainly alright on a Sunday.

On 19th February 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2866 recommendations about 2786 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Lord Wilson (Lloyds No1)

Must agree with Steve below. It does not compare to the other Spoons and I will not be revisiting.

On 16th December 2016 - rating: 3
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Lord Wilson (Lloyds No1)

I am guessing that as this former Lloyds bar is located in the main party street for central Huddersfield the target demographic are those pretty scantily clad bright young things that neck various alcopops after 10.00PM at night and don’t care about the décor in where they do it.
Exterior: Dull
Interior: Dull
Beer choice: Extreemly dull..
Yes this is one of the most boring Spoons I’ve ever set foot in

On 28th November 2016 - rating: 3
[User has posted 1712 recommendations about 1661 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Lord Wilson (Lloyds No1)

Undistinguished Lloyds No 1 bar, having a generally dark and dull interior (with the few tables on a slightly raised area by the front windows rightly being the most popular spot during daylight hours). Also has a few metal tables out on the pavement. Regular 'Party Central' events advertised with flyers. Only has five handpumps, and two of these were off, with the Saltaire Blonde (£2.15) being the most appealing choice (with the same brewery's Raspberry Blonde 'available soon', and its Cascade Pale noted on the keg taps too).

On 26th November 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Lord Wilson (Lloyds No1)

This is a full blown Lloyds with a dance floor to the left along with lighting rig and a box to house the idiot who plays the music.
I arrived here on a Saturday morning before midday and on either side there were projector screens showing the Trooping of the Colour that nobody was watching. All the tables were cluttered with EU Referendum propaganda.
Despite having one of the dullest Spoons interiors I've seen in years there were quite a few people in, mostly for breakfasts.
The bar at the back of the room has a pathetic five hand pumps with the JDW Trio of Doom, the JDW / Everard's Defender and Slightly Foxed Fox Glove. I went for the Fox Glove (£2.15) which wasn't entirely clear and tasted pretty rank.
I've only been to one Spoons worse than this and that's their Lloyds outlet in Brighton. That was so bad it didn't even deserve to get a 1 so this one doesn't escape the score of shame.

On 13th June 2016 - rating: 1
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Lord Wilson (JD Wetherspoon)

Not the best Wetherspoons you're likely to visit and to be honest its a bit crap. A single room with the usual Wethers style decor and only 5 handpumps on the bar. I've been in worse but not many.

On 5th May 2016 - rating: 3
[User has posted 3389 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Lord Wilson (JD Wetherspoon)

The Lord Wilson is a Wetherspoos pub.
Once inside there is a large square shaped room with the bar to the rear,there is a raised area to the front left which has normal tables and chairs,there is a mix of of tall tables and chairs and normal ones in the main area.
There are only five pumps on the bar and one was not in use,i had to have a drink of Ruddles Best which is scraping the barrel in in most Wetherspoons,other beers noted were Doom Bar,GK Abbot and one called Pommies revenge.
One of the poorer Wetherspoons i have been in.

Pub visited 27/2/2016

On 28th March 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Lord Wilson (JD Wetherspoon)

We had the pleasure of sticking to the floor, whilst making our way to the bar on this visit. There were five handpumps, serving up a fairly boring choice of ales. The Merrymen Amber ale was about the best choice. The pub also had no atmosphere and was very poorly lit.

On 15th April 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


James Joines left this review about Lloyd's No. 1 Bar

A Lloyds with pavement drinking area. Inside a mix of seating with a number of sofas to sink into,
Poor choice of Real Ale with only 3 hand pumps and one of these was off.

On 14th May 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 841 recommendations about 835 pubs]