User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Snacks with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

The Marquis of Granby, Westminster, SW1

41 Romney Street
SW1
SW1P 3RF

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Nicholsons (Mitchells & Butlers)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Marquis of Granby

A pretty decent pub well described by others, below. One historical feature is the division bell, still in use, apparently. Ales on were Doombar, Adnams Sloe Storm, Long Man’s Old Man, Old Dairy’s Snow Top and Orkney’s Red MacGregor. There were a few issues with beer quality due probably to not moving it quickly enough, but on the whole it was a good visit. I’d be very happy to come back here.

On 5th February 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2530 recommendations about 2508 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Marquis of Granby

There were no less than seven real ales on when I visited at early doors on a weekday lunchtime. They included the usual suspects of Nicholson's Pale Ale, Doom Bar and London Pride, but also Inveralmond Ossia, DBC Dusk Till Dawn, Shipyard Rye Pale Ale, and Titanic Plum Porter. There were also four casks apparently on stillage behind the counter - two were badged for Oakham Citra and Brain's Rev James but also coming soon; a third was unbadged, and the fourth was badged for Titanic Plum Porter. An interesting development which I haven't seen in a Nicholson's pub before. Food was as per usual for Nicholson's - a sausage sandwich was £7.25; main courses ranged from £9.75 (scampi) to £14.50 (salmon fillet).

This is a small single-room pub, and very different from when I used to visit it in the 80s. But that might be a product of my poor memory, although then it was carpeted whereas now it's bare-boarded of course. There are tall tables/tall stools in a row in front of the bar counter and upholstered fixed bench seating around the sides, with three (modern) glazed panels as a buffer between some of the tables and chairs. There's a dining room upstairs.

It's a typican Nicholson's pub, with lots of dark wood around the place, and little in the way of the original pub left inside. But it does the job it's intended for, and was fairly busy with office workers being only a stone's throw away from Westmister. I reckon that the Nicholson branding is the best of all the Mitchell & Butler brands, but to be fair it doesn't have a lot of competition in that respect. And my pint of Ossian was in super condition.

On 23rd September 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Marquis of Granby

Decent smallish Nicholson's pub with several real ales including a honey IPA @ 5.4% ABV called Hiver. The place still has a division bell rung to call MPs back to parliament. I liked this place and would return.

On 16th March 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1672 recommendations about 1670 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Marquis of Granby

The Marquis of Granby is a Nicholson’s pub so I wasn’t surprised to find an ornate traditional interior. The bar on the rear wall faces an open plan seating area with high tables and stools in the centre that are surrounded by standard tables and chairs that run along the exterior walls. A plasma screen was airing muted rolling news and there was no background music during my visit on a weekday afternoon just before Christmas. Upstairs is a dining room that is available for hire.
Standard and premium keg products are available from the bar that supports seven hand pumps. These were drawing Fuller’s London Pride, Sharp’s Doom Bar, Thornbridge’s Wild Honey, Greene King’s Mighty mouse, Windsor and Eton’s Knight of the Garter, St Austell’s Nicholson Pale Ale and Brains Craft Brewery’s Café Phoenix. Four gravity fed barrels were also on stillage behind the bar, but three of these were ‘coming soon’ which left Sharp’s Sea Fury.
Nicholson’s pubs are generally very good and this place is no exception so I would gladly return for another beer if in the area.

On 31st January 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Marquis of Granby

Typical Nicholson's pub, with an almost square bar extended slightly in one corner. Benefits from having a high ceiling and the semi-traditional furniture and decor seems appropriate. Perhaps best known for its famous division bell, although this was moved to a more obvious position during a refurbishment in 2012. Also has an upstairs dining room (never visited) and pavement areas on two sides. Had a voucher for a pint of NPA on this visit; but, as usual, it had a good selection of less-usual ales from the seven handpumps and the four casks on the split-level bar-back stillage had clips for four more decent beers 'coming soon'.

On 15th October 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Marquis of Granby

Similar style to a few other pubs I have been in tonight but the friendly chatty staff and the beer selection impress me.Nice interior.About 6 beers on inc Sheps -red sails,Backyard -porter,Red squirrel-milk stout and Gadds -beautiful beer.Very busy and rightly so.

On 12th September 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 933 recommendations about 920 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Marquis of Granby

Nice little find in the quiet backstreets of Westminster.

Came in, got a seat at the bar and ordered a decent pint of Doom Bar.

Then the place went mental as a huge group of young professionals came in at around 10pm.

Nice to see a place overspilling with people.

On 9th July 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 641 recommendations about 635 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Marquis of Granby

Down a side street off Horseferry Rd, this is a fairly compact Nicholson's outlet with the usual dark wood panelling and boarded floor. The ornate ceiling with downstand beams and whirring fans is of note as is the pewter topped servery counter, seating opposite the bar is at regular tables divided by screens whereas there are a couple of high tables in the middle of the room. The division bell features on a side wall and beyond there is a glass fronted case containing beer books, glasses and bottles, tankards and jars of hops. Stairs lead up to "The Speaker's Dining Room" but I didn't bother to take a look. As is usual these days with Nicholson's, a decent ale selection, not least because besides the six on handpump there were four more set up on stillage behind the bar. On the pumps were Hop Stuff Pale Ale (£4), Cameron's 150, Gale's Seafarers, Truman's Runner, Doom Bar and Nicholson's Pale Ale. Two of the four on stillage were on, Jurassic Portland Porter and Andwell 5 Little Fishes with Hobgoblin Gold and Harviestoun Broken Dial "coming soon".
I quite liked the pub which is a bit of an oasis in a part of central London short of pubs. A lot of this area is church land I believe which may explain things. Worthy of a punt if nearby.

On 31st May 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Marquis of Granby

A little tucked away, but still only a short walk from the Houses of Parliament, this is a simple, single room Nicholson’s pub. The room has bare floorboards and lots of dark wood paneling, but is devoid of any of the outstanding period features that characterise many pubs in this particular chain. The servery runs down the left hand side of the room and there is banquette seating along the opposite wall underneath windows which bear the Nicholson’s logo. Elsewhere, there is a mix of standard and high stool seating, although on my post-work visit, getting a seat was out of the question and in such a small space, standing room was at a premium. The ceiling is nicely patterned and there are some intricate lamps suspended from above, but the only other thing of interest was the display in honour of Siegfried Sassoon, who apparently used to live on nearby Tufton Street and presumably would have frequented this pub. Some TV screens were on showing muted rolling news coverage whilst music played in the background but was drowned out by the noise generated by the crowd of civil servants. Like many Westminster pubs, there is a division bell on one wall.
At the bar, a row of hand pumps offered Fullers London Pride, Thwaites Nutty Black, Nicholson’s Pale Ale, Skinners Betty Stogs and Sambrooks Junction, with two clips reversed. Rather surprisingly, there were four hop-lined casks racked up behind the bar, dispensing Navigation Pale, Robinsons Unicorn and Woodforde’s Norfolk Gold with one other still conditioning. I gave the Navigation Pale a try, but found it to be flat and uninteresting and immediately regretted not choosing something from the pumps. The keg range included Harviestoun Schiehallion, Meantime London Lager and Pale Ale and ciders from Symonds and Aspall’s.
I thought this place lacked the charm of many of London’s higher profile Nicholson’s pubs and the dubious quality of my pint didn’t help to endear me to the place. It’s probably worth a look if you’re in the area because of the chance of finding an interesting beer, but I wouldn’t go out of my way to visit again.

On 7th March 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2423 recommendations about 2423 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Marquis of Granby

2 floor Nicholson's pub. Real ale and food served. The Marquis of Granby will be closing for refurbishment from the 2nd November and due to reopen on the 23rd November 2012.

On 7th November 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2692 recommendations about 2636 pubs]

Page: 1 2