User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Pangolin on the Pub Forum

Brewhouse & Kitchen, Lichfield Central, Lichfield

1 Bird Street
Lichfield
WS13 6PW

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

UPDATE: A real downturn after visiting the Bitter Suite micropub, which was only a short distance away, led by our infamous tour guide Mr Soup Dragon, who wasn't over zealous about a visit here. I persuaded him to give it a go, as I was interested to see what Brewhouse had done with the place and wanted to try another one of their beers as I remembered getting a superb one in their outlet in Cheltenham, which was named Colonel Jack and Tinman. Mrs Ale and myself opted for the Tricky Spires Golden Ale, the name relates to Lichfield's Cathedral with three spires. This particular beer didn't really float my boat and apart from being a bit heady, it was also quite tasteless. The layout pretty much the same from my previous visit, apart from the brewing equipment, along with a brewer. Added fixtures included ceiling fans along with large copper lamp shades, a row of sawn off bottles, handing above the bar counter and converted into pendant lamps, there were also two good sized function rooms located upstairs, only used for hire or part of the Brewhouse and Kitchens, brewing seminars and beer tasting days, where you pay a premium fee.


May 2016: An open plan pub on two levels with chestnut coloured stained dado height panelling. The walls where painted with dark greys and purples. Staff were friendly and helpful, but unfortunately on our visit their ale choice was quite dour and uninteresting. A quick half of Salopian Hop Twister sufficed.

On 1st August 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2934 recommendations about 2934 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

UPDATE: Now operated by the Brewhouse & Kitchen chain - however, the whole place still smells of Spoons. There is still a patio and of course the decor has changed (various colours, as well as this packing crate wood effect) but the layout is much the same other than a few coppers vats being shunted into a side area which does supply some interest - like a strange inverted bottle collection. They do Spoonsy style food and there are rooms upstairs as well. There are board games for the kids as well (possibly left by Spoons when they departed - though why anyone would be here long enough for a game of Trivial Pursuit is beyond me). The service was functional as it was busy, the clientele mixed. The TVs were silent, the music at an OK level. Beer - four real ales, and some craft on top. I opted for the Gatehouse (session bitter), but this was not actually on (then turn the clip around) so ended up with an Oatmeal Stout that was so cold it could be served as a summer drink for penguins. I was actually with distinguished PG reviewing company and, without mentioning any names, Real Ale Ray provided sorely needed amusement by discussing the finer merits of Mrs Ale's 'heady' beer over his own - until I pointed out it was in fact the same one. I didn't enjoy my visit here, but that is because I am miserable.
*****************************************************************************
March 2010: A white rendered Georgian styled corner Lloyds and, therefore JDW, pub, with rusticated effect and patio.

The interior is, i suppose, open plan, though it can lead you a bit of a dance. The decor is dark red, with ornate mirrors, old pictures, silent TVs and soft music - the general spoons trait. The service was fine, the clientele small but mixed, the place is set out for food really and the debris of visiting omnivores was still all around, even after a member of staff went around tidying it up.

Beer; tap stuff, with the ubiquitous Spoons Abbots and Ruddles on handpull, as well as a so-so Shardlow's Fools Twist.

Visited and moved on, the best i can say.

On 29th July 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

Formerly the Gatehouse Lloyds No 1 Bar, this place has been comprehensively remodelled by the expanding brew-pub chain. Wide variety of seating / dining areas on slightly different levels, with American diner-style furniture and decor. Also has an open front patio area and an enclosed rear beer garden. Five of six handpumps in operation, offering a range of styles from the Gatehouse session bitter, Lunartick red rye ale (£4.10) to the seasonal Oktoberfest amber lager.

On 21st October 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5898 recommendations about 5898 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

Due to open on the 2nd of May 2017


Review as JDW Dec 2015

A bank conversion that is actually quite smarter than their more old school outlet in town. As noted below it's a square high ceilinged room with the bar in one corner and a patio to the left. This one is still defined as a Lloyds in their directory but has none of that signage and according to the JDW web site closes at 23:00 every night. It also appears on the condemned list of 20 from July 2015 where the lease is up for sale, although 3 of the original list have been reprieved but all in the South East.
Whatever the status of this one it's a pleasant enough place and on my Thursday morning visit was fairly quiet with mostly people in for breakfasts.
The beer selection lets it down with just two banks of three hand pumps. One is a complete waste of time with just the two GK beers and Doom Bore while the other had a clip for mulled cider (from a hand pump?), the International Hook Norton AFO and Derventio Mrs Claus. I went for the Derventio Mrs Claus which was a decent enough pint in good nick and better than much of the Xmas dross.
This is a nice enough Spoons but suffers from the poor beer selection.

On 24th April 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2146 recommendations about 2141 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Gatehouse (Lloyds No 1)

A strange Wethers in that it only has a small bar. 6 handpumps on with 3 decent guest ales and the usual shite on the other 3. Its not too bad and I thought it was better all round than the other one in Lichfield.

On 8th October 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3378 recommendations about 3295 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Gatehouse (Lloyds No 1)

Well reviewed below so I won't duplicate the detail. The exterior is grand and inviting with tables outside at both the front and in a small courtyard to the side.
Inside is exactly as you'd expect from a 'Spoons with the local character coming from pictures referencing Erasmus Darwin, grandfather of Charles, and, along with Dr Johnson, one of Lichfield's famous sons.
Beer: There are five handpumps, 3 on the main bar and a further 3 on a small bar tucked away to the left. The 3 tucked away had on Abbot and Ruddles Best on both visits and I'd guess that they are the regulars on these pumps. The 3 on the main bar seem to be for rotating guests and on our first visit had on: Backyard Gold, Titanic Pier 54 (5.4%) and Wychwood Battleaxe. On the second visit the selection was Springhead Black Tom, Derventio Cleopatra (5.4%) and another from Falstaff at 5.2%. Some good local ales there and it seems to be a policy to source beer locally and to include one or two strong ones. The Pier 54 was excellent and the Derventio interesting but both in very good nick.
The policy on ale choice is to be applauded and it's well worth a look here to see what they have on at the time.

On 27th June 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Gatehouse (Lloyds No 1)

A fine rectangular building with two entrances up some stone steps,the interior is however classic 'spoons.Lots of functional furniture,menus everywhere and the all pervading smell of curry night on my Thursday evening visit.There is a raised section to one side with a central open fireplace sadly with a coal affect gas fire.It would have been fun to see the logs arranged around the fire being inadvertently chucked on.
We intended this visit as a walk through to see if there was any decent ale,and were delighted to spot a Titanic pump clip among the two banks of three handpumps.The other ales on the most prominent rank were Wychwood Battle Axe and Backyard Gold (well kept)while the other three handpumps were lurking to one side and only offered Ruddles Best ,GK Abbott and a Locale "available soon".The Titanic Pier 54 was outstanding and a snip at £2.05 with a voucher,another winner from Burslem and apparently often on the bar.The staff were friendly to boot.
It may only be a 'spoons with all that entails,but this was the best pint I have ever had the pleasure of consuming in Lichfield,a city of fine real ale pubs which sadly dont seem to stock premiership quality ales such as this.On the basis of this trip,in future I will always do a walk through to see what delights may be on offer on the real ale front.

On 8th June 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2032 recommendations about 2032 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Gatehouse (Lloyds No 1)

An old bank that is now a Lloyds variant of JDW. Slightly sunken interor and my visit found little of note with the interesting ales 'coming soon'.

On 9th July 2010 - rating: 4
[User has posted 3960 recommendations about 3948 pubs]