User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - November 2019 with Real Ale Ray on the Pub Forum

Doctor Duncans, Liverpool Central, Liverpool

St. Johns Garden
Liverpool
L1 1HF

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Doctor Duncans

This very ornate pub has recently been taken over and as such the real ale choice has improved markedly. Gone are the staid constants of Black Sheep, Spitfire, Cumberland, Wainwright's etc and now a more interesting and changing set of ales are offered - Salopian, Titanic and George Wright being examples. Much better than the boring Duncs of old.

On 5th September 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3374 recommendations about 3290 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Jon B left this review about Doctor Duncans

one of many truly ornate pubs in Liverpool with several different rooms with unique character. it's really impressive and without seeing the outside you probably wouldn't guess this was a recent conversion to a pub. beer choice wasn't that great but I believe it has been recently taken over so hopefully on the way up.

On 30th June 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 655 recommendations about 645 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Doctor Duncans

Passed on my way to Lime Street Station. I had read about this one, so thought it prudent to visit.

Nice interior, especially the tiled room off the main bar.

OK pint of Black Sheep.

Photos at my blog - - http://bit.ly/2csv7Qs

On 5th September 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 276 recommendations about 275 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about Doctor Duncans

ok place worth a visit to say you have been

On 8th August 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Doctor Duncans

This is a smart multiple room Cain’s pub, just a short walk from Lime Street station. Entering to a fairly standard wooden floor bar area with plenty of high stool seating, you are unprepared for the wonderful, if somewhat incongruous room to the right of the servery. The room is elaborately tiled with an impressive fireplace, high ceiling and some unusual seating and can be reserved for private functions or indeed be closed altogether, so you need to time your visit well to be able to appreciate it. The rear half of the pub is split level and has a good amount of seating including some nice long benches. A TV screen was showing news coverage and there are a number of framed pictures on the walls with accompanying text detailing the various achievements of the eponymous doctor. Confusingly, there was what appeared to be an old dentist’s sink with various frightening looking attachments in the back room.
A good range of Cain’s beers were available including Bitter, FA, Triple Hop (£3.10), Raisin Beer and Blonde Bird, plus a single guest – Springhead Robin Hood. My pint of the Triple Hop was a little underwhelming and others in our group struggled with the quality of their pints suggesting a possible ongoing problem.
The pub has all the tools to be a great success – a well positioned pub with an interesting interior showcasing beer from the city’s largest brewery – but this promise can’t be realised with poor quality beer. I’m prepared to give them the benefit of the doubt and hope that it was a blip, as it’s otherwise a fine place to relax over a pint.

On 19th March 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2362 recommendations about 2362 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Doctor Duncans

A clever conversion from office space,the interior does have a traditional feel.The bar to the right of the entrance had 7 Cains beers and a guest ale,my pint of Triple Hop (£3.10) was acceptable but that did not apply across their range available on the day.The rear seating area is large but a little gloomy.Your opinion about Cain's ales will probably determine whether you pay this pub a visit.

On 3rd March 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2021 recommendations about 2021 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Doctor Duncans

Apparently it's only been a pub since 1999 (and it doesn't exactly look like one from the street, being in the ground floor of a substantial old office block), but once inside you might think you were in a venerable hostelry. It has a slightly rustic bar at the front, two rather dark rooms at the back with some interesting memorabilia and the rightly renowned corner room which has one of the most impressive tiled interiors you will see in a public house. Ten handpumps, with a good selection from the Cains range (including Triple Hop at £3.10 on my latest re-visit) plus a guest beer. A worthy introduction to Liverpool as you walk into the city from Lime Street station. Certainly worth a look, but the beer quality seems to have dropped since my previous trip, so rating down by a point.

On 2nd March 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5831 recommendations about 5831 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Doctor Duncans

Well worth a visit, I called in on a quiet evening so I had a good chance to look round and also had a nice chat with the staff. I especially called in to try the Cains Liverbird and thought it was fab. Will defo call again.

On 29th July 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2915 recommendations about 2915 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Doctor Duncans

Cains' premier tied house based in half the ground floor of the former Pearl Insurance building, also the nearest consistently decent pub to Lime Street Station. Most of the Cains range usually on sale at the front bar counter, often served by young, attractive, dusky maidens, who actually do a very good job. The ale is consistently good. Three drinking areas, those at the front were “customer facing” in Pearl’s day so they are very ornate, the back/side room is a bit plainer and has a vaguely chemist shop theme, in homage to Doctor Duncan I guess. Pulls in all sorts of customers being close to the station and so much more superior to nearby pubs.

On 8th November 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2145 recommendations about 1994 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Doctor Duncans

Cains flagship pub serving the whole range of Cains beers, a good pint as well. Has a fine tiled room to the right of the bar with an interesting fireplace as well. Not as ornate as the Philharmonic but pretty impressive. The only downside was that the front bar is very narrow and had been taken over by some sort of works do. No matter how often you said excuse me can I get past. They all ignore you. Cue some serious pushes and some spilt drinks (for them), ignorant sods. We'll still go back though as it's a good pub.

On 12th October 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2759 recommendations about 2686 pubs]

Page: 1 2