User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with RealAleRobUK on the Pub Forum

The Rectory, Birmingham Central, Birmingham

50-54 St Paul's Square
Birmingham
B3 1QS

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Rectory

Blimey! £2.05 for half of HPA nearly made me cry but thankfully I pulled myself together and waited til I got outside. The place is sort of split in 2 with U-shaped seating to your left and high tables and chairs in the main part, with the tables having arty farty lamps or interesting lamps depending on your point of view. I found it all a bit crap to be honest.

On 25th February 2016 - rating: 3
[User has posted 3374 recommendations about 3290 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Rectory

Modern bar / restaurant, with sparse and uncomfortable seating in the oppressively darkly-decorated bar. More appealing dining room to the side with some booths and better lighting. Several wooden benches outside in the courtyard. Just Wye Valley HPA (£4.05, but thankfully - given the price - in good form) from two handpumps.

On 24th January 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5831 recommendations about 5831 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Rectory

This is a pub and eatery, with a patio area. It takes its name on account of St Paul's opposite, but is in fact housed, i think, in a mid-20th century former printing works. The building has a fairly plain brick frontage, with a couple of pediments with roundel windows. The interior has a couple of areas, although it is technically open plan - as well as a function room downstairs. The decor is one of red patterned wallpaper and plain brick, with a wood floor. There are column supports in both areas, with one being given over to the bar area, the other more for dining. The bar has red banquette seats, with comfy chairs in the dining area. I didn't eat. I didn't see a TV and the music, as it was a Saturday night, was loud-ish. A few bits of arty-farty art are on the walls. The service was fine and there was a mixed, younger clientele. Beer; usual tap stuff with a solid enough Wye Valley HPA on handpull (£4). A solid enough place and i would return, but nothing for the real ale fan to go out of their way for.

On 4th December 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Rectory

The Rectory is on the opposite side of St Pauls church to the Ropewalk.
Once inside there was a large square shaped room with the bar facing,the floor was bare boarded,there was high bench seating to the right and normal becnh seating opposite this,there was a seperate area to the left which was long and narrow,this area looked more like a dining area.
There was only one real ale on the bar,this was Purity Mad Goose,this was a decent drink but very expensive at £1.95 for a half.
The pub was fairly busy with trendy types.
I found this bar to be far to upmarket for my liking.

Pub visited 17/8/2013

On 17th August 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gary Reading left this review about The Rectory

Smart, classy and lively.

On 21st April 2012 - rating: 10
[User has posted 7 recommendations about 7 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Lee Worthing left this review about The Rectory

Pleased that this now has cask ale :-). At the moment it's limited to two handpulls both with Purity brands but we are hopeful this will develop into a more varied mix really soon. The beer is kept well and makes this a fabulous place. It's well known for good food already - let's hope it becomes equally well known for good ales.

On 4th January 2012 - rating: 10
[User has posted 4 recommendations about 4 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Rectory

Opposite St Pauls church, this is a modern 'posh' eatery. It seems very popular there are two seperate areas with a hotel-style enterance into the main bar where there are lots of brick and pillars, with high tables/stools, the second area is more loungy and foody.

No real ale there are lagers and Boddington's on keg (£3.30 for a pint of Boddies) and a few Champagne buckets ready.

On 16th August 2010 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Rectory

This is a smart wine bar that is part of a small chain of three bars, the others being The Queens Arms and Edmunds. The other two bars sell real ale, sadly this one doesn’t. Come on guys, I’m sure one handpump wouldn’t go amiss. It’s got high settles covered in leather in the main room and leather sofa’s and chairs in the room to the left. There was a decent atmosphere in here and as there was no cask I had a glass of the draught Leffe instead, which is a decent alternative. I quite liked it in here and the other half would love it.

On 25th April 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2759 recommendations about 2686 pubs]