User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with RealAleRobUK on the Pub Forum

The White Horse, York

6 Bootham
York
YO30 7BL

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Jon B left this review about The White Horse

hardly a must visit pub, but as a typical red brick Thwaites house that you could include on a crawl of the area it’s fine. a few real ales on though uninspiring for York. standard pub layout including pool table etc. A bit rough but nothing terrible.

On 21st April 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 648 recommendations about 638 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about The White Horse

A very rough and ready locals Thwaites brewery pub on the edge of the city walls. The pub was very busy on my Friday afternoon visit with a large group of visiting lads from Newcastle. based on the type of pub i found the beers very expensive, A pint of Lancaster Bomber (Wainwright was off) and a Thwaites seasonal brown ale worked out at £3.50 each. We sat in the corner near the coal fire that sadly was not on and enjoyed our drinks in relative peace.

Defiantly not a tourist pub and one I would only re vist if ever doing a crawl along the other pubs down Bootham, been in worse though.

On 13th December 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 431 recommendations about 431 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The White Horse

The White Horse was rammed with party folk during a recent Saturday afternoon visit. After being released from a hug by a burly drunken reveller I made my way to the bar to find a selection of standard draught products alongside four hand pumps. One of these was unused and the Wainwright was off leaving Lancaster Bomber and Chin Chin as the ale options. I’m a fan of Thwaites beers and enjoyed a half of both available options.

The interior consists of seating to the left and a bar that runs along the back central wall. To the right is a pool table and plasma screens for showing live sport are located throughout.

I found the service to be very friendly and there was a good vibe in this pub. It is not often I find a busy pub with drunken patrons that I enjoyed visiting, but this was certainly one of them.

On 19th April 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3546 recommendations about 3525 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The White Horse

A thwaites pub with 4 real ale taps 3 on during my visit. The pub has a pool table.

On 18th May 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2648 recommendations about 2591 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The White Horse

Called in as we found it on someone else's crawl round York, and despite being rammed with footy supporters for the invasion by Bradford, we found it to be a friendly pub serving good real ales. Unable to get a look round the pub as we only just managed to get to the bar, but the Allgates Crooked Beak and Thwaites First Round were fine. TV screens showing football. They had a problem as there was water dripping from the ceiling into buckets but so packed folks didn't seem to mind if they got wet.

On 5th March 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1296 recommendations about 1186 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The White Horse

If I see a Danny Thwaites sign on the door am straight through it. What can I say excellent well kept beer, I enjoyed the Wainwright and the monthly special from Thwaites Crowning touch. A very friendly pub will defo return.

On 19th March 2011 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2915 recommendations about 2915 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The White Horse

A large terraced Thwaites pub and hotel, in undressed brick mainly, with front gables in timber and white render.

The interior is one long room, with the bar facing you on entry, though there is a partioned area with a pool table. The decor is white and dark red, with a coffee-ish/toffee-ish upper wall and ceiling and a green marble fireplace. There are lots of bits of ephemera, such as jugs and a 70s Hearts shirt. There are lots of prints on the walls. This is a proper pub. The service was fine and the locals brilliant fun. My mate has more than a passing resemblance to Fabio Capello and the guys here put 'Back Home' on the juke box (which he didn't understand - not being a footy fan). I did, and was in stiches. He finally got the message and laughed about it, as they shouted in unison - 'night Fabio', as we left. Class. There was also a TV which was showing the cricket. Music was supplied, as stated, by the jukebox and was at a decent level.

Beer; tap stuff with a decent Thwaites Wainwright on handpull. There was also Lancaster Bomber, but sadly the Nutty Black wasn't on.

I have been in here several times and always think it is fine - the Twaites beers make a nice change but seeing my mate Fabio'd made the night.

On 21st September 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The White Horse

The White Horse is a medium sized pub just outside the city walls and it is opposite the Exebition pub,it was a Stones house in the early 80s but it is now run by Thwaites brewery,i had a drink of Thwaites Bitter which had travelled quite well as it was a decent drink there was also a seasonal beer on which i did 'nt write down.
This is a fairly decent pub and i think it does accomodation.

On 24th August 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


James Joines left this review about The White Horse

A Thwaites house with Bitter and Lancaster Bomber on hand pull.
Pool table.

On 4th May 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 841 recommendations about 835 pubs]