User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with london calling on the Pub Forum

The Kings Head Inn (Lloyds No 1), Salisbury

1 Bridge Street
Salisbury
SP1 2ND
Phone: 01722342050

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Lloyds No. 1 (J D Wetherspoon)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 5 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Kings Head Inn (Lloyds No 1)

Both my visits since 2011 have found no change, sadly it’s still chaotic service, uncleared tables, bad beer and some shoddy parts of the interior. Timbo needs to get a grip on this one.

November 2011
Two level ’Spoons housed in an attractive old building by the river. The interior décor is a slightly higher standard than the average JDW, what with the ornate leaded windows and attractive fireplaces, however some parts of it need tlc as it’s getting scruffy. At the bar, service was glacially slow (the queuing system didn’t help) and a load of the ales were off. When mine finally came it was a Thornbridge Brother Rabbit which in fairness was extremely good, however my companions Theakston XB was appalling. I won’t be making a beeline for this one next time given what else the city has to offer. Rated 4

On 1st April 2018 - rating: 3
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Kings Head Inn (Lloyds No 1)

I didn't see any glitter balls or spot lamps dangling from the ceiling, or any DJ decks. So in my estimation this has turned back into a regular Spoons. The building this Spoons is housed in is quite impressive from the outside. The interior has a central gallery staircase, with the first floor sweeping around the central void. I especially liked the sand stone window openings, with William Morris design stained glass, maybe installed in the early 1900s, when this was the County Hotel. The main bar was modern in style with a Perspex marble design front, plus a large wall clock up high behind the bar.
Nine handpumps with only seven on, some of which were repeated. The selection of ales was pretty poor, so I settled on an International ale, Arcadia Session ale, which was good.

On 22nd May 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Kings Head Inn (Lloyds No 1)

This one had been more than well described below. The burning issue for me is whether it is still a Lloyds No 1. I could see no obvious signs but the recently updated What Pub entry and the older JDW directory say it is. I asked one of the barmaids but she didn't even know what a Lloyds was!
There were quite a few in on my Wednesday afternoon visit but it's such a big place there were plenty of seats. There are now ten hand pumps which had four available soon, GK IPA & Abbot, Box Golden Bolt (which may have been off) and three festival beers. The four available soon were all festival ales which is pretty poor considering it ended a few days earlier. I went for the bottled Green Devil instead.
I thought this was a pretty poor Spoons. It needs extra or more effective staff and to be fair probably extra staff.

On 5th April 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Kings Head Inn (Lloyds No 1)

A colossal place situated by the river in a marvellous old building, rambling inside and with two levels, unfortunately with no separate upstairs bar. Portraits of various kings hang on the upper storey walls. Some decent arched stained glass windows and the large floorplan means you can sit where you like and away from any botherers. 10.30am had a few in already on a Sunday. Bizarrely a queueing system at the bar, only once seen previously at a JDW in S London. Odd. My early hair of the dog was most welcome.

On 6th February 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Kings Head Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

A fine old building, with various seating areas and a riverside patio, but strangely branded as a Lloyds No. 1 bar rather than a regular 'spoons. This also means that there are only six handpumps, but there was nothing wrong with my pint of Titanic Plum Porter (£2.49).

On 27th January 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Kings Head Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

There has been a Kings Head here since the 15th Century and whilst the current building looks pretty old with its Tudor style chimneys and oriel windows, it was actually built in the 1880’s as the County Hotel. Wetherspoons took it over in 2002 and resurrected its original name.

Situated in a prime spot next to the river, the large honey coloured exterior is quite impressive which makes the disappointing interior even more of a let down. The pub is split over 2 floors and, despite some ornate features (notably the fireplaces and paneled windows), it has been given a fairly modern makeover which is fairly tasteful but lacks any real character. The ground floor is broken up by numerous pillars and there are are several spots where you can sink into the background. An open staircase leads to a decent sized balcony bar where there is additional seating bookended by sofa areas but there is no upstairs bar so you may need to negotiate the stairs with a handful of pints. Note the unusual firplace that resembles an indoor BBQ. Outside is a large terrace overlooking the river.

The beers and food are as one would expect from the chain although the quality of my pint on my latest visit was quite poor. Service was also painfully slow with inadequate staff unable to cope with the Saturday morning breakfast crowds.

This is the only ‘Spoons in town and sadly doesn’t really live up to its expectations.

On 7th November 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Kings Head Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

Large 2 floor wetherspoons overlooking the river with accommodation available.

On 12th October 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2756 recommendations about 2699 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Kings Head Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

An average JDW which offers a different range of beers to the other (mostly better) real ale outlets in Salisbury, with the added attraction of coffee in the mornings. There were 8 ales on, I had a pint of Amercian Rye just for the novelty value. It was fine, and served slightly colder than I like but I suppose it was apprpriate for this particular beer. Clientele has deteriorated in the last few months and now includes many undesirables who were previously banned. Weekends usually involve the younger, drunker elements and bouncers on the door. A reasonable place to start a crawl, especially with the CAMRA discount, but not somewhere to spend a whole evening.

On 6th December 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2607 recommendations about 2575 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Kings Head Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

A mock Tudor/Jacobean sandstone corner riverside Wetherspoons pub with accommodation and patio.

The interior has two open plan floors - being food based in general, though as Roger says, there are some sofas as well. The decor is a real mix; it includes, wood panel, grey tiles, white, beige and green. It had the silent Sky TV and the usual pictures. The service was fine, the clientele mixed, but i was surprised at how few there were. The food was functional. I found it just like any other Spoons to be honest.

Beer; tap stuff, with the usual handpulls of Ruddles and Abbots, with guests Exmoor Gold, a decent enough Dorset Piddle's Silent Slasher and Hogs Back Spring Ale.

For once at a Spoons the beer was OK. Everything else, typical Spoons

On 23rd May 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Kings Head Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

An ornate two storey stone building in an elizabethan style combining a Lloyds No1 and a Wetherspoons lodge. The drinking section is a large open area on two floors with the bar downstairs. It is situated next to the river and has a pleasant outdoor drinking /smoking area. A mixture of the usual dullard staff but with one very on the ball and alert. 5 beers on hand pump during my beer festival visit including the standards from Greene King etc, plus the normal keg line up. My beer (Mauldons)was in excellent condition however the man next to me at the bar complained his (Lees) was a bit tired but still drinkable. An early evening visit so the customers were a few families, pensioners and people either finishing work or starting an evening out.

On 21st November 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]

Page: 1 2