User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Bottled Beer Bargain Alert with oldboots on the Pub Forum

Post Office Vaults, Birmingham

84 New Street
Birmingham
B2 4BA
Phone: 01216437354

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2 3

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Post Office Vaults

Compact cellar bar, with a rather difficult-to-spot main door on New Street and a more obvious entrance on Pinfold Street. Fairly plain furniture and decor. Somehow they have managed to fit in eight handpumps and a few keg fonts onto the fairly small counter. Usual excellent selection in a variety of styles on my latest visit, including Hobson's Champion Mild (£2.80, and one of the best light beers around). Overall, justifiably now an established part of the Birmingham ever-improving real ale scene. NB - If you are thinking of meeting someone here, you might want to know that not all mobile networks have a signal inside.

On 26th July 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Post Office Vaults

Hard-to-locate subterranean bar with the inevitable faint smell of damp accompanying it. Owned by the same people who have the Welly, the ethos is the same – a plethora of ales at the bar (8) from far and wide, plus some ciders. My Hobsons Mild was in good shape. There’s also a vast amount of foreign bottles with a thick, descriptive menu at the table. Encouragingly there was a bar billiards table but discouragingly one whole side was up against the wall so it’s not really usable for a serious game unless you’re allowed to pull it out? No daylight and muted lighting means it’s dangerously easily to doze off after a couple! Cream and red décor, with hops hanging from ceiling, some hung foreign beer signs and a bottle collection snaking round the high shelf. Like the Wellington, no music or TV. Also like the Welly you can bring your own food. WiFi can be leeched off Greggs next door. A great addition to the town centre but it lacks a little something to match its sister pub.

On 13th November 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Post Office Vaults

A cellar bar, more apparently so if entering from the single narrow door way and staircase in New Street rather than the wider frontage in Pinfold Street where I was greeted with a faint whiff of toilet cleaner. It's a long thin place opening out a bit at one end with the counter in the middle to one side. There is a lot of cider and bottles plus 8 handpumps of cask beers from micros. Decor is from bottles and hop flowers, some European enamel beer advertising signs and old photos of Birmingham. There is a bar billiards table tucked against the wall by the stairs which might make an interesting game, the rules hang on the wall above but there is no backboard. Clientèle was a mix of yoghurt knitters presumably attracted by the cider, some middle aged beer geeks, a group of suits and a few normal people. The ciders and bottled beers but not the draught beers are listed on blackboards. My beer was fine in all respects so I wouldn't argue with its GBG2013 listing.

On 25th June 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Stobbs left this review about Post Office Vaults

Passing the door on New Street about five times before finding the entrance felt it was well worth the visit after finding a very good selection of real ale on the bar along with ciders and keg beers. It was early evening and quite full but pleasent. Will be looking for this bar again when in Birmingham.

On 19th June 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 17 recommendations about 14 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Chris Kilmister left this review about Post Office Vaults

Another real ale pub in Brum. A little gem.

On 15th February 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 12 recommendations about 10 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Post Office Vaults

I walked around the post office and its environs for about five minutes and consulted my map a dozen times whilst looking for the Post Office Vaults. In the end I bit the bullet and asked a local office worker if they knew the location and they directed me to an easily missed single door in amongst numerous shops. There is also an A-board outside that advertises eight real ales, 150+ foreign bottled beers and real cider and perry. A sign halfway down the stairs to this cellar bar invites people to bring in their own food for which cutlery will be provided.
After reading the A-board outside I wasn’t surprised to see that the bar supports eight hand pumps, but I was surprised to see the size of the extensive cider and perry list. Also available are a few draught products from the likes of Freedom Brewery.
This isn’t the biggest place so I imagine that it gets very busy and a little uncomfortable during peak hours. I’m sure that it isn’t possible to pull out the bar billiards table during Friday lunchtime. My visit was just after opening so there were only two other customers and I had my pick of tables. I decided to pick up one of the day’s newspapers that were lying about and listen to the chat at the bar that had already become beer related.

I found the service here to be very friendly and I will make sure I revisit here when next in the area.

On 10th October 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about Post Office Vaults

Last pub on our crawl round the watering holes of Birmingham. Good selection of well kept brews on offer, however, the place was packed on the first warm Saturday afternoon of the year and the gents toilet was emitting a powerfull stink and we had to go and stand outside on the pavement. This probably broke several Birmingham city bylaws, but it stopped us being overcome by the bleach smell. If in the city again, I will probably give the place a miss as there are lots of equal beer establishments with less aroma.

On 25th July 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ale Monster left this review about Post Office Vaults

This is a brilliant real ale and foreign bottled beer cellar bar that is a free house part owned by the landlord of the well regarded Wellington on Bennetts Hill. It is a Victorian building that was a prominent furniture and piano dealers called Dale Forty until M&B bought it in 1967 and opened it as the Royal Mail, it was closed for a couple of years until reopening in December 2011. I consider the main entrance to be on Pinfold Street as this is where the largest frontage is and this entrance leads directly in to the single room, but there is also an easily missed doorway on New Street which has a flight of stairs down to the room. If entering from Pinfold Street you will see a small windowless room with a small bar counter in the immediate right hand wall, just beyond this is the bottom of the stairs from New Street and on the other side of the stairs against the right wall is a bar billiards table. The décor is fairly plain with bare wood floor, green leather bench seats and I only counted five tables, there are a couple of old photos of Brum and a large mirror on the left wall opposite the stairs, the stairs also have several vintage foreign beer adverts on the walls.

Regular ales are currently Salopian Oracle and Hobsons Mild with six changing guest beers which on this occasion were Byatts Urban Red, Nethergate Old Growler, Yates Blond Ale, Cropton Endeavour Ale, Phoenix Navvy and Rat Brewery Dirty Rat Mild. I tried halves of the Salopian, Hobsons, Byatts and Nethergate and found them all to be in excellent condition which was no surprise as I know that the second owner and landlord is the former cellarman of the Old Joint Stock who has previously won some awards for his cellarmanship. A good mix of styles both local and not so local, it’s also worth noting that they stock over 250 foreign bottled beers!

A fantastic addition to the growing real ale scene in Brum, it reminds me of the type of subterranean bars that are very common on the continent. Admittedly it’s not really my kind of place being more of a fan of traditional Victorian spit and sawdust and olde worlde country pubs, but the beer selection and quality has been consistently good during my hand full of visits. I have found the atmosphere a little strange and clique with a group of regulars almost chained to stools at the already small bar counter, but this has failed to put me off so I shall continue to visit. The place is well supported by the local CAMRA branch so I would be very surprised if it is not in the 2013 GBG.

On 23rd June 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 199 recommendations about 199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Post Office Vaults

An off shoot from the nearby Wellington,this city centre cellar bar should be included on any ale tour of the area.The entrance from New Street is just a front door leading you down a flight of stairs.The decor is simple and unfussy,the bar billiards table a feature although you would need to be in during a quiet period to play with any comfort.
Eight handpumps with a good variety of beer styles from the six rotating guests with an excellent Salopian Oracle and Hobsons Mild as permanents.I also thought the sample glasses infront of each pull was a good idea,and I restisted the obvious temptation.
Besides a good selection of real ale,the kegged lagers were from the continent,some rare,and no sign of any Carling.There is a selection of a dozen ciders and fridges behind the bar offer a wide choice of bottled beers.Even the whisky selection contained some collectors items,so this is a very useful pub to indulge in alcohol consumption.The lack of musak and the knowledgeable service from behind the bar were also noticeable plus points.
I popped in during lunchtime when it wasn't too busy,and this may be the most comfortable time to visit given the constraint on space.I liked the pub a lot and will be calling in on any future trip back to Brum.

On 18th May 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2087 recommendations about 2087 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Post Office Vaults

Defo well worth a visit, all the ales are top notch quality and serve a good selection. A lot of customers were calling in for their specialist beers, which I'll have to try on my next visit. Called in early doors, so I was lucky to have the pleasure of seeing what was on offer. They fill out taster glasses and put them in front of the handpumps, so that you can see the colour of the ales on offer. Barman told me that a few clowns have been in and actually drank out of them thinking that they're free samples. I'll be in again.

On 17th May 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]

Page: 1 2 3