User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
New pub visits 2022 with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The White Swan (JD Wetherspoon), Solihull

32-34 Station Road
Solihull
B91 3SB

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The White Swan (JD Wetherspoon)

I have called in here a few times over the years and always found a decent choice of beers. Last week was no exception with Silhill Hop star, Salopian Minds Eye, Inveralmond Bard, Sadlers Peaky Blinder and Phoenix Double Gold. The two we tried were fine. Well worth calling in.

On 2nd February 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1315 recommendations about 1243 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The White Swan (JD Wetherspoon)

Elongated Wetherspoon shop conversion, with a few small booths along one side and a rear seating area located up one step. Also has quite a few tables out on the pavement. Inevitably rather gloomy inside, and the dark furniture / decor and restrained lighting don't really help. I have sometimes found a good selection of local real ales from the two banks of five handpumps, although not on this visit when several had no clips or were 'available soon' so from the remainder the Sadler's Worcester Sorcerer seemed the best bet.

On 15th October 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6951 recommendations about 6951 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The White Swan (JD Wetherspoon)

This one is a shop conversion that looks fairly small from the outside but extends back a very long way. If you've seen one JDW shop conversion before then you'll know what to expect.
The beer selection was reasonable with the ten hand pumps having Young's Special, Lymestone Pounamu, Oakham Bishop's Farewell, Titanic Blackberry Gold, sadler's Worcester Sorceror then the usual GK Abbot & IPA, Doom Bore, Broadside and a cider. I went for the Titanic Blackberry Gold which was in excellent nick. It struck me as a slightly above average Spoons.

On 4th April 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The White Swan (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a spacious Wetherspoons pub in a modern row of shops, close to the town's railway station. The pub takes its name from a former coaching house that once stood further down Station Road, now long since demolished. The pub has a fairly modern interior with bright carpeting throughout, café style folding front doors and a warm colour scheme. There is the usual mix of seating options, although the front section is dominated by a vast amount of standard tables and chairs arranged between several structural pillars with drinking shelves. An unusual wood block pattern on the walls is an interesting design feature. The servery appears halfway down the right hand wall, opposite which there is a high ledge with lots of plants on it, again helping to brighten the place up somewhat. The seating here is mostly high tables and stools with some very smart curved padded bench booths along the left hand wall. Some interesting pieces of art, presumably from local artists, line the walls and I think several were for sale. The rear section of the room is bright during daylight hours thanks to the large doors to the rear which lead out to a garden area. Various TV screens throughout the room were showing looped promotional material, rather than the usual rolling news channels.
There are ten handpulls in total, but my mid week visit saw three of these out of action, leaving four 'Spoons regulars and three guest beers available. I tried one of the US collaboration ales - Coronado's Mermaid's Red - which was very good and I would've liked to try more but sadly had to dash for my train after a quick half. The staff were very friendly which helped to offset the particularly glum looking clientele.
I've visited this pub on several occasions over the years and always found it to be a good spot for a reliable pint and pretty good service. It's not going to get anyone too excited, but it's a pretty solid option which is handy for a quick pre-train pint and I believe it makes a positive contribution to Solihull's pub scene.

On 19th October 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2783 recommendations about 2783 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Blue left this review about The White Swan (JD Wetherspoon)

An exceedingly bland Wetherspoons (the Assembly Rooms is much nicer) but well looked after and with the best beer range in central Solihull. I had a Purity UBU (£2.30) on my recent visit.

On 27th December 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 271 recommendations about 270 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The White Swan (JD Wetherspoon)

Very dull and uninteresting. The beer range was very poor for a beer festival. You would be better off going into Birmingham for a decent pint.

On 18th October 2013 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The White Swan (JD Wetherspoon)

Standard Wetherspoons by numbers layout in row of 70's style shops with flats above there is nothing appealing about the interior or exterior.

However, it does seem well run and cared for and if you like Wetherspoons you should enjoy it here. 6 beers available, though this included local Silhill 3.7 and it was very well kept. Also had the Beer and burger offer which was ok, certainly value for money though the Ruddles that came with it wasn't as good as the Silhill.

All together pleasant if nothing extraordinary

On 5th September 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1322 recommendations about 1299 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The White Swan (JD Wetherspoon)

A double sized unit in a 50/60s-ish style shopping precinct.

The interior was a typical 'Spoons; open plan, an mainly in red, french mustard and wood panel - with some strange harlequin style paneling. The usual historical information and pictures can be found. Service was fine, considering the place was packed with the usual mixed clientele - a point i am normally critical of in JDW's.

Beer; tap stuff with a beeter pint of Highgate MILD than the handpull stuff in the Assembly Rooms. Abbot and Ruddles as usual on handpull, with Tetley Cask, Slater's Top Totty, Smilies Turkish Delight and Highgate Stocking Filler. I stuck to the MILD -so that was fine.

A far better Spoons than the Assembly Rooms, if this one visit is to go by, in fact didn't mind popping in here at all. Not going to knock this one.

On 15th December 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3067 recommendations about 3062 pubs]