User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Fantasy Premier League 2023/2024 Season with PaulOfHorsham on the Pub Forum

The Wye Bridge House (JD Wetherspoon), Buxton

Fairfield Road
Buxton
SK17 7DJ

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Old Boots left this review about The Wye Bridge House (JD Wetherspoon)

Extensive Wetherspoons in an old building close to the river Wye, usual sort of multi space ‘spoons rearrangement maybe a bit more haphazard due to respecting the original fabric. Roughly an L shape or perhaps a truncated U it has the standard five plus five pulls topped and tailed by T-bars. Nice decor of the more modern spoons variety. Ordering on the app I was very impressed by the speed of service and even the old plates were shifted in reasonable time, better than some more traditional pubs. All in all a pretty well run spoons, the beer is above average however not much above, but one worth a visit.

On 22nd October 2023 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3283 recommendations about 2989 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Wye Bridge House (JD Wetherspoon)

Fairly bland Spoons situated a little out of the immediate town centre which has a lovely (if you like trains!) backdrop of the arches taking freight over the way. In a former life this was the Midland Railway Hotel. Just two guest cask, my Titanic Plum Porter was fine (NBSS 3) and no problems with my breakfast. Nice seats at the far end overlooking the bridge and park. Serves its Spoonsy purpose for the town but I didn’t get much out of it otherwise.

On 8th March 2023 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5185 recommendations about 5168 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Wye Bridge House (JD Wetherspoon)

Large and impressive Spoons on the edge of town. Plenty outdoor seating. We had a quick lunch here which was fine. I found the service to be nice and friendly and the beer was well kept. Shame I forgot the name of it! Worth a visit.

On 21st October 2022 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1671 recommendations about 1570 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Wye Bridge House (JD Wetherspoon)

Impressive old building on the northern outskirts of town, mostly opened out by still leaving separate areas on each side of the main space around the bar. It also benefits from some large windows, including several bays, plus front and side patios from which to observe the world go by. Although there are two banks of five handpumps, the choice on my visit was restricted to Ruddles, Doom Bar, Abbot, Ghost Ship (£2.15), Forty Niner and a cider (although the range is probably bigger in normal times).

On 5th July 2021 - rating: 7
[User has posted 8149 recommendations about 8149 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Wye Bridge House (JD Wetherspoon)

10 hand pulls split across two banks, one of which is partially obscured by some decorative feature on top of the bar. On offer was Old Rosie cider, Ruddles Best, Doom Bar, Abbot Ale (duplicated across the two banks), Boon Doggle and the rest were more interesting guests including something from Conwy brewery that I had. Guest ales priced at £2.15 a pint (£1.08 for a half).

I didn't find the bar man to be especially friendly. All the cask pumps had a glass tankard on the handle which initially led me to wonder if the beers were all off, but it just appears to be some kind of fiddly gimmick.

There is a nice beer garden / patio outside but it was raining at the time of my visit this lunch time so was not being utilised.

Not a bad Spoons despite the surly service, and also worth noting that the toilets are on the ground floor.

On 11th June 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 761 recommendations about 606 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Wye Bridge House (JD Wetherspoon)

This is an opulent JDW compared to many set in what was once a hotel. I could see no evidence of the upstairs being used so presumably this would be a candidate for a conversion to one of their hotels. Inside it's a wide room with the bar at the back and extending down further at the sides. There is a large patio area that on a fine summer Saturday afternoon was responsible for keeping plenty of room available inside. A downside of this place is that they serve you with a stupid dimple jug by default so I kept having to ask for a straight.
Although there are ten hand pumps the beer choice wasn't that good consisting of the JDW Trio Of Doom with Abbot & Doom Bore doubled, Robinson's Trooper doubled, Thornbridge Jaipur & Wye and one of those International collaborations. I tried the Thornbridge Wye (£3.05) and the biggest "Why" going through my mind was "Why's it so expensive?". It's an undistinguished (for Thornbridge) 4.7% golden bitter. I looked at the menu and the standard guest price was listed as £2.49. The Trooper which should be the standard guest price and the brewery have watered down from 4.8% to 4.7% was priced at £2.75. I ordered some food and made sure that the "free" drink was Jaipur at £3.20. The food prices were not unduly expensive.
It's a shame that the beer choice and prices let this place down as apart from that it seemed a good Spoons.

On 3rd July 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Wye Bridge House (JD Wetherspoon)

Decent enough Spoons where I had breakfast on Friday morning and returned at night. There was Jaipur on hand pump which was in good condition. Would return.

On 29th January 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Wye Bridge House (JD Wetherspoon)

A large and very nice looking Wethers. Its a long open plan place with the bar having 2 banks of 5 pumps. Sadly, once you took out the usual suspects you were left with a number "available soon" beers and only 3 guests on today. Pleasant to sit out front on a sunny day though this can be tempered by the fact there's a children's play area.

On 20th May 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3487 recommendations about 3390 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Wye Bridge House (JD Wetherspoon)

Its a spoons as i have said there either good or bad this is a good one got served right away which can be hard in some of them Sunday lunch time a good few in nice patio that looks into a park but had to stay inside due to the rain will get very busy on nice days

On 15th October 2013 - rating: 10
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Wye Bridge House (JD Wetherspoon)

This Spoons was originally a hotel and pub called the Ashwood Park Hotel the layout inside was a lot different to the new Spoons layout and there was only keg beers on the bar from the Bass stable.
The Wye Bridge Inn is a decent looking Spoons that is at the bottom end of Buxton and it is fairly close to the river,once inside the bar faces and there are lots of different drinking areas,i got a seat at the A6 side of the pub and had a very nice drink that went down well at 10.00 in the morning i carnt remember the name of the beer as i dont usually write down what beers i have in Spoons.
I have been in this pub a few times and always enjoyed my drink,this Spoons is better that most i have been in.

Pub first visited 21/4/1992

Photo taken and Spoons visit 13/4/2007

On 1st March 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]

Page: 1 2