User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
pubs galore bar with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Cherry Tree (JD Wetherspoon), Huddersfield

14-18 John William Street
Huddersfield
HD1 1BA
Phone: 01484448190

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Cherry Tree (JD Wetherspoon)

For some reason this Spoons has never clicked with me - maybe it was the set of thugs that was swarming about about the place the first time I visited. I gave it another try last night I was pleasantly surprised by the barstaff, the layout and most importantly, the beer. I take it all back and give it a 7.

On 16th December 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Cherry Tree (JD Wetherspoon)

The starting point for us early arrivals on the PuG crawl of Huddersfield. A few of the team were already in the pub when I arrived. It's a modern square(ish) space under a concrete tower block, but it been done quite well by JDW and is quite a pleasant place for a pint. There's a decent range of ales as well and my pint of Naylors Chinook Gold was in good nick. Not bad at all.

On 2nd December 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2868 recommendations about 2788 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Cherry Tree (JD Wetherspoon)

Unprepossessing-looking 'spoons, sitting at the base of the ugly Pearl Assurance office block, but once inside you find reasonably modern rectangular interior that benefits greatly from a good amount of window space on three sides and generally light decor. Not a bad selection of real ales from the two banks of five handpumps either, and having been advised about the curious nature of the Bradfield Belgian Blue (£2.35) I felt compelled to try that. Also has a bit more seating downstairs at the back and out on the front pavement.

On 26th November 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Cherry Tree (JD Wetherspoon)

The very bright neon lettering above the entrance door didn't inspire confidence,but once inside this ground floor 'spoons it all feels very comfortable.Standard furniture in a modern setting,the star of the show on my trip was the ale selection from the two banks of 5 handpumps.Beside the regular GK Abbott and Ruddles Best,the guests were Bradfields Farmers Belgian Blue,Exmoor Gold,Naylors Chinook Gold,Ilkley Pale,Springhead Blind Tiger,Oldershaws Hello,Elland 1872 Porter (in great nick) and Saltaire Pacifica IPA (excellent).
The bar staff were very efficient,and knew how to pour pints correctly,there were no "available soon" signs and with good ale quality this was a useful early doors meeting place for the PuG crawl.It holds it's own with the many very good real ale pubs in the immediate area close to the station.

On 19th November 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2088 recommendations about 2088 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Cherry Tree (JD Wetherspoon)

It seems perverse that this JDW should have been given a fairly common pub name when it's just the ground floor of a hideous office block. Despite that it seems to be a fairly good Spoons which it needs to be in a town with the choice of pubs that Huddersfield has. As noted below it's a large open plan L shaped room with standard fixtures and fittings.
The bar has two sets of five hand pumps which had one unused, the JDW Trio Of Doom, Kelham Island Pale Rider, Elland 1872 Porter, Glastonbury Spring Loaded, Daleside Monkey Wrench, Exmoor Gold and some Bradfield Farmers rubbish for the European Cup. I went for the 1872 (£2.65) which was excellent. Unlike the town Lloyds this is a good Spoons despite the building being dull.

On 13th June 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Cherry Tree (JD Wetherspoon)

The Cherry Tree is a Wetherspoons that is situated under a 60s built office block.
Once inside there is a decent sized L shaped room with the bar on the right side,there are tall tables and chairs in the bar area and normal ones elsewhere.
There was a decent choice of guest beers on the bar,i had a drink of Acorn Recrium which was a very nice drink,the other beers noted were Elland 1872 Porter,Slightly Foxed Bengal Fox,Saltaire Elderflower Blonde,plus the usual Spoons regulars.
The pub was packed on my early Saturday dinner visit.

Pub visited 27/2/2016

On 28th March 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Cherry Tree (JD Wetherspoon)

A busy Spoons on our Sunday afternoon visit, with a few characters roaming around the bar area. Nonetheless a respectable sort of place with an upbeat atmosphere. The pub had a better choice of ales on handpump, compared to the Lord Wilson. We went for the Jarrow Rivet Catcher, which was in good shape.

On 15th April 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Cherry Tree (JD Wetherspoon)

Split level box like JDW in the bottom floors of a modern building formerly Pearl Assurance. It has big windows on two sides, the usual 5 + 5 handpumps with T bars between them, finished in a bland magnolia but with darker wood furnishing and some raised areas for family dining, the toilets are on the lower floor. Fair to good beer quality and the usual mix of JDW punters. GBG listed which is an achievement given the standard of competition in Huddersfield.

On 5th May 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Cherry Tree (JD Wetherspoon)

A Wetherspoons housed in a nasty 60's building (apparently a converted furniture showroom). Nonetheless it has a great reputation for ale and there were eight (yes, eight) guest ales available. Care is taken to locate the three 'heavies' (and there were three over 5% when I called) in their own section at the back end of the bar; the five lower abv's line up at the front entrance. My Dent Ow’d Tup and Moorhouse Witches were both in excellent shape. The interior is nothing to write home about though I suppose they had sod-all to work with anyway, though as PSM says below, two sides have a lot of large windows which allow for plenty of natural light. Extremely busy, even by spoons standards, for a Thursday lunchtime. Punters were also less of a Spoons stereotype than usual. I suppose one area of criticism is that they had completely run out of ketchup!

This is a JDW that an ale drinker should definitely make a beeline for, shame that it isn't more characterful. I left impressed.

On 4th September 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Cherry Tree (JD Wetherspoon)

This is quite a smart Wetherspoons pub, closer in style to a Lloyds No 1 bar than many of the other pubs in this particular chain, located on the ground floor of a rather drab looking building a short walk from the town's train station. The interior is quite light and open with plenty of seating throughout, including a raised section to the rear of the room which incorporates a couple of booths and a downstairs area which can be used for private hire. Two sides of the pub have large windows which keep the main seating area light and offer punters the chance to idly sit and watch the world go by. There were a few TV screens on showing muted 24 hour news coverage and the pub was surprisingly busy when I turned up at around 11:30 on a weekday morning.
There were ten handpulls on the bar, of which six or seven had guest ales on, whilst the remainder offered 'Spoons regulars such as Ruddles. I tried the Wharfebank Maypole Mild and found it was kept in pretty good shape. I did however, have quite a shock when the barman insisted that I show him some ID before he would serve me - a good 14 years too late to catch me out for underage drinking.
Anyway, aside from such dubious flattery, this is a decent enough 'Spoons, but given that it's in a town with more than its fair share of excellent pubs, I'm not sure I'd recommend it other than as part of an extended crawl.

On 11th June 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2545 recommendations about 2545 pubs]