User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Scores with london calling on the Pub Forum

The Joseph Bramah (Lloyds No1), Barnsley Central, Barnsley

15 Market Hill
Barnsley
S70 2PX
Phone: 01226320890

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Lloyds No. 1 (J D Wetherspoon)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Old Boots left this review about The Joseph Bramah (Lloyds No1)

A long thin conversion and consequently dark in the main area. It’s essentially L shaped with seating in the main area stretching back from the main entrance, the slightly broader middle has the counter with 4+4 pulls - unholy trinity in the ones nearer Market Hill - local stuff generally and no coming soons. Further back the room turns to the right and this appears to be the kiddie / dining pensioner bit, it also accesses the rear entrance to Graham’s Orchard and a beer garden. A GBG regular but not this year. Usual marathon hike upstairs to the toilets, and a whole world of more seating and a bar, complete with two pulls.

On 6th February 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2258 recommendations about 2098 pubs]


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Joseph Bramah (Lloyds No1)

A long and narrow Spoons that was very poorly lit, more like a nightclub. At least the bar area had some decent lighting. I also didn't notice an upstairs area, you just presume the upstairs is the toilets. A poor line up across eight pumps, which were mostly doubled up. Disappointingly, no local ales to be seen, so we went for the Mauldons Silver Adder, which was ok.

On 6th May 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2971 recommendations about 2971 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Joseph Bramah (Lloyds No1)

The small frontage to this place conceals quite a large Spoons with a long narrow split-level room and an upstairs area that I didn't even notice. Fixtures and fittings are fairly typical. It's a Lloyds but the location of the Lloyds Disaster Area wasn't obvious. It may be in the middle where I thought there were some lights and speakers.
The beer choice on the eight hand pumps in the downstairs bar wasn't that great with two available soon, Fuggle Bunny Cotton Tail & Russian Rare-Bit and the IPA JDW Trio Of Doom with Abbot doubled. I went for the Russian Rare-Bit which was in good nick.
Like the Silkstone Inn they went to serve it in a stupid dimple jug but I was prepared this time and asked for a straight.
Despite the average beer choice this isn't bad for a Lloyds. It's GBG 2017 listed.

On 22nd February 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2145 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Joseph Bramah (Lloyds No1)

The Joseph Bramah is a Wetherspoons pub.
Once inside there is a very long oblong shaped room with the bar midway down on the left side,the seating is the usual mix of tall tables and chairs and normal tables and chairs,the rear area is up some steps and is wider,the seating here is all normal tables and chairs.
I had a drink of Fuggle Bunny Jammy Dodger,which went down well,the other beers noted were Elland Black Gold,Milestone Deliverance and the Spoons regulars Doom Bar,GK IPA and Abbot.
I thought this was a decent enough Wetherspoons to have a drink in.

On 19th February 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Joseph Bramah (Lloyds No1)

This is a huge, sprawling Wetherspoons pub with a good central location. Upon entering, there doesn't seem to be much to the place, as a narrow front section with benches arranged into an unusual zig-zag pattern down one side and standard tables and chairs on the other, eventually leads you to the main bar area. Here we find the servery located in a recessed section to the left with a bland bar back and high table and stool seating opposite in what is ultimately a rather unremarkable area, save for several TV screens, all showing Final Score. A disabled ramp lined with bright art prints leads you up to a rear seating area with bare brick walls, standard tables and chairs, a single padded banquette and a whole load more TV screens. The room branches to the left here into a part carpeted, part bare boarded room with a lot more standard seating and a big screen which was out of action on this visit. There is also a door out to a rear patio area, which looked a bit walled in to me, although I didn't go outside for a proper look. Stairs lead up to the first floor, where a whole new, and surprisingly pleasant, part of the pub can be discovered. There is a bar in the rear right corner (with three handpulls), around which some limited seating has been provided, but this floor has two nice seating sections, both of which I found preferable to those downstairs. One area near the back of the pub has been furnished with comfy leather sofas and has dark wood panelled walls decorated with old black and white photos and a high skylit gabled roof with some fancy light fixtures hanging from it. Meanwhile, a second area off to the left has standard seating and an attractive fireplace on the end wall.
The main bar has eight handpulls which were serving four 'Spoons regulars and four guest ales. I decided to try Partners Triple Hop, which the barman had all kinds of difficulty pouring, but the pint I ended up with was in pretty good shape and went down very nicely.
I thought this pub did itself a bit of a disservice with the way it presents itself on entry, but I eventually warmed to it and found it to be quite a versatile venue. I suspect it can get a bit rowdy at times (being the Lloyds No1 brand), but it was all pretty respectable whilst I was there and I'd consider a revisit the next time I'm in town.

On 30th April 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2408 recommendations about 2408 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Joseph Bramah (JD Wetherspoon)

Very narrow frontage for a Lloyds No. 1, leading to an elongated split-level interior. All rather oppressive, but there is also a side seating area, an upstairs bar (not visited) and some patio seating for those seeking a bit of natural light. Eight handpumps in the main bar (and probably more at first-floor level), and nothing wrong with my pint of Scary Monsters Black IPA (£2.15).

On 10th November 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Joseph Bramah (JD Wetherspoon)

Long, thin and dark downstairs, quite oppressive more so I expect when busy. The floor slopes upwards away from the Market Hill entrance with the long counter to the left. A usual four plus four line up of pulls with the standard keg founts between. Usual 'spoons furnishing, perhaps a little chunkier and darker than usual, walls are exposed brick and some panelling into the short T section.There's also a fair number of silent screens. A staircase leads upstairs to a more elegant room with panelling and a second counter in the corner hosting another three pulls with a slightly different choice to downstairs. Not a bad 'spoons and one of two of their outlets listed in the 2013 GBG in Barnsley.

On 29th November 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2258 recommendations about 2098 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Joseph Bramah (JD Wetherspoon)

A strange 'T' shaped interior, this is a Lloyds No1. The entrance off Market Hill is very basic with standard chairs & tables you have to walk past to get to the bar & this area was quite popular, though to me I don't know why. Its more comfortable after the bar, up the step but gets darker. There is also a 'stone' area with tables to the wall. The seating areas all appear to be pushed to the walls to allow alot of open space & I presume it gets busy with people standing in the evening.

Beer was ok, 6 real ales. Overall I prefer the Silkstone down the road

On 17th November 2010 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Joseph Bramah (JD Wetherspoon)

Long, narrow and very dark Lloyds No1 (AKA Wetherspoons with music) with two entrances at either end (head to the raised area by the main entrance which has a bit more light) which has much dark wood panelling throughout, not exactly helping the lack of vitamin D. Interior appeared fairly clean and tidy; mute TV's on the wall plus a garden area for the smokers through a pair of loudly-banging patio doors.

There was a decent ale selection when I visited (4 of 5 on). My initial pint was poor but was exchanged without fuss for much better one and the second was in good form also. My food was good and the service was friendly. Downside was that they serve inebriates here, which puts me off - the guy next to me at the bar could barely stand. Interestingly the beer that wasn't on when I went in at midday (Thornbridge Jaipur) was still not on at 5 when I popped in for a last half before train back - laziness or lack of skill I wonder?

Overall, it's worth a quick visit if you're in town due in no small part to a lack of real competition on the beer front in the town centre.

On 1st August 2009 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]