User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 17th November 2019) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

Yates, Hull Central, Hull

Trinity House Lane
Hull
HU1 2JD
Phone: 01482586099

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The William Wilberforce (Lloyds No1)

Converted banking hall, with a high ceiling and a cluttered layout including an island bar, four side snugs and a mezzanine. As usual, only a so-so selection from the six handpumps on this visit, but my pint of Sunny Heart from Yorkshire Heart was in good condition and fine value at just £1.90. Overall, could be quite grand, but seems like a lost opportunity.

On 16th October 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5808 recommendations about 5808 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The William Wilberforce (Lloyds No1)

As noted below this is a bank conversion with an island bar and an upstairs area that I didn't look into. I made three visits here and on the Friday and Saturday evening they put notes on the tables telling you to clear off by 20:00 so they can remove the furniture. This is because it's a full blown Lloyds No 1 and all hell is let loose after the witching hour.
I thought the pub was getting shabby, especially the toilets. On the plus side this is one of the few Spoons where the standard guest ale price is well under two quid (£1.75). I also got a cheap Curry Club (£5.99) here and made sure I had a pint of Devils Backbone with it which would have been £2.99.
The bar has a set of five hand pumps plus a solitary one devoted to Doom Bore which had been discounted to £1.69 and still wasn't selling. On my first visit the five beers were Caledonian Seasoned Traveller IPA, Rooster's Fort Smith, Tom Woods Lincoln Gold, Yorkshire Heart Heartger Lager and Crystalbrew Summer Breeze. I went for the Fort Smith (£1.90) which was in good nick but the overall beer quality wasn't as good on subsequent days.
It's not bad for a Lloyds but overall isn't that great.

On 2nd August 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2144 recommendations about 2139 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The William Wilberforce (JD Wetherspoon)

Large Lloyds guise JDW in a grand old building, converted from a bank. Island bar, impressive ornate cornices and bosses plus mezzanine upper with skylight. Star of the show are the magnificent wrapped wood and glass snugs at the front which were former offices, we made sure to bag a seat in there with our breakfast (and a bonus point for having the Mexican sauce out as a condiment!). Understaffed on our morning visit and a long wait ensued but staff suitably apologetic at least. On the pumps - Saltaire Triple Choc (good nick), Revisionist Peat, Golden Sheep, Doom Bar, Adnams Explorer. We ended up back here late on for food and another Triple Choc, with the music pumping away it seemed like an odd venue. Really it’d do better as a proper Spoons. I’d do this one again though, best of the three JDWs in central Hull as an overall package.

On 12th April 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The William Wilberforce (JD Wetherspoon)

Good looking exterior to this former Pease's Bank but this is not the finest 'spoons interior conversion with a jumble of pine furniture taking up most of the space,a modest island bar and a mezzanine level at the rear which creates a dark space where a bank of fruit machines are based.Only the large plate glass windows give any relief.At the bar there are just 5 handpumps serving on my trip Adnams Explorer,Black Sheep Bitter,Doom Bar ,Marstons Irish Peated Ale and a very good Saltaire Triple Chocoholic.My guess is that the Doom Bar and Black Sheep are regulars ,so expect just three guest choices.Despite a very decent pint,this wasnt a stand out pub on my crawl around the centre of Hull.

On 20th March 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2015 recommendations about 2015 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The William Wilberforce (JD Wetherspoon)

The William Wilberforce is a Wetherspoons in the old town area and it is in a decent looking old building.
Once inside it has the usuall spoons layout and there are quite a few tall tables in here,there were four real ales on the bar on my visit and the service was fairly quick but this was fairly early Saturday morning and the pub was very quiet.
I had a drink of Copper Dragon Golden Pippin and this was a decent drink i car'nt remember what the other beers were.
This pub is ok for an early drink before the other pubs open but i would'nt go in here later in the day.

On 8th May 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The William Wilberforce (JD Wetherspoon)

This Lloyds has a poor real ale selection, even worse than most of the others in the chain. On a couple of occasions when I've called in it has had none on at all. Even when they do have beer on it's difficult to actually buy any. Not good.

On 22nd December 2009 - rating: 3
[User has posted 2748 recommendations about 2676 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Martin Amos left this review about The William Wilberforce (JD Wetherspoon)

Was a LLOYDS Bar now part of JD'S empire again a pub with a mixture of music and tv plus the normal menu of boil in the bag

On 12th June 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 34 recommendations about 34 pubs]