User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 26th June 2022) with aleandhearty on the Pub Forum

The Admiral of the Humber (JD Wetherspoon), Hull

1 Anlaby Road
Hull
HU1 2NT
Phone: 01482381850

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Blue Scrumpy left this review about The Admiral of the Humber (JD Wetherspoon)

Hull possesses two branches of Wetherspoon's (that I'm aware of). Both are in the latest Good Beer Guide, but with so many decent pubs in the city, you have to question why.

This branch was packed on our Saturday evening visit, being one of the closest real ale pubs to the football stadium. After a long walk here, we were happy to finally settle down for a pint and after enduring a long queue and fairly clueless service, we managed to secure a table quite quickly.

The pub is a typical 'spoon's branch with a large open-plan interior. Multiple bouncers on the door seemed fairly friendly and were doing a good job in weeding out the underage drinkers. When ordering JHB, our young barman hadn't ever heard of the beer and had to question what it was. His search for the Black Dragon cider also proved to be beyond him.

The usual Wetherspoon's beers were on - Greene King Abbot, Ruddles Best & Sharp's Doom Bar. Guests were Theakston Old Peculier, Thwaite's Wainwright, Oakham JHB, Marston's Old Empire & Adnams Broadside. As mentioned, the cider was Gwynt y Ddraig Black Dragon.

As mentioned previously, the building itself does not look welcoming. It is now a hotel and I'm glad we didn't choose to stay here. A pretty poor branch of Wetherspoon's, but marginally the better of the 2 we visited.

On 10th January 2022 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1317 recommendations about 1317 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Admiral of the Humber (JD Wetherspoon)

The pub looks a bit grim from the exterior shots on here, but it didn't seem bad when I visited the other day. Perhaps they have done the front up a bit and as I was on the same side of the road I would not have noticed the office windows above as the canopy would have restricted my view.

At the bar, two banks of five hand pumps. There were 8 or 9 different ales split across the two pumps, including the Spoons regulars of Doom Bar, Abbot Ale and Ruddles. One was having the line cleaned but was still clipped. A TV screen near the bar lists "today's ales" and at the time of my visit these were (in addition to the standard trio) DB Four Poijt Blanc, Daleside Square Rigger, Newby Wyke Kingston Topaz, Great Newsome Ploughmans Pride and Partners Tabatha. I am sure I also spotted a pump of "Old Thumper" which was not on the board. Guest ales were all £2.15 a pint.

The pub itself is quite wide and has a long bar area to the rear of the pub. Looks like it is also a hotel so perhaps the office looking windows above are now part of the hotel. Not sure if there was an upstairs seating area but there were signs about a beer garden upstairs. Unusually, toilets are downstairs!

A better than average Spoons in terms of real ale at the time of my visit.

On 29th June 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 678 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Admiral of the Humber (JD Wetherspoon)

This large centrally positioned Wetherspoons pub is supposedly built on the site of the former Master Mariner Almshouse, not that you'd ever know this from the ugly building in which the pub is housed. Inside, its fairly run of the mill 'Spoons stuff, with the usual large open plan room layout with the bar along the rear wall. A strip of stone tiling cuts through the middle of the room to lead you from the entrance to the bar, with a few high tables and stools to the side and plenty of standing room around the entrance. Over to the right is a raised bare boarded area with regular tables and chairs under the front windows with square light features above and a dartboard in a case on the end wall. There is a similar space further back with a large modern art piece on display and in the far corner there are a few nooks with some further seating hidden behind a set of pillars. To the left lots more standard seating is available in a carpeted area, with high tables and stools towards the far end. There is another recessed area along the left hand wall with decent seating options beneath. The whole pub is painted in bland shades and is extremely sparsely furnished, with only a few TV screens showing a live football match (with the commentary on), providing any sort of visual distraction. Despite a fair bit of carpeting, the room was very loud and echoey which made it very difficult to settle down.
I counted ten hand pumps on the bar, half of which were dispensing guest ales, with the others having three 'Spoons regulars, one 'Coming Soon' clip and one unclipped. The guests weren't particularly interesting, the best of the bunch being Lancaster Black, which I enjoyed a reasonable pint of. I also decided to grab something to eat here and the service was fairly quick whilst the food was its usual reliable if underwhelming self.
This has to be one of the most dull and uninspiring Wetherspoons pubs I've ever visited, which is really saying something. The grim building gives way into an insipid interior with terrible acoustics and limited decor and whilst the furnishings are at least the usual 'Spoons standard issue, I still couldn't really get comfortable in here. The beer quality was the one saving grace but there are so many better pubs, and indeed better 'Spoons, in Hull that I can't see me bothering to return.

On 1st March 2017 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2795 recommendations about 2795 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Admiral of the Humber (JD Wetherspoon)

As noted below this is a wholly uninspiring JDW in a hideous mid 20th Century office block.
The ten hand pumps had one available soon, Ruddles, Doom Bore, Great Newsome Holderness Dark & Ploughman's Pride, Caledonian Seasoned Traveller IPA, Hobgoblin, Brain's SA Gold, Milestone Lockkeeper and Wold Top Wold Gold. I found a cider from the festival I liked so stuck with that.
I actually made two visits here as the kitchen was closed. Mid afternoon I went off to the William Wilberforce to get something to eat and returned later in the afternoon when the kitchen was up again. A bit later the two TV screens at the left side of the room were tuned to a football match and the volume turned up so high that it filled the entire pub. This was late July so there were no meaningful games on and a maximum of six people were showing any interest. Families had come here to eat and were being subjected to this rubbish. If it had been me I would have told them to either turn it off or give a complete refund for the food.
This is the worst standard JDW I've been in so it gets the Score of Shame.

On 2nd August 2016 - rating: 1
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Admiral of the Humber (JD Wetherspoon)

Fairly naff Spoons at the base of a grim 60s office block (city of culture my arse). Indistinctly decorated in light pine and a noticeably low ceiling. Very busy on midday Friday presumably due its close proximity to the train station. The major saving grace was that the ale range and quality was the best of three Hull Wetherspoons, I tried Titanic Plum Porter (very good nick) Old Mill Bitter (a bit flat, end of barrel?) and Adnams Pacifica (very good). The bar service was also noticeably above the regular JDW standards. As a pub it’s a 4 but the ale and service knock it up a notch or two, so I'll be generous with a 6.

On 12th April 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 4401 recommendations about 4387 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Admiral of the Humber (JD Wetherspoon)

An absolutely awful exterior to this pub gives way to a quite bland and uninspiring interior,however it was quite busy as you would expect for a convenience store,as mentioned below the service was reasonable although I wasn't as keen as some on the beer selection ,but that's simply down to my personal taste, my Thunder Road Pacific was a decent beer though.On the up side of things missing an earlier train connection meant I had to spend 15 minutes less time in here than planned.
The worst pub of a very good pub crawl.

On 20th March 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1559 recommendations about 1540 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Admiral of the Humber (JD Wetherspoon)

Housed on the ground floor of a very dull-looking office block, with just a few patio tables out front indicating its presence. Standard offering inside, with a slightly raised area in one corner. My previous visit a couple of years ago was notable for a boisterous crowd watching football on some large TV screens, but the busy bar staff coped well and all was good natured, and on this occasion was rather more sedate all round. As before, there was a decent selection from the ten handpumps, and this time I opted for the Old Mill Red Goose (£2.15) sourced from nearby Snaith.

On 20th March 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 7001 recommendations about 7001 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Admiral of the Humber (JD Wetherspoon)

An ideal meeting point to kick off our Pubs Galore crawl around Hull. In spite of the pub being busy service here was fast and friendly. The locals have a system of queuing at the bar in single file and spread out along the counter for ordering. As one of our group mentioned, it was like a queue in McDonald's. This a one roomed Spoons, with the bar situated along the back wall. There were enclosed grey tiled booths along the sides and raised seating areas along the front. The pub was hosting a Spoons Real Ale Fest and the Thunder Road Pacific brewed by Adnams was an exceptionally good beer.

On 20th March 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3092 recommendations about 3092 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Admiral of the Humber (JD Wetherspoon)

Very convenient for the station but housed at the bottom of an appalling 60's office block with a low ceiling interior which felt cramped but was proving popular midday on a Friday.Beware that it is very easy to miss the pub as the signage and entrance are modest by 'spoons standards.The upside was a very good selection of real ale from two banks of five handpumps ,with those to the left seemingly offering the usual 'spoons regular ales ,while to the right the guests as noted below.My Titanic Plum Porter was spot on and proved among the best ales of an extensive crawl around the city centre,so I would be tempted to use it again either at the beginning or end of a real ale crawl.

On 20th March 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2338 recommendations about 2338 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Admiral of the Humber (JD Wetherspoon)

The Admiral on the Humber is probably one of the blandest Wetherspoon’s I’ve visited in a while, both outside and inside. Outside it is housed in a very uninspiring 60’s concrete office block with a few outside tables to indicate its presence. And then inside is one large open plan space full of light coloured tables and chairs that I would say has about as much charisma as an office canteen apart from the fact that I have been in several office canteens that have more character than the inside of this spoons..
But fortunately there are a couple of saving graces that lift a visit to the Admiral and those are a decent real ale selection and efficient and friendly service levels. Available beers for our visit included Caledonian Vienna Red, Old Mill Brewery Red Goose, Timothy Taylors Boltmaker, Titanic Plum Porter and a very decent hoppy Thunder Road Pacific brewed by Adnams.
Its not one I would choose to linger long in but as its close to Hull train station its fit for purpose for somewhere to meet before moving on to some of Hull’s better pub options.

On 20th March 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1816 recommendations about 1754 pubs]

Page: 1 2