User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Bishops' Mill (Lloyds No 1), Durham Central, Durham

Walkergate Leisure
Durham
DH1 1WA
Phone: 01913708510

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Lloyds No. 1 (J D Wetherspoon)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Bishops' Mill (Lloyds No 1)

This large Wetherspoons/Lloyds pub is secreted away in a modern leisure development, surrounded by sundry restaurants etc. The main bar is a bit of a cavernous space, but there are a couple of separate side areas and a surprisingly-tasteful and comfortable 'library' area. The beers at time of visit were rather disappointing however, with a small selection of the usual national brands and nothing local at all.

On 5th December 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2166 recommendations about 2120 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Bishops' Mill (Lloyds No 1)

This is by far the largest of the Durham JDWs but sadly it's a Lloyds and even before 11:00 on a Saturday morning there was background music. It also suffers from the triple Curse of Sky Sports, BT Sports and Racing UK. Happily in the morning none of this rubbish was on just the usual subtitled news.
As noted below it's a large open plan single storey room in the middle of a modern leisure complex. The Lloyds Disaster area is on the right of the bar with all the usual trappings. On this visit alcohol was only served from 11:00 due to a protest by some groups of ultra right wing fruitcakes nearby banging on about something or other.
The beer choice from the ten hand pumps was virtually non existent with two ciders, the IPA version of the JDW Trio Of Doom doubled, Shepherd Neame Redpoint Disco Macaw and the wonderful GK Rocking Rudolph. I went for the Black Dragon cider which was reasonably priced but I forgot to note what it was.
This place is probably only worth visiting for an early drink and / or breakfast. I wouldn't return, the smaller Spoons nearer the station is miles better.

On 3rd December 2017 - rating: 3
[User has posted 2147 recommendations about 2142 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Bishops' Mill (Lloyds No 1)

Quite a large place but sadly not a great choice of ale when I visited. Far better than the other outlets in the complex and given the other reviews I would return to hopefully find a better ale selection.

On 5th January 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1598 recommendations about 1596 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Bishops Mill (Lloyds No 1)

The Bishops Mill is a Wetherspoons that i thouth was well hidden within a new complex.
Once inside thereis a very large irregular shaped room with the bar facing,the room is roughly split into three areas with the usual Spoons seating in each area.
There was a very good choice of guest beers on the bar,i had a drink of Williams Black which went down very well,the other beers noted were Titanic Plum Porter,Bishops Prince Ale,Marstons irish Peated Ale,Banks & Taylor Little Sheff,O Harah's JDW irish,plus the Spoons regulars Ruddles best,GK IPA and Abbot.
Background music was playing and the pub was very busy on my Saturday morning visit.

Pub visited 19/3/2016

On 9th April 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Bishops Mill (Lloyds No 1)

Lloyds variant of JDW in the brand new Walkergate leisure complex. A fair bit of cash spent here and it looks quite good internally, with a number of pillars breaking up the inside somewhat. Copper-topped tables, a colourful full wall frieze of Durham and a knave area with cathedral style wood panelling were of note. There's outside decked seating but no river view. Eight pumps but disappointingly only Rudgate IPA and Marstons Old Empire as proper guest ales. The Old Empire was a decent enough drop and at a quid for a half, can’t really complain.

On 10th July 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Bishops Mill (Lloyds No 1)

A modern purpose built venue within The Walkergate complex of bars and restaurants centred around the Gala Theatre. It doesn't look too appealing, however once inside, not too bad really. Various interconnected areas with different styles rather than the usual spoons/Lloyds barns, the through fireplace looked good and was welcome on an unseasonally chilly and windy day. There was some rather nice framed bits of artwork on display from a local artist, centred on the nearby River Wear. I quite warmed to this place after initial misgivings and enjoyed a gammon and eggs lunch and a couple of pints of Big Lamp Lamp Light in here, beer at £1.49 after my CAMRA voucher.

On 5th June 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Bishops Mill (JD Wetherspoon)

Quite a large Lloyds No. 1 bar, but slightly hidden away at the lower level of riverside Walkergate development. Irregular 'L'-shaped bar, part slightly raised. Usual modern furniture and decor. Patio seating out front. Nine of ten handpumps in operation, with a fair choice including Roosters Fat Mule (£1.99).

On 3rd February 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5940 recommendations about 5940 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Bishops Mill (JD Wetherspoon)

Large typical Wetherspoons with lots of steps to get to it, although it was good to find there were lifts to access it which were needed. Friendly staff and prompt service, full marks for that, but hubby said the gents loos needed attention. Ladies loos were great though. With regards to the beers, we had the West Country English Ale, plus a couple from their festival menu, Nogne brewery from Norway, and Titanic Nine Tenths Below which was superb. Beers all appeared to be well kept.

On 21st March 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1306 recommendations about 1196 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Bishops Mill (JD Wetherspoon)

Large barn like Lloyds No1 in a concrete carbuncle of a modern development. It is not a bad place for a drink although the whole Walkergate Leisure area where it's located can be very boisterous on a Saturday night. As my visit was during the Real Ale festival there was a good range of cask ales, all I tried were well kept. There is the usual range of kegs. One big room with several separated areas. There is a smaller slightly enclosed area with ecclesiastical style wood work where you can watch the weekend stag and hen parties doing their tricks.

On 23rd November 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2208 recommendations about 2053 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Bishops Mill (JD Wetherspoon)

Typical Lloyds No 1, well designed for a new build. As usual the guest beers are very limited but I've always been served a good pint here. Normally call in midweek so I don't know what it's like at weekends but I've always been able to get served on a Thursday when it's pretty busy.

On 19th October 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2797 recommendations about 2721 pubs]