User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
To Close or Not To Close? with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Tanners Hall (JD Wetherspoon), Darlington

63-64 Skinnergate
Darlington
DL3 7LL
Phone: 01325369939

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Rob Hunter left this review about The Tanners Hall (JD Wetherspoon)

Called in here after a disappointing trip to the Tubwell Tap. Figured you can depend on a Wetherspoons to have at least one decent real ale to go at, and it would buy me a bit of time to escape the persistent rain and do a bit of research and plan where I was going to go next.

This Spoons has two banks of six hand pulls, one bank has all the guest ales, the other has the traditional Spoons trio plus Old Rosie cider and a couple of guests duplicated from the other bank. I like this approach, as it means I only have to stare at one bank of pumps to try and decide which beer to try. All guest ales were £1.89 a pint, which is an absolute bargain of course. There were a couple of porters on, so good to see some dark beers available in the mix. My Ouseburn Porter was pretty decent.

This is a fairly standard layout older style Spoons with its open plan barn and a couple of booths to one end. Dark varnished wood aplenty. You know the score. The only thing that makes this Spoons non-standard is that the toilets are downstairs.

Solid and dependable, no complaints.

On 16th January 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 520 recommendations about 473 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Tanners Hall (JD Wetherspoon)

Above average Wetherspoons with a good range of beers including Rudgate and some of the more interesting from Marstons. Facilities and décor as normal.

On 8th June 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2198 recommendations about 2148 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Tanners Hall (JD Wetherspoon)

Decent Spoons with a good choice of real ale. I had Riggwelter which was in fine form. Was a bit dark for my taste.

On 18th January 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Tanners Hall (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a standard High Street Spoons but compensates for that with reasonable service, cheap prices, a good selection of ales and 20% CAMRA discount on food only orders. On a Saturday morning at around 11:00 it was already busy with the usual mix of shoppers, people having a cheap breakfast and the Spoons daytime brigade.
Inside it's a large single room with a low ceiling so it's rather dark. There are the usual assortment of tables and chairs.
The bar has two banks of six hand pumps which included the two Greene King beers, Adnam's Broadside & the International Make it Rain, two Daleside beers, York Brewery First Light and Houston Black and Tan. I went for the Houston Black and Tan (£1.99) which was in excellent nick.

The 20% discount took a large breakfast to under four quid but you couldn't order a beer with it and use a 50p voucher. I assume there is nothing to stop you ordring a beer with a voucher then going back a few minutes later to order the breakfast. The meals that come with a drink may not be discounted or possibly the discount is applied to the total price less the cost of the drink.
One final plus point is that the toilets are not situated either up or down long sets of stairs.

All in all this is one of the better Spoons despite the dull venue.

On 4th June 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Tanners Hall (JD Wetherspoon)

Agree with Gill, this is a well run Spoons, with all the tables clean and tidy and service was very quick, even when the pub is busy. Deco was cream and apricot walls, with some added interest from some international flags hanging from the ceiling near the bar area, as their Spoons fest was on.
We went for the Shepherd Neame Boadicea and Goddard Brewery Squirrel, both were in good shape. The locals here were friendly, I asked one chap for directions to the Quarker House pub, and he left Spoons and walked us right to the pub door.

On 22nd March 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Tanners Hall (JD Wetherspoon)

Another visit to Darlington at the end of last month, and the 12 handpulls all had clips on. 2 ciders, 2 Ruddles, 2 Abbott and 6 guests. We had good service and the place was clean. No mucky tables.
The above was in March 2010, and we called in yesterday. The Just a minute brewery beer was ok but the Walls brewery beer had to be returned. Full marks though as it was changed without a fuss for a Daleside beer, and they actually turned the pumpclip round so not showing to customers. Still clean and tidy, and efficient staff.

On 8th October 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1306 recommendations about 1196 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


James Joines left this review about The Tanners Hall

A Spoons house with at least 6 Real Ales and a food offering at the usual low prices.

On 3rd May 2008 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 841 recommendations about 835 pubs]