User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Date for Summer 2022 crawl in Winchester. with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Glass House (JD Wetherspoon), St. Helens

5 Market Street
St. Helens
WA10 1NE
Phone: 01744762310

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about The Glass House (JD Wetherspoon)

a typical town centre Spoons that absolutely reeks of coffee. full of all kinds of everyone on an afternoon. as per the previous review, beer choice piss poor for a Spoons with Ruddles, Doom Bar and Black Dragon repeated several times. this may surprise new visitors to the town but there are far far better options in and around St helens.

On 15th September 2018 - rating: 4
[User has posted 898 recommendations about 871 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Glass House (JD Wetherspoon)

The Glass House was originally an indoor market. It consists of a curved corner room with a further room for dining down some steps. It was doing a good trade on my Thursday midday visit.
Despite the fifteen hand pumps here the beer choice was dismal being no better than the Lloyds where expectations are low. on the first two sets of five were four unused, the JDW Trio Of Doom, Coach House Blonde, a beer from the not so recent festival and Robinson's Magnum IPA. The last five had Abbot, Doom Bore and three ciders.
I went for the Magnum IPA which was totally uninspiring. This one was a complete waste of time.

On 17th April 2017 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Glass House (JD Wetherspoon)

Busy 'spoons on the edge of the main shopping centre, with a curved frontage and a generally 'L'-shaped bar within. Fairly plainly furnished and decorated in a more modern style than most. Nine of ten handpumps in operation, with a pretty decent selection of real ales - including three from Dunscar, and others from Cheshire Brew Brothers and Mordue - and my pint of Heritage Ales Victorian Porter was good value at just £2.15.

On 16th April 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 7021 recommendations about 7021 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Glass House (JD Wetherspoon)

Although its a Wethers-by-numbers it does have a very good selection of real ale and cider.

On 22nd June 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3447 recommendations about 3354 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Glass House (JD Wetherspoon)

A busy and well staffed corner Spoons this one, with ten handpumps, plus a further five handpumps serving four ciders and one perry. The pub consisted of a main room and bar over to the left and a family area down a few steps to rear of the pub. My Bootleg Brewing Co beer was a reasonable £2 a pint.

On 31st December 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3092 recommendations about 3092 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about The Glass House (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a Wetherspoons pub but not as we know it.On arrival I was greeted with a friendly smile from the barmaid,prompt drink service and an excellent pint of Robinsons Ginger Tom.Being on a roll thought i would inquire about the history of the pub,of which the manager gave me a detailed explanation and even went out of his way to show me various old photos on the wall of the pub in days gone by.On my departure i was half expecting a tap on my shoulder congratulating me on being the 1,000,000th customer.Never thought i would say this of a wetherspoons pub that the customer service was top notch.The bubble soon burst though when i entered the other Wetherspoons lower down.

On 31st March 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2216 recommendations about 2176 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


William Purnell left this review about The Glass House

Found this J D Wetherpoon establishment welcoming.

On 15th October 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 218 recommendations about 205 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Neil Connolly left this review about The Glass House

I might be biased as this is my local but I find The Glasshoyse to have a very warm wellcome and excellent atmosphere it's on the few pubs in the town centre you can a have a conversation without shouting not only but as a resl akle lover it has a excellent range off beers the bar staff areallso very friendly and helpfull

On 1st August 2009 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steven Kacer left this review about The Glass House

Not a very welcoming atmosphere a bit boring

On 2nd June 2009 - rating: 2
[User has posted 50 recommendations about 50 pubs]