User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Fall Well (Lloyds No.1), Liverpool

St John's Way
Liverpool
L1 1LS
Phone: 01517052050

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Lloyds No. 1 (J D Wetherspoon)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Fall Well (Lloyds No.1)

After abandoning our plan of paying a visit to the Welkin, we stumbled across the Fall Well on Sunday. Apparently a Lloyds No 1 but just felt like a big old fashioned standard Spoons on Sunday afternoon. Being a big place, we had no issue finding a table. There were seven hand pulls at the bar for real ale - in fact it looked like there should have been eight but one had been dismantled / partially removed. I can't remember all the guest ales but the two I had were Trawlerboys by Green Jack Brewing Company and Maharaja IPA by West Berkshire Brewery, and both were perfectly reasonable and in fine condition. We did order food but we forgot to order two meals - entirely our fault - but the server didn't read our order back to us or issue us with a receipt, either or both or which would have made us realise sooner we had made a terrible mistake!

Overall it's a bit of a gloomy dimly lit place and probably not the best Wetherspoon pub in Liverpool city centre, but it served its purpose and I have no real complaints.

Despite there being a plethora of available seating, one chap decided to sit on the table uncomfortably close to ours and attempted to engage in discussions relating to the news of the day and sharing his UKIP beliefs while bemoaning the inequality of who the right of "free speech" applies to. I can't help thinking there would have been other people in the pub slightly more receptive to his conversation, however it made for a classic Spoons encounter!

On 28th February 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 621 recommendations about 521 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about The Fall Well (Lloyds No.1)

a dowdy and pretty rough and ready Spoons in an ugly building in an ugly part of the city. I guess it serves a purpose and it's full of characters from 8am onwards.

On 16th August 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 854 recommendations about 829 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Fall Well (Lloyds No.1)

This is a merging of an old pet shop (City Pets) and the pub next door (The Cunarder), the sunken area to your right was part of the Cunarder pub. Absolutely nothing inside to indicate as much. As its by a main set of bus stops it can be busy. Trainee chill cabinet cleaners are very busy here.

On 1st February 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3436 recommendations about 3346 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Fall Well (Lloyds No.1)

This is an uninspiring Spoons that consists of a long narrow room with a low ceiling. It is also a Lloyds No. 1 but on my morning visit had no had no signs of that nonsense. There was an old Irish fellow who clearly has ambitions to be a Maitre D for Wetherspoons as he insisted on meeting and greeting everyone (including myself) interspersed with "singing" various songs that I didn't recognise.
The room has all the usual Spoons furnishings and there is a long bar along the right side after you enter. For some reason there are three banks of hand pumps with three at the furthest ends and two in the middle. These had one unused, the two GK beers, Doom Bore, Moorhouse Pendle Witches Brew & Blond Witch, Brightside Underworld and Everard's International Indian Red Ale. I spotted a festival cider that I hadn't tried Purbeck Dorset Dabinet (£2.70) and went for that. Unlike London JDWs this was 40p dearer than the standard guest price rather than the same price. As the only cellar skills here are placing a polypin in a cardboard box into a cold cabinet I can't make any judgement on quality.
Remarkably this place was busier than the opulent new North Western only a short walk away and despite having the same prices.
This isn't one I would bother returning to.

On 21st July 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Fall Well (Lloyds No.1)

Will give this spoons a 10 spoons are good or bad no inbetween this is a good one had a nice meal late on was like being in a nice restaurant did not look like a pub with the lighting was quite pleasant sat there taking all in

On 18th April 2014 - rating: 10
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Fall Well (Lloyds No.1)

This uses to be a large pet shop called City Pets, am going back a good few years there. I prefer to call in here when it's quiet, as weekends are mayhem between here and Yates. Had a pint of Great Western Brewing Co Meerkat Mild, which was superb and only £2.

On 22nd June 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3036 recommendations about 3036 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roy Collins left this review about The Fall Well (Lloyds No.1)

A huge barn with usual JDW decor.Absolutely packed out on Saturday night.Good selection of ales as their beer festival was on . Got served quickly despite the crowds.

On 28th October 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 124 recommendations about 121 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Fall Well (Lloyds No.1)

Pretty featureless JDW with a long, thin bar area with standard seating. There's a sunken area as you enter with some booths etc. 3 guest ales alongside the usual suspects during our visit. We also ate breakfast here on one day which was pretty good. Overall a fairly solid JDW during the day, but I suspect it's a nightmare on a weekend evening.

On 6th May 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2938 recommendations about 2856 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about The Fall Well (Lloyds No.1)

Uninspiring Lloyds No1 void of any character,with a long bar and not much space between the tables and the bar area. I think if all the Wetherspoon pubs were football teams this one would be in a relegation battle in the Blue Square Conference league.

On 19th October 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2161 recommendations about 2123 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Fall Well (Lloyds No.1)

Particularly dull Lloyds No. 1 bar housed underneath an especially unappealing modern building. Eight handpumps, but several off leaving a rather mediocre selection of real ale. Having said that, my pint of Coach House Squires Gold was fine, and good value at £1.60.

On 4th July 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 6687 recommendations about 6687 pubs]

Page: 1 2