User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Lockdown 3 with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

Greens, Lancaster

63 North Road
Lancaster
LA1 1LU
Phone: 01524585240

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Lloyds No. 1 (J D Wetherspoon)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Brainy Pool left this review about The Green Ayre (Lloyds No.1)

update - this former Wetherspoons will reopen in two weeks under the new name 'Greens'. Advertises 10 hand pumps and 20 taps.

On 6th July 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 773 recommendations about 754 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about The Green Ayre (Lloyds No.1)

I think the closure is now permanent. no signs of life for 2 and a half years.

On 13th August 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 773 recommendations about 754 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Green Ayre (Lloyds No.1)

Closed due to flooding (temporary)

On 4th March 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Green Ayre (Lloyds No.1)

Lancaster's second Spoons (they both opened in November 2001) is a Lloyds and is probably best described as medium sized. On my Friday evening visit it was busy but not hopelessly so. It's a single room with a raised area and exposed ventilation ducts. Fixtures and fittings are fairly typical. There was music playing but the Friday Night Lloyds nightmare hadn't started.
The bar has two banks of five hand pumps but Spoons regulars dominated so I only noted the two Locale ones, Hawkshead Lakeland Gold and Cumberland Corby Fox. I went for the Lakeland Gold (£1.65) which was in good nick and very cheap. I found a table and noticed there was Chicken and Pepper Skewers with peri-peri sauce and salad going for £3.99 so indulged in that. I also noticed that Sunday Clubs here are £6.49 (the most common price is £7.99).
It's not the most attractive Spoons and is a Lloyds but seemed well run and has to receive a bonus point for being the second cheapest Spoons I've been to.

On 30th November 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Green Ayre (Lloyds No.1)

A Wetherspoons-by-numbers.

On 28th March 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3390 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Green Ayre

Lloyds No. 1 Bar housed in an older building with a modern infill extension at one end. Irregularly-shaped interior, with generally light decor. Not a bad selection of real ale from ten handpumps, including a tasty Hawkshead Dry Stone Stout (£2.15).

On 9th March 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


William Purnell left this review about The Green Ayre

A Lloyds No1 Bar in the Wetherspoon stable

On 18th October 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 218 recommendations about 205 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Green Ayre

A mixed bag. The first beer (from a decent range) I tried to order was well-off and I got the usual Whetherspoons rubbish of the staff not taking any notice of the fact they're selling damaged goods; leaving the clip of the offender on display until pressured to turn it round by us. A stupid schoolboy error which spoils what would have been a fairly positive review. Tim Martin really needs to get out into his estate and pay some unannounced visits to see the real story - unless he condones this type of service? On a positive note, the food was the best I've ever had in Wevvies, all correct and nicely cooked (alright, fried/microwaved). The interior is pretty clean and presentable, and the bogs were in good nick.

You get what you pay for.

On 4th January 2007 - rating: 4
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]