User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Favourite Bands with Pubsignman on the Pub Forum

The Trawl Boat Inn (JD Wetherspoons), St. Annes Town Centre, Lytham St. Annes

36-38 Wood Street
Lytham St. Annes
FY8 1QR

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Trawl Boat Inn (JD Wetherspoons)

This Spoons is surprisingly down a side street and not on the main thoroughfare. Nevertheless, it was still quite busy on our Thursday afternoon visit. The bar area is on your immediate right as you enter and the area in front of the bar was quite narrow, so I couldn't imagine trying to get served on a busy Friday/Saturday night. The main lounge at the rear of the pub does open out and has plenty of seating options, including a raised area along the back, which hosted a log burning fire. Two banks of five pumps, so we went for the Big Bog Will O the Wisp and Worsthorne Some Like It Blonde, both priced at £2.15 a pint and both were in good shape.

On 29th February 2020 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2975 recommendations about 2975 pubs]


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Trawl Boat Inn (JD Wetherspoons)

Standard Wetherspoons but the beer quality is good

On 15th October 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Trawl Boat Inn (JD Wetherspoons)

Converted from two former lodging houses (later a doctor's surgery and a solicitor's practice), this 'spoons retains something of a domestic mock-Tudor façade. Passing through the split-level front patio terrace, the interior is quite dark away from the main windows and is unremarkable in terms of furniture and decor. Modest choice from the two banks of five handpumps, with the Acorn Old Moor Porter (£2.15) being the best of the bunch.

On 2nd December 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Trawl Boat Inn (JD Wetherspoons)

As noted below this is quite an imposing building externally but inside is fairly typical JDW fare. Like the neighbouring JDW in Lytham there was a board advertising trips out for the locals.
The bar has a set of four and a set of five hand pumps which had one unused (the line was actually being given a full clean), a cider, the two GK beers, Bank Top Flat Cap & Port O' Call, a Trawl Boat house beer from Moorhouse, Cross Bay Dusk and Titanic Plum Porter. I went for the Cross Bay Dusk (£2.39) which was in good nick. I found this one to be a good Spoons like all of the ones on the periphery of Blackpool.

On 30th January 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2145 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alesonly . left this review about The Trawl Boat Inn (JD Wetherspoons)

Nice Pub about the best place in the area for a decent pint of Real Ale with a bit of guts in it a good choice of changing Ales. Food is not bad for a spoons regular standard menu as others and at a reasonable price. Staff are always polite and welcoming and most customers are friendly enough you don't get none of the cold shoulder looks you get in some places if you not a regular.

On 25th October 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 132 recommendations about 105 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Trawl Boat Inn (JD Wetherspoons)

Was in here when an almighty thunderstorm hit and its at times like these when you appreciate any pub.

On 20th January 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3381 recommendations about 3299 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Trawl Boat Inn (JD Wetherspoons)

It,s a Spoons nothing to write home about had a pint of bank top pulled as flat as a f--t

On 19th January 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 122 recommendations about 122 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Trawl Boat Inn (JD Wetherspoons)

Just off the main shopping street, on a road seemingly full of bars and restaurants converted from large town houses, this is a particularly unmemorable Wetherspoons pub, itself converted from a former solicitors office. There is a nice, two tier front patio with stacks of seating, which should catch the sun for most of the day. This leads you in through the front door to a carpeted front bar area with the servery running down the right hand side, opposite which as series of short walls partition a narrow seating area filled with high tables and stools. The servery is fairly unremarkable except for the bar counter which has a row of unusual perspex panels fixed beneath it which is interesting, if not exactly very attractive. The room opens out a lot past the bar, where a large skylit area offers a bright seating space full of standard tables and chairs which extends a surprising distance to the left. Beyond this is a slightly partitioned raised rear space, also with skylights, although these are notably smaller than the large central one and thus this part of the room was gloomier than the rest. There are some banquettes running along the rear wall and the décor is something to behold, with an ambitious pink colour scheme acting as backing for a series of bright modern art prints. A couple of TV screens, one near the bar, the other in the rear left part of the pub, were showing England's Six Nations fixture against Wales to a few keen customers who had to make do without the commentary.
The advantage this kind of featureless Wetherspoons has over similar pubs is its good selection of ales and there were ten hand pumps here offering seven guest ales and three of the usual suspects. I was keen to try something from the local Lytham Brewery and plumped for a pint of the Lytham Gold, but found myself with a very poor pint that I struggled to finish and should probably have taken back. I ate my lunch here as well and whilst the food was the usual cheap, processed fayre, the service was at least very prompt and friendly.
This was a disappointing visit really, with nothing much sticking in the memory beyond the poor quality of the beer. The pub is in the 2014 Good Beer Guide, so I'm prepared to concede I got unlucky with my pint, but if you're in town with time to visit just one pub, ditch this 'safe' option and go to the nearby Fifteens instead.

On 28th March 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2427 recommendations about 2427 pubs]