User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 10th November 2019) with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Thomas Drummond (JD Wetherspoon), Fleetwood Town Centre, Fleetwood

London Street
Fleetwood
FY7 6JE
Phone: 01253775020

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Thomas Drummond (JD Wetherspoon)

Curious brick building, formerly a Sunday school, with a tall multi-coloured window in the hall-like far end (the effect of which is somewhat spoiled inside by the insertion of a false ceiling). Apart from that, though, the interior is lighter than expected despite the minimal window areas in the other partly opened-out rooms. Standard mix of furniture, but there are some interesting local-history displays. Reasonable selection of real ales from eight of nine handpumps, including Moorhouse's Blonde Witch and Reedley Hallows Beer o' Clock, but I went for the seasonal Inveralmond Fortingale (just £1.99).

On 2nd December 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5796 recommendations about 5796 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Thomas Drummond (JD Wetherspoon)

Nice typical bright clean Spoons.Seating outside at the rear.About 5 guest beers but my Peerless beer was in poor condition and served in a John Smiths branded glass.Tried a bottled beer which was undrinkable.Just shows how pointless the Camra GBG is.

On 22nd July 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 913 recommendations about 901 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Thomas Drummond (JD Wetherspoon)

This one has been more than well described below. It's a nice enough old building split into different areas.
The bar has two sets of five hand pumps which had the JDW Trio Of Doom, Spitfire, Reedley Hallows Honkholme Premium, VOG Dark Matter, Phoenix Wobbly Bob & Hopback, Brain's SA and Bank Top Flat Cap. I went for the VOG dark matter (£2.29) which was in good nick but tasted a bit odd probably my own fault for choosing a blackcurrant porter when I don't like blackcurrants. It was charged at the standard guest ale price and I noticed the food prices here were about average. It's a good Spoons and it's GBG 2017 listed.

On 30th January 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2144 recommendations about 2139 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Thomas Drummond (JD Wetherspoon)

Its nothing special but for some reason I quite liked it. Half decent ale selection.

On 11th September 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3363 recommendations about 3279 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Thomas Drummond (JD Wetherspoon)

Called in for a couple more after Fleetwood beer festival. Sadly there's no longer a CAMRA discount, so I had to use a voucher. The 2 pints I had were in good nick though as usual.

11/02/2013
Still going strong with a good range of guest beers on again. The staff were good as well and we could get served quite easily, which is why we stayed for two.

15/02/2011
Called in again after this years beer festival. Much better range of beers on the bar than the last couple of times. Definitely has a more mature clientele these days which is a good sign. On the up I would say.

23/02/10
We tend to call in here on the Saturday evening after every Fleetwood beer festival. This year it was very quiet compared to previous years. Maybe Wyre Light across the road is taking some of their custom. It's one of the better Wetherspoons is this one, it's not always got a great range of beer but it's always well kept. Had a pint of the George Wright Pure Blonde which was very tasty. It's alright in here.

On 8th February 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2745 recommendations about 2673 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Thomas Drummond

This Wetherspoons pub opened back in 2001 in the town’s former Sunday School building, built by Thomas Drummond, who now gives his name to the pub. It’s a deceptively large building and it was only as I was leaving that I realised the pub extends much further than I had initially realised. Entering through the right hand front door, you find yourself in a large, almost drinking barn-style room with the servery sited on the back wall. The room has been carpeted and has the usual ‘Spoons furniture layout of high tables and stools opposite the bar, standard tables and chairs in the middle of the room and a series of padded banquette booths running along the front wall. There is a very high ceiling, which makes the place feel spacious and airy and has a balcony looking down into the main bar area, although I didn’t notice any seats up there from which to enjoy the view. The décor comprises the usual pastel shaded walls and a few large pictures and local history boards, with TV screens dotted around including one which was showing a Six Nations rugby match with the commentary audible. Another screen listed ales which were due to feature in the near future and explained the role of the pub’s ale committee, who are responsible for deciding which beers and breweries get featured on the bar. A couple of openings on the left hand wall lead through to a few more seating areas, each very spacious, with plenty of tables and chairs and similar décor to the main bar area, although I didn’t really explore this side of the pub properly.
There are ten hand pumps on the bar which were dispensing six guest ales and three ‘Spoons regulars with one ‘Coming Soon’ clip when I arrived. I decided to try the Hawkshead Dry Stone Stout, which was absolutely spot-on and went down very nicely indeed. Funnily enough, a ‘Meet the Brewer’ evening with the Hawkshead Brewery was being promoted for later in the month. The staff were very efficient and helpful and I got the impression that they were keen to engage with their customers and make the experience a bit more personal than you get in your average Wetherspoons venue.
I visited a lot of Wetherspoons pubs whilst I was in Lancashire, but none of them quite matched up to this one, which I found to be clean, comfortable and welcoming, as well as very popular with the locals. I’m not too familiar with Fleetwood’s pub scene, but I imagine that you could do a lot worse than spending an evening here.

On 20th March 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2339 recommendations about 2339 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Thomas Drummond

Its a spoons nice place but unfortunately full of fleetwood low life

On 26th January 2014 - rating: 2
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Clark left this review about The Thomas Drummond

If you're out in Fleetwood then this is definitely somewhere you want to visit. They have a wide selection of spirits at reasonable prices and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

On 31st July 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Thomas Drummond

Called in on our way to the Fleetwood beer fest and it is one of the better Wetherspoons as staff seem to keep some order in how they serve, and it was clean and tidy. The Leeds New Moon and Lancaster Amber were both well kept ales.

On 11th February 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1296 recommendations about 1186 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Sam Millar left this review about The Thomas Drummond

Typical Wetherspoon's Pub. I have never tasted the food so can't comment, but any real ale I have tasted there has been very well kept. In CAMRA Good Beer Guide 2010 and is a previous CAMRA "Pub of the Season".

On 26th February 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 24 recommendations about 21 pubs]

Page: 1 2