User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Bottled Beer Bargain Alert with rpadam on the Pub Forum

Lyndon House Hotel, Walsall

9/10 Upper Rushall Street
Walsall
WS1 2HA
Phone: 01922612511

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Lyndon House Hotel

Good beer guide entry 2019.

Converted Salvation Army Hostel of all things. Now a smart brick and wood pub, with a central bar and seating all around.

Plenty of real ale choice and the Bathams in top condition for £3.30.

Visit Blogged at: http://bit.ly/2ELOCDi

On 2nd June 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 691 recommendations about 685 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about Lyndon House Hotel

Attractive hotel / pub on the edge of town with a good choice of beers on. Holden's Golden Glow and Batham's bitter were fine. Well worth a visit.

On 9th October 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1086 recommendations about 1043 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Lyndon House Hotel

Attractive edge-of-town-centre hotel that has more of the character of a country inn. Very traditional bar, with a central island counter and seating on three sides. The 'real' fire may have been gas-effect, but almost everything else appeals. In better weather, the side patio and multi-level rear terraced beer garden are popular. Fair selection of real ales from the seven handpumps on this visit, and although there was little of immediately local interest the Batham's Bitter (£3.00) more than made up for that. Well worth seeking out.

On 26th November 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Lyndon House Hotel

A hotel bar apparently but its very much a pub. 7 handpumps with Deuchars, Abbott and beers from Holdens, Burton Bridge and Bathams on this visit. Bare brick and a solid wooden bar make the place feel like a country pub. I liked it.

On 25th July 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3389 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Lyndon House Hotel

This is a bar that it is part of a plush hotel that was once a Salvation Army hostel. Inside it's an open plan room with carpets, a low ceiling and an island bar. It doesn't feel too much like a hotel bar.
The bar has seven hand pumps which on my visit had Burton Bridge Sovereign Gold & XL Mild, Batham's Best, GK Abbot, Holden's Golden Glow, Theakston's Best and Deuchar's IPA. I went for the Batham's Best (£3.00) which was in good nick. It seems a shame that a pub selling seven beers can't include any new local microbreweries in their range.

On 24th December 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about Lyndon House Hotel

The Lyndon House pulls off a neat trick by making a large hotel in the middle of Walsall look attractive and inviting and creating a bar which has the feel of a village local. I liked it here, it's traditional and welcoming and doesn't feel like a hotel bar at all.
Six handpumps had on Lyndon House Bitter, Thornbridge Jaipur IPA, Deuchars IPA, Abbott, Theakstons Bitter and Holdens Mild. There's a high proportion of ubiquitous, uninspiring ales there but the Jaipur IPA was as good as I've had and I didn't need to move from it. There appears to be an active policy of offering a quality guest.
This'd be my first stop in Walsall.

On 7th July 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Lyndon House Hotel

I really enjoyed my trip to the front bar of this town centre hotel.It has a traditional feel with lots of exposed brickwork and wraps around an island bar.I walked around the interior of the ground floor and discovered a seperate conservatory which hosts occasional tribute bands.There is also a downstairs cocktail type bar and a large rear garden terrace with it's own bar ,which opens for events.
On the ale front ,there are a lot of national brands with little to inspire,but there is an enlightened guest beer policy with the excellent Thornbridge Jaipur IPA on my trip and next up Salopian Golden Thread with the blackboard noting it's return by popular demand.Clearly the management can pick an excellent guest,if they were prepared to drop one or two of the dull national real ales(GK IPA and Abbott,Deuchars IPA) for more quality guests,this pub would be unmissable.With one guest beer, it is still well worth including on any real ale tour of the town.

On 1st July 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2087 recommendations about 2087 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Lyndon House Hotel

This is a fairly charming pub attached to a hotel on one of the main roads through town. The central bar serves a nice, cosy room which has plenty of dark wooden beams and exposed brickwork, made all the more comforting by the muted lighting. There are some interesting features dotted around, including an old stove in the rear corner and a nice fireplace nearer the front. There was a good crowd in on my Saturday lunchtime visit and the only downside I felt was the incongruous R’n’B music which was playing over the radio.
My table had a very simple lunch menu on it, with all mains coming in at under a fiver, which seemed like a good deal to me. The walls were decorated with all manner of advertisements, mostly for tobacco, whiskey and Guinness. I also spotted a couple of poems about the pub’s locals framed on one of the walls. They were written by the pub’s very own in-house poet, one Michael J Bonser – perhaps a relation one of this website’s esteemed reviewers?
There were six hand pumps, all on when I arrived, dispensing Lyndon House Bitter, Theakston Bitter and Mild (£2.30), Millstone True Grit, Greene King Abbot Ale and Deuchars IPA. My pint of Mild was served too cold for my liking, but the service was, at least, with a smile.
A decent pub all things considered and I’m glad I included this place on my crawl around the town. I would have been happy to spend longer here if only I’d had the time.

On 13th March 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2541 recommendations about 2541 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Lyndon House Hotel

A fantastic climbing plant covered detached hotel building in undressed brick, with side beer patio.

The entrance to the hotel leads you into a lobby and the bar is off to the side. The interior of the bar is open plan around a square wooden bar area in the middle. The decor has had a lick of paint recently and is now a grey colour, wood panel and lots of undressed brick, with a white ceiling. There is an iron 'cooking range' and a brick fireplace with a nice fire. There are lots of plates, with lots of old pictures of Walsall, Victorian prints, wooden adverts boards, brass ornaments, coloured glass and mirrors. The service tends to be functional, as its so often very busy. The clientele tend to be a maturer type. There isn't any music and the there is a TV, but i can't say i have ever seen it on. I thought it was about time i updated my review as i didn't mention the framed indentures on the walls - guys, please, you are destroying them - if you want to exhibit the stuff, scan it and show that.

Beer; usual tap stuff, with now 6 hanpulls; a decent Theakston's MILD, Bitter, Abbotts, Deuchars IPA, Salopian Golden Thread and a house bitter.

I generally always visit this great place, as it is one of my favourites in Walsall, it just gets very busy at times. Still, a must do in my eyes.

On 28th February 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ale Monster left this review about Lyndon House Hotel

This traditional country style pub and hotel is a free house whose owners choose to buy its regular beers from Scottish & Newcastle. The pub part of the building is on the left, there is a single small public bar with a central square island bar counter, décor is very traditional with lots of brick, old beams, local pictures and a framed copy of the deeds to the building on the wall. In the back left wall there is a small cast iron fire place next to a door which leads out to a large patio down the left hand side of the building. At the back of the patio is a brick arch and steps which lead down to a second patio behind the building with a BBQ area and lots of flowers, from here you can see an impressive cast iron spiral stair case running up the back of the hotel part of the building.

Regular ales are Theakston Traditional Mild and Best Bitter, Lyndon House Bitter, Green King Abbot Ale and Caledonian Deuchars IPA with a single changing guest beer (GBG 2010). The beer is always well kept here and it’s nice to see a Mild on the bar which is rare in this area. I asked the barmaid who brewed the house bitter and she said it was Theakston!

This is a great traditional pub which has a bit of character and good beer, and with its climbing plants and country inn styling it looks like it has been plucked from the country side and deposited in the centre of Walsall! Always worth a visit if in town, one of my top five pubs in Walsall.

On 30th August 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 199 recommendations about 199 pubs]

Page: 1 2