User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pubco. mergers. with hondo on the Pub Forum

Chequers, Walthamstow, E17

145 High Street
E17
E17 7BX
Phone: 02085036401

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Chequers

This pub is well described by previous reviewers. It's much bigger than it appears from the High St, with a couple of rooms in addition to what I would call the main bar area. It was quite busy when we visited at around 6.0 PM on a Wednesday evening, with the only place where we could find a seat accommodating five was the add-on room at the back. It's good to see an excellent pub like this doing the sort of trade that it deserves.

I'm afraid I failed to note all the beers on, but there were several real ales available. I do recall that the Sambrook's pairing of Junction and Powerhouse Porter were both available.

This is a cracking pub that actually feels like a real pub. This is another Walthamstow pub worth including on any crawl of the area.

On 30th October 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2529 recommendations about 2447 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Chequers

Another well deserved eight this one and well worth seeking out. This large traditional pub was very welcoming and friendly and also had some very well kept ales. My choice of ELB Pale Ale was very appealing and a second pint was justified.

On 17th February 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2866 recommendations about 2865 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Chequers

A substantial Victorian street corner local surrounded by chain retail outlets,this place retain a boozer atmosphere. The U shaped bar is directly infront of the entrance ,while to the left there is a lower level seating area with all tables laid with small candles,the back room beyond only has high windows for natural sunlight.To the right of the bar there is to the front a raised area while a table football machine sits near the servery.The friendly barman described the interior as shabby chic which is an apt description.
There are 8 handpumps serving on my trip ELB Pale Ale,Truman's Blindside,SN Spitfire,Southwark Rukin' Red (very decent)and Whitsable Pale Ale(good) plus a real cider.With a track from Black Sabbath and top quality banter from a local punter this proved a very good stop on a real ale crawl of the area and possibly this pub deserves consideration for the GBG.I liked it and would certainly return when next in the area.

On 16th February 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2004 recommendations about 2004 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Chequers

The Chequers is situated on Walthamstows market street so is very handy if shopping around here.
Once inside there is an L shaped room which is bare boarded,there is a raised area to the front right with bench seating on the left side which is down a few steps,the rest of the seating is normal tables and chairs.
There was a very good choice of real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Wild card Jack of Clubs which went down very well,the other beers that i noted were Greene King St Edmunds,Trumans Runner,ELB Springflower and Brecon Time Beacon.
The pub was packed on my late Saturday afternoon visit.
This is a really nice market pub to have a few in.

Pub visited 21/3/2015

On 21st March 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Chequers

Situated on a section of pedestrianised street which seemingly doubles up as a market space, this is a nicely revamped pub offering good food and drink in a part of town seemingly lacking credible alternatives. You enter into a bare boarded main room, past a small, candlelit snug on the left which has nice frosted ‘Chequers’ windows. To the right is a raised seating area with benches and standard chairs, a few pillars which break up the space, antlers on the walls and heavy drapes in the front windows. A row of wooden panels partition this area from the lower, bar level which sees a couple of small tables sat in front of a U shaped servery with a modernised bar back painted in a neutral colour scheme. To the right of the bar, there is a fairly empty area with table football and an old front door hung on the end wall. A set of functioning doors lead out to the side patio area which looked quite pleasant with fairy lights, a large mural and a corrugated iron roof. The left side of the pub has two lower level areas, both rather drab unfortunately. Large windows help illuminate the standard seating options and minimal décor. The rear section had some Chinese lanterns hung from above and a few old pictures on the walls, making it the nicer of the two halves. A counter near the bar had been piled up with board games and I also noted that dog treats were available too. Loud music played throughout my stay, but it was late on a Friday evening and may not always be the norm.
I doubt the beer selection was the norm either, as I appear to have visited during some sort of Cornish themed festival as the hand pumps were dispensing a range of beers from the Tintagel brewery (Castle Gold, Harbour Special, Arthur’s Ale and Cornwall’s Pride), plus two Cornish Orchards ciders. Copper Dragon Golden Pippen looked very much out of place on the remaining pump. I gave the Castle Gold a try and thought it was in great shape, slipping down nicely as the last pint of the day. Keg options included Belhaven Black and Symonds Cider, whilst Whitstable Kentish lager was being heavily promoted around the bar.
High Street pubs are normally the sort of places you’d happily give a wide berth to, but this place has been given a good amount of care and attention, making it one of the area’s more welcoming and appealing pub options. I enjoyed a brief visit here and would happily return when next in town.

On 15th September 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2323 recommendations about 2323 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Adie Nunn left this review about Chequers

Employee here. I'm trying to make some changes to this page but can't register for the forum because I don't understand the question I'm supposed to answer...

The pub's new links are:
www.chequerse17.com
www.twitter.com/chequerse17
www.facebook.com/chequerse17

Tel: 020 8503 6401 / Email: info@chequerse17.com

And I can assure you there's far more on sale than Pride etc mentioned below. Maybe take a look inside before leaving a 'review' like that.

On 24th July 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Chequers

Update 23/07/2013

Under the new ownership it doesn't open until 17:00 on weekdays, so already there is a step backwards for this place.



Update 20/07/2013

The pub is back open under the new owners.
Antic are taking legal action to get the pub back, but I get the impression there is not much chance of success.

It's been taken over by the people that own these places :-

The Shacklewell Arms E8
The Pub On The Park E8
The Three Crowns N16
The Lock Tavern NW1

Judging by the beer selection reviewers have found at these four pubs, the new owner's choice of beers to stock is poor compared to what I've seen in the three Antic pubs I've been to.


Update 19/07/2013
The word on the street is that Antic were trying to get the Freehold of this place and they have been gazumped.

This is a real shame as Antic have clearly spent a lot of money making the bar and kitchen workable. If the new owners think that they can get away with selling Doombar, Pride, Bombardier and Deuchar's IPA at the current prices then they can forget it!

On 23rd July 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2131 recommendations about 2126 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Wumpus . left this review about Chequers

The pub is open and well worth visiting, the outside is still fairly daunting but don't let that put you off. Inside is a range of real beers (plus the fizzy stuff) and friendly staff, the decor is junk shop chic (and I mean that in a good way). Spent a few hours in there on Saturday night and the place was lively with a mixed crowd. To sum up - good beer, good staff, no football or chavs - just what the area needs.

On 11th March 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2 recommendations about 2 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Chequers

The staff in here seemed nice enough, but the other clientele left a lot to be desired. There is a projector screen around the side of the bar and also a couple of plasma screens precariously hanging above the barmaids heads behind the bar and these were both showing Sky News with the sound on which I find extremely repetitive and distracting. There are a couple of pool tables in a room at the back of the pub and there is a gated off alley to the side with a few tables for al fresco drinking. I visited on a nice sunny afternoon whilst the madness of the market outside ensued, but all of the slated blinds were closed making the pub quite dark and depressing.

There is a standard selection of draught available and I also spotted some food menus dotted around for some reasonably priced grub, although I did not try any or see anyone else eating.

This pub is very disjointed and I wouldn't go out of my way to drink here again.

On 8th July 2009 - rating: 4
[User has posted 3527 recommendations about 3506 pubs]