User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Date for Summer 2022 crawl in Winchester. with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

Kelham Island Tavern, Kelham Island, Sheffield

62 Russell Street
Sheffield
S3 8RW
Phone: 01142722482

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2 3

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 9 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Brainy Pool left this review about Kelham Island Tavern

Another busy bustling traditional pub with a wide range of real ales, every table was gone on this Thursday evening visit. Very popular with large groups of students.

On 13th May 2022 - rating: 9
[User has posted 898 recommendations about 871 pubs]


Moby Duck left this review about Kelham Island Tavern

A great looking traditional pub slowly being surrounded by various new build constructions. The delights of the pub have been more than aptly described before me, I guess not a lot changes inside the pub except of course the beers, I counted 13 handpumps of which 11 were in operation, I opted for a pleasant Marble Pint. The pub was suprisingly quiet on a Friday afternoon, just three or four others in but some pubs seem to create their own atmoshphere without masses of punters, this is one of them.

On 18th September 2021 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1559 recommendations about 1540 pubs]


Will Larter left this review about Kelham Island Tavern

After a recent closure because of a staff member getting Covid-19 despite being fully vaccinated, and all the others being close contacts, the Kelham Island Tavern has reopened with a range of 10 beers on the 12 available hand pumps - I don't know if this was due to two beers running off at the weekend. Two Blue Bee brews, plus regulars like Stancill Barnsley Bitter and Pictish Brewers Gold plus a number of guests. The two beers I tried were in superb condition, and my initial half of Blue Bee American Five Hop Pale 4.3% was so good that I stayed for another two pints. The most bitter finish of any beer I can recall in recent years, but perfectly balanced with the malty background and the slightly fruity nose. It was a quiet Monday night, but I can't remember the last time I enjoyed myself so much in a pub.

On 23rd August 2021 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3049 recommendations about 2869 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Kelham Island Tavern

On a not quite as sunny late Saturday lunchtime I have to say there were many drinkers packing out the KIT. Standing room only in the front bar, all the seats taken in the back room and I managed to bag one of the remaining tables in the outside area before two groups of lads (for whom the term upmarket could not be applied), who I’d been shadowing around Kelham Island and fortunately beaten to this one came in and filled the rest of the outside space.
Twelve ales on covering Brown Bitters (somebody must drink the Barnsley Bitter in these parts then), Blondes, APA’s, IPA’s a Stout and a Porter with prices ranging from £2.70 a pint for a 4% Blonde to £3.50 for a 5% IPA. No Cloudwater John Green’s Bouffant in sight on the chalk board or on the pumps for me, but granted yes I did pay £1.95 for my first half, but then that was for a North Riding Honey Stout at 6%. The beer was fine, but the honey undertones in this stout didn’t really work for me so I went back for what I probably should have gone for in the first place, the 4.4% Acorn Old Moor Porter at £1.60 a half, which was to my taste.
I found this to be a superb drinkers pub and didn’t get any feeling of it being upmarket, but then I was still quite sober at this point during the day.

On 18th July 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1816 recommendations about 1754 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Kelham Island Tavern

Formerly the Old Hart, this is said by some to be one of the country’s most famous pubs…hmmm. Nevertheless, this is a very attractive pub in Kelham Island, a former industrial area, undergoing a great deal of redevelopment. Indeed, it seems that the pub came perilously close to being lost.
Just a stone’s throw from the Fat Cat, this traditional hostelry has a lovely floral arrangement above the ground floor windows. It has garnered many CAMRA - or similar - awards and the pub’s website proudly announces that it has a 5-star food hygiene rating, just for good measure. There’s what appears to be a dining room to the rear, which was completely empty. The pub also has a cat, unlike the neighbouring Fat Cat.
However, on my sunny Friday visit at around 8.00pm, there weren’t that many drinkers in here, who, in the main, seemed to be quite an upmarket bunch – I got the impression that the pub is designed to appeal to a more well-heeled customer base and this would appear to be reflected in the prices, with my half of Cloudwater’s John Green’s Bouffant coming in at an extremely steep £1.95 a half, by far my most expensive drink of our city crawl, but I suppose this is what you pay when drinking in quite an upmarket pub.
This is a very lovely hostelry with an almost village pub feel to it, catering for both the ale enthusiast and traditionalist alike. The short and very pleasant 30-minute stroll here from the railway station makes for an absolute must-visit if in town, especially when paired with the Fat Cat which seems to just trump this pub for atmosphere - more realistic prices would have gained an extra mark.

On 16th July 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1515 recommendations about 1495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Kelham Island Tavern

Another bar not to be missed when out looking for good real ales. Very busy yesterday and the bar area was packed, as was the rear room where some players were performing. We chose beers from Hopjacker an North Riding breweries from the excellent selection and took them out into the garden. Enjoyed both beers especially the brilliant Mocha Porter from North Riding along with a couple of filled rolls from the bar.

On 31st March 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1324 recommendations about 1207 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Kelham Island Tavern

George Orwell described the Moon under Water as his ideal pub, listing various desirable qualities. Having read his list of requirements I can assure you that he had never been to the Kelham Island Tavern, otherwise he would not have been so conservative. This has to be as close to the perfect pub I am yet to find.
The L-shaped front room has the bar, just the 14 handpumps, I won't list them all as I'm sure they rotate rapidly but suffice to say not a mainstream beer among them, mostly Yorkshire beers from the smaller breweries however. Beers served in lined glasses so allowing for a full pint plus traditional northern head. Deservedly busy on Saturday afternoon we sat in the square shaped rear room which has a rooflight with various bits and bobs on a shelf below, pot ducks, a pharoah mask and so on. Framed CAMRA awards all over, steins along the bar top, a fireplace with a clock above bookended by porcelain spaniels. Framed photos of trams on a side wall by the bar.
The back room has a garden beyond, features include a framed print of Hieronymus Bosch's Garden of Earthly Delights as well as a wall full of Belgian beer ads.
They do food and beer snacks, the four of us shared a massive 1LB pork pie great value at £3.95. Clingfilm covered rolls on the bar counter containing ham or cheese.
A convivial place too, with like minded patrons, we were straight into conversation with a group of blokes from Wakefield who were out for the day. We crossed paths several times during the day.
The best of six superb pubs we visited on the day and right up there with my best ever list. I have deliberated on this for a couple of days but I think this pub deserves my first ever full marks. This is not a precedent.

On 5th March 2018 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1694 recommendations about 1668 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Kelham Island Tavern

Called in for a pint this afternoon to celebrate this pub becoming my 7,001st photographed for Pubs Galore. A very good pint of Half Moon Dark Masquerade, a 3.6% mild - I forgot to photograph the pump clip, such was the excitement of the moment.

As Aqualung observes below, this place is definitely pleasanter mid-afternoon than it is in the evenings and at weekends. Always a good range of interesting and well kept beers, and if you don't find anything you fancy among the guests, then Bradfield Farmers Blonde and Acorn Barnsley Bitter are ever-present. Living where I do, I'm always spoilt for choice between this, the Fat Cat, the Wellington and the Gardeners Rest.

On 11th August 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3049 recommendations about 2869 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Kelham Island Tavern

A cracking pub. Its a bugger to get to from the train station but its worth it even though I'd already had all the beers that were on today. Descriptions are elsewhere. Its apparently one of the most 'famous pubs in the country' but sadly up until last weekend I'd never heard of it.

On 10th March 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3447 recommendations about 3354 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Kelham Island Tavern

This must be one of the most famous pubs in the UK, an extraordinary fact when you approach the quite unassuming exterior. Inside on a Saturday afternoon it was rammed so I just ordered a beer. The Brown Ale's Matrix Stout (£3.20) was in excellent condition. Like other small award winning pubs it is a victim of its own success. If it's this busy on a Saturday afternoon what must it be like on a Friday night? On the basis that I would almost certainly enjoy it more early doors and the fact they use lined glasses I'll give it a nine but I preferred most of the other pubs visited in the area to this one.

On 17th November 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]

Page: 1 2 3