User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pubs Galore crawls 2020 with Pangolin on the Pub Forum

The Polished Knob, Todmorden Town Centre, Todmorden

31 Burnley Road
Todmorden
OL14 7BU

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Polished Knob

We met the owner on our visit and his dog Stella, the dog being a permanent fixture around the place. The pub owner is a guitarist and his house band is called the Hilldwellers, so hence the well kitted out stage, with in house PA and a multitude of speaker cabs. Six handpumps all in use on our Friday afternoon visit, so we went for the S43 Seraphin, Sonnet Brewery changed the name to S43, which was in good shape. Look out for the collection of polished knobs on the left hand side of the bar.

On 29th July 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2915 recommendations about 2915 pubs]


Rob Hunter left this review about The Polished Knob

From the outside this looks like an unassuming traditional town centre pub, so I got a bit of a surprise on entering to find it had been done up like a psychedelic diner with bright colours and neon lighting. The floor is tiled and you can see the change of pattern which gives a clue as to what the layout of the pub used to be before being opened up.

The bar is in front of you as you enter, with six hand pulls, one of which was off at the time of my visit. All the real ales on offer appeared to be bitters or pale ales, but my Three Valleys EPA was rather enjoyable and apparently locally brewed in Todmorden, so good to see local ales being supported.

To the right there is a raised stage area with a drum kit on which I assume is utilised for live music events. Behind this is a TV screen which was playing a music channel, albeit obscured by the drum kit in front of it. This was piped through to the speakers in the rest of the pub and was at a perfectly acceptable volume for the daytime.

There is a collage of rugby shirts on one wall behind a protective screen - I'm sure they must be of some significance but it was lost on me I'm afraid.

The stairs lead up to a coffee shop, according to a sign in the bar.

Well worth a visit for the ale selection (even if there were no dark beers).

On 12th March 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 442 recommendations about 409 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Polished Knob

Fairly basic pub on the main road, opposite the market place. Inside the floor reveals where there were once separate rooms, now knocked through into one with a small bar in the middle, but all in need of a bit of a spruce up. To the right there is a stage set up with drum kit etc, with live music three nights a week. No darts or pool table but it did have table football. There were six mainly-local draught ales on offer but sadly the one chosen proved to be a bit rough, although not sure is that was the pub or the beer itself.

On 14th December 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2083 recommendations about 2037 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Polished Knob

The Polished Knob is situated in the middle of Todmorden.
This was my second attempt to get a drink in this pub on the same day,when i tried earlier,there was a large queue at the bar waiting to be served and one young bar woman serving,so i walked out,when i revisited it was just the same a queue at the bar and the young woman trying to serve and collect glasses at the same time,luckily for me those in front of me walked out,so i now at the front of the queue.

The pub is fairly nice inside with a single oblong shaped room which runs the width of the pub,the bar faces on entry and the room is bare boarded,there are tall tables and stools in the middle of the room and normal tables and chairs to the left,the right side has some settees,the TVs were showing sky sports.
There was a decent choice of real ales on the bar,i had drink of Bingley Goldy Locks which went down well,the other beers were Slaters Premium,Pennine Hair of the Dog,Sonnet 43 Aurora,Empire Strikes Back and one from Naylors.
I found this to be a decent pub,just a shame that a young woman was left alone to look after the pub on a busy Saturday.

Pub visited 24/9/2016

On 9th November 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Polished Knob

A nice though basically decored pub. 6 cask ales to choose from. Has a collection of rugby shirts dotted around the room but I've no idea who they are. Nor care. A decent little pub.

On 17th September 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3374 recommendations about 3290 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Polished Knob

Not much to add to some thorough reviews,I would only say that the interior decor and furniture is quite basic,but the banter from behind the bar was excellent.There is some interesting mosaic with the letter MBB on the way to the bar,and a coffee shop upstairs unvisited by ourselves.Beer prices were most reasonable with the 6 handpumps delivering ale at between £2 -£2.50.The selection looked to have some traditional regulars (Lees Bitter,Tetley Mild,Thwaites Wainwright) along with rotating guests from mainly local micros.On my list for a revisit given the solid boozer atmosphere and very decent pints.

On 18th July 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2021 recommendations about 2021 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Polished Knob

As others have noted, the focus of the Polished Knob is on music with a stage to the right of the large open plan area and seating to the left.
On our Monday evening visit two large screens were showing world cup footy but that didn't stop the band's practise night. The jovial guvnor, who was also the band's singer, explained that he designates Monday as practise night as there are fewer people in to upset. Despite a late night gig the night before though they didn't sound bad.
Two or three polished knobs on a shelf behind the bar raised a chuckle and the beer selection was ok without being spectacular. Green Mill Stellar, Thwaites Wainwright, Lees Bitter, Tetleys Mild, Naylors Bitter with Bite (complete with a picture of Luis Suarez's teeth on the pumpclip) and Hart of Preston Dishy Debbie were available on our visit. The Green Mill Stellar was a well kept session ale, more than good enough to stay on for the evening so I did.
I liked it here and will nip in again if in Sowerby Bridge.

On 18th July 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Polished Knob

Nicely refurbished pub, an open room with 2 distinct areas, with band space on one side. Nice tiles floor to the bar. Rugby shirts on the walls and soft rock background music.

6 real ales of excellent quality.

Good set up and a very cared for pub

On 2nd April 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Polished Knob

Called in on the 1st of March a good few in its a music pub and looks as if it get busy with the bands but that's not my thing will call back the lad behind the bar was frendly and chated with every one

On 2nd March 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Polished Knob

This pub is currently the main live music venue in Todmorden, with live bands every Friday & Saturday. At any other time it's just a decent boozer with 6 well kept cask ales. As you enter there's an area set up with dining tables to the left and a small stage to the right which had a bands gear on it as it was Friday evening. At the rear there's a heated drinking yard with benches & umbrellas. The window from the bar opens into this area and is used as a serving hatch. When I called in last Friday there were more people sat outside than in the pub! I tried a pint of Slightly Foxed Fox Glove which was in good nick. It's definitely one of the better pubs in Tod.

On 3rd November 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2759 recommendations about 2686 pubs]

Page: 1 2