User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Bottled Beer Bargain Alert with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

The George (JD Wetherspoon), Wanstead, E11

159 High Street
Wanstead
E11
E11 2RL
Phone: 02089892921

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 5 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The George (JD Wetherspoon)

Visit 06/02/2014

I returned here today for the mini London Beer Festival and found all four beers tried to be in superb condition. The old manager seems to be back but it wasn't as busy as I remembered and there were fewer staff on a Friday afternoon.
I'll be back for the Spring Festival. Rating increased to 7 and hoping it will increase again next time.

Visit October 2014

I came here again after a disappointing recent visit when the staffing levels were woefully inadequate and the beer quality seemed to have plummeted.
It was the first day of the Autumn festival and I tried four festival beers all of which had a haze and none of which tasted brilliant. It's too much of a coincidence that they were all served too soon so I can only put it down to the lines urgently requiring a proper clean. The staffing levels seemed a lot lower than in the past so things like empty glasses and plates being collected were not getting done.
As does happen with Spoons there seems to be a new manager in place and the place has gone to the dogs.
Another gripe is that the festival ales were 41p a pint dearer (£2.40) than my local Spoons. I could have lived with that if they had been in anything like good nick. Score reduced from 9 to 5.

Visit April 2013

After making several visits here over the last three months this is now firmly my favourite local Spoons. I have only made daytime visits so can't comment on what it's like of an evening especially at weekends. The beer quality has been top notch and the staff about as good as it gets in a Spoons.

My rating is upped to a 9.

On 6th February 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The George (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a huge pub probably dating from the late 19th century and is unusual for a 'spoons in that it isn't a conversion; the only other one I know of is the Gatehouse, N6.

My first close impression of the place was a chav peeing against the entrance door. Little remains of the original interior, though some of the walls are lined with books. As for booze, it's s 'spoons joint so you know what to expect. It also has a late licence until 12.30, at least on Saturdays.

Many of the punters however looked drawn from the ranks of Britain's "disaffected feral youth" and I couldn't help thinking that if I inadvertantly showed "disrespect", I'd be looking down the barrel of a modified Brocock. I didn't feel safe here and would rather be teetotal than return.

On 23rd April 2012 - rating: 1
[User has posted 953 recommendations about 939 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The George (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a typical barn of a Wetherspoon’s pub, housed in a massive Edwardian architectural gem of a building. There was little or nothing inside of the magnificent furnishings that would have been present, but there are some etched glass windows remaining as well as some external ironwork that identify the original Saloon Bar entrance on the corner, and the hotel entrance from when this was the George Hotel. But this is a Wetherspoon’s and it does what it says on the tin – provide good quality and cheap (festival ales are £2.05) beer, and cheap food. They also had London Pride on at £2.60 a pint, and I wonder how many buy this commonly seen ale when faced with an array of rarely seen ales at 55p a pint cheaper.
There are the usual old prints and the like on the walls, and I spotted a rather strange looking diabolical wooden throne in the middle of the room. Rather odd, but interesting I suppose. A typical ‘spoons, but nonetheless a welcome bolthole for me on a wet day.

On 1st April 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The George (JD Wetherspoon)

Unusually for a Wetherspoons, the George was an existing pub before JDW took it over and the result is a far more interesting and characteristic building than the usual converted carpet warehouse or car showroom that are the usual sources of their outlets. The exterior boasts some wonderful etched windows with just a few panels sadly missing and replaced with plain glass. Above the doorways the old bar names are spelt out in wrought ironwork although the interior is no longer divided into specific bars. Despite being quite sizeable, there are plenty of booths and quiet corners. The slightly raised front section has large bookcases and be sure not to miss the large, if rather impractical, dragon throne in the centre of the pub. Another large dragon feature casts its eye over the bar area. On the ale front there are usually around 5 or 6 guests supplementing the usual ‘Spoons range and the staff have always been attentive and efficient on my quite regular visits. Some of the customer base can be a bit basic on the language front but I have generally found the place quite friendly. Upstairs is a smaller less equipped bar with further seating and a small atrium if you wish to get a bird’s eye view of the main bar. At the rear is an attractive patio and the large car park beyond also belongs to the pub although you will need to pay to park but this is then deducted from your bill at the bar providing you sepnd more than a fiver. Sometimes it’s hard to spend a fiver at a Wetherspoons but if you have to do it anywhere, the George seems to be a decent enough place to try.

On 1st March 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The George

Large Wetherspoon's on two levels selling a fair range of guest ales.Opposite Wanstead Tube station.

On 27th October 2007 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2043 recommendations about 2024 pubs]