User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 7th August 2022) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

The Victoria, York

1 Heslington Road
York
YO10 5AR
Phone: 01904622295

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Old Boots left this review about The Victoria

Classic corner pub exterior, inside is a bit of a bricky grotto, there are brick fireplaces, random brick arches and pillars. Where it’s not brick it’s pine; counter, chairs and tables, stools all from the world of pine, there is some banquette seating to be fair. Carpet and board floors complementing the traditional red and cream colour scheme. Recreational pool table and music are available I could see only one screen but a couple of machines and an hard to use dart board. Decor wise there’s brassy and pottery jugs and vases among quite a lot of old lights with nice prints and maps, and a few bits and bobs on the window cills. It’s an Old Mill pub, with just their Bitter and Blonde across the six pulls, nothing unrecognisable among the keg choice. A bit quirky and ok for one if you’re in the area.

On 15th April 2022 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2639 recommendations about 2404 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about The Victoria

Like most have said an Old Mill brewery pub (the only one in york) dispensing their beers and not many guests. I had a pint of their old mill brewery Bitter which was nicely kept but nothing special as beers go.
The pub is neat and tidy inside but lacking in a bit of character and atmosphere, partly due to it never being that busy. i would return again to sample some different beers but a special visit to this pub is probably not worth it.

On 15th December 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 455 recommendations about 455 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Victoria

Middle of the road sort of pub,neat and tidy inside,very quiet on a Friday afternoon, 6 handpumps, 4 with Old Mill beers on ,1 with Old Rosie Cider and one unclipped, I tried the Old Mill Blonde Bombshell which was perfectly decent, the pub was OK as was the beer, but nothing particularly remarkable about it, I wouldn't go out of my way to return,

On 29th March 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1582 recommendations about 1563 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Victoria

We also met the chatty barman and enjoyed the Old Mill beers. The Blond Bombshell was a good session ale at 4% and found it had bags of flavour. The Victoria Bitter was also in top form. This is a well run pub and is well worth a visit.

On 13th August 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3114 recommendations about 3114 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Victoria

Called in here Saturday for the Old Mill beers, and friendly barman chatted about the beers and he does keep them in good condition. Had the Old Mill Traditional Bitter. He said there was a new one out called March Mist and it would be on next day, so we went back Sunday and enjoyed the March Mist 4% along with his Sunday carvery. It was a pleasant beer, a little darker than the bitter.

On 5th March 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1324 recommendations about 1207 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Victoria

First time visit to this Old Mill Brewery pub. Very clean tidy pub with a good choice of theor ales on. Had the Blonde Bombshell and Brigantia's Promise, both in good condition. Pub details as described below. Lovely pub that will be on my agenda to visit again when next in York.

On 18th March 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1324 recommendations about 1207 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Victoria

A cream rendered Victorian corner pub, tied to the Old Mill Brewery (founded 1983) with mustard coloured window shutters. It was awarded the CAMRA city pub of the year, 2010. Also does B&B. There is a patio area.

The interior is a large L-shape bending around the serving bar that faces you on entry. The décor is a mix of white, red and wood panel, with a cream and white ceiling. There are three brick and stone fireplaces dotted about, as well as general pictures, lots of plates, books (indeed there is a little library) and other ephemera. There was no TV that I saw and no background music at my visit, though there were free newspapers to door to peruse during your stay. The service was really friendly. There was no other clientele when I visited. The place had a nice clean feel to it.

Beer; tap stuff with Old Mill Porter, Bullion, Nellie Dean and Traditional Bitter on handpull. I had a half of each, so as not to be rude – all were fine.

I really liked this place and could sit here passing a Sunday afternoon, with the paper and a choice of ales, quite happily. I will visit here the next time I am in York. It is worthy of its award.

On 19th November 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3067 recommendations about 3062 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Victoria

The Victoria is a smallish corner pub that used to be a Stones house it is now an Old Mill tied house and i had a drink of Old Mill bitter which is a very nice drink.
The pub looks nice and well kept from the outside and is a decent place to have a few drinks in.

On 26th August 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


James Joines left this review about The Victoria

Now an Old Mill Brewery House with there own Real Ales.
Food offering.
Accomodation available.
Part of LocAle.

On 5th May 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 841 recommendations about 835 pubs]