User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
My reasons for removing a photo that I posted. with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

The Wheatsheaf, Manchester

30 Oak Street
Manchester
M4 5JE

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Local Pub (Marstons)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Wheatsheaf

I've visited the vast majority of the Manchester Good Beer Guide Entries - so finding an on line guide of must visit pubs, I vowed to tick off a few previously unheard of ones.

This was not what I was expecting but wildly entertaining, all the same. The clientele at 6pm on a Friday, was a split between workmen still in their working clothes and old age pensioners. Not unexpected for a Marstons Pub.

What was unexpected was the entertainment. A full on female impersonator behind a pair of decks, just about to get the party started.

If I hadn't got so much work to do, I would have stayed for the caberet!

On 30th May 2022 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1355 recommendations about 1340 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Wheatsheaf

Very much a locals alehouse and hidden away up in the Northern part of Manc City. 4 handpumps all serving national stuff. A bar area to your left and a lounge to your right. A pool table is in between both rooms. Jim Reeves on the jukie on this visit. Which was then ruined by pink Floyd nonsense.

On 17th December 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3487 recommendations about 3390 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Wheatsheaf

Call in often always nice and clean Marstons tied house and a good range of hand pulled beers

On 20th February 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Wheatsheaf

The Wheatsheaf is a back street pub with an L shaped bar to the left and an area with little seating, but a piano, dartboard and pool table to the right. There is also a cash machine and jukebox that was playing some background music to the handful of people present during my recent Thursday afternoon visit.
Staropramen is available alongside a standard draught range and two of the hand pumps were unused leaving Jennings Cocky Blonde and Pedigree as the ale options. There are also drink deals like £1 extra for a double on popular spirits.
As I was leaving I noted that there is a Motown and Northern Soul disco here every other Saturday night.

This isn’t a pub that I would go out of my way to visit again, but I’d have no problem popping back in if passing.

On 20th August 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5302 recommendations about 5270 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Wheatsheaf

A locals pub in the heart of the Northern Quarter. It's one room with a couple of distinct areas with a pool table to the right as you enter. It's quite nicely furnished with comfy settles around the walls. It's a Marston's house and there were 4 handpumps on the bar but only Pedigree and Jennings Redbreast available. The Redbreast was a decent pint. It's a pleasant enough place to call in for one when in the area.

On 22nd January 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3225 recommendations about 3136 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Wheatsheaf

A bit larger than many backstreet pubs, this Marstons house has been opened out to create a 'L'-shaped main bar with a pool table beyond and an upright piano in a side room. The decor and furniture are traditional, and the atmosphere was welcoming. Four handpumps, offering Pedigree plus the seasonals Sweet Chariot (£2.90, but a bit cloudy), Ringwood Old Scrumper and Wychwood Bountiful. Hopefully I was just unlucky with my pint, so I plan to try again as this otherwise seems a reasonable place to stop for a quick one.

On 17th September 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 8159 recommendations about 8159 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Wheatsheaf

Came across the Wheatsheaf whilst strolling around the Northern Quarter and have to say I thought it was quite decent. It’s a traditional pub hidden away in the backstreets of the Northern Quarter, located at the junction of Oak St and the pedestrian section of Whittle St just round the corner from the newish Arts gallery.
I guess formerly a couple of rooms but now one joined space around the central L shaped bar, with comfortable seating at one end and a pool table at the other. Traditional decor with some nice tiling but the red walls make it a bit dark.
Apparently only recently had the addition of real ale and there is now a couple of handpumps dispensing beers from the Marstons stable and these were Pedigree and Jennings Sneck lifter at the time of my visit and the Jennings was a well kept pint.
Very much a locals pub, and although I wouldn’t recommend to go out of your way to find it, (unlike the nearby Fringe bar), it’s solid enough if you want to catch a quick pint whilst the wife looks at all the small art shops in the nearby gallery.

On 5th February 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2147 recommendations about 2019 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ann stansfield left this review about The Wheatsheaf

fantasic community local recently taken over and re decorated had a really good mothers day and st patricks day looking forward to st georges day .

On 18th March 2010 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]