User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Halifax Crawl - 21 June 2024 with Real Ale Ray on the Pub Forum

Piccadilly Tavern, Manchester

71-75 Piccadilly
Manchester
M1 2BS
Phone: 01612369622

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Oak Tree (Mitchells & Butlers)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Strongers . left this review about Piccadilly Tavern

Adjacent to the entrance of the Piccadilly Tavern is a long bar that runs up the left wall. During a recent midweek visit I counted ten handpumps, but only two of them were in operation. Standard and premium keg was also available. This place has the feel of a crap Wetherspoons from the 90s, except that televisions are located throughout. There was a Champions League game in progress so the pub was reasonably busy. I decided to have a burger, that was freezing cold and cost £8.00. The service was friendly, but I can’t see myself rushing back here again.

On 3rd April 2022 - rating: 3
[User has posted 5329 recommendations about 5297 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about Piccadilly Tavern

Was meeting someone in town yesterday and it was pissing down with rain, first ducked into the Wetherspoons but it was predictably rammed so made the short walk up here to find it also very busy at Saturday lunch time but bearable. I was pleasantly surprised to discover 10 hand pulls at the bar and while some of these were nationals there were a few unusual ones too. My Moonstone IPA by Hadley Brewing Co was fine, though I have no idea how much it cost me as I wasn't told and the chap serving just stuck his hand out for my money.

Would probably be best appreciated when it's not quite so busy but it's one I would be happy to go back to.

On 17th March 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 761 recommendations about 606 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Piccadilly Tavern

Occupies the ground frontage of a building dominated by Romanesque arches. As eluded to by the great Aqualung and other esteemed reviewers, this really did feel like I was walking into another Spoons. Large, open plan, on a couple of levels, foody and generic decor although a few nice old photos were on the walls. TVs had the aftermath of the World Cup final and music was a decent level. Spoons type clientele and service was functional. I only saw 4 real ales: Pedigree, GK IPA, Abbot and a visit saving Titanic Plum Porter - which was decent enough. Generic place, but I would give it another go.

On 19th July 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3067 recommendations about 3062 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Piccadilly

This had scaffolding on the outside when I visited and at first until I looked at my map I thought it was a Spoons!
Inside it's a single room with a raised area at the back and the bar on the left. It is rather like a Spoons but the furnishings are a bit better than most.
The bar has ten hand pumps where one was unused and one had a cider then there was Hop Back Summer Lightning, Backyard Dandelion & Burdock Porter, Moorhouse Pendle Witches Brew doubled up, Pedigree, Purity UBU, Black Sheep Bitter and Bombardier. I went for the Backyard Porter (£2.90) which was excellent. This place was a lot better than I expected and turned out to be the best of the pubs visited in Manchester on the day. It is rightly GBG 2015 listed.

On 22nd June 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Piccadilly

Very busy you could think it was a spoon,s but that,s next door but this is a bit better will call back IT used to be the Goose on Piccadilly. But think M and B have tried to make it look like there next door spoons god knows why

On 4th October 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Piccadilly

Called in on Saturday for a last one before heading home. Packed again with rugby fans from the festival of rugby league at the Etihad. The beer selection is getting better in here and I had a good pint of Skinners Cornish Trawler. Keep the improvement going please guys.

04/05/2010
This place was absolutely packed at 6:30 on Friday evening, no idea why as it's not very good. It used to be the Goose On Piccadilly and as Clive mentions below it's still very much a Wetherspoonalike. No outstanding features just a big barn. Three handpumps on the bar serving Bombardier and something so unremarkable I can't remember what it was, plus Holden's Mind Blower. Needless to say I had a Holdens', it wasn't bad either, a bit cold but not bad. I still don't like the place though.

On 30th May 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3232 recommendations about 3143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Piccadilly

M&B 'Town' pub, targeting the Wetherspoons market with similar cheap food and drink offers. The internal layout also has similar furniture and decor, and the atmosphere is distinctly transient. One difference - only three handpumps, offering John Smiths Cask, Cains Dragon Heart and Red Castle Cream from Newmans Brewery (a very good pint for £2.65).

On 16th January 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 8164 recommendations about 8164 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about The Piccadilly

Uncannily similar to the Wetherspoons a bit further up Piccadilly, so a pretty poor experience.

On 28th March 2010 - rating: 4
[User has posted 777 recommendations about 697 pubs]