User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 17th November 2019) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

Piccadilly Tavern, Manchester Central, Manchester

71-75 Piccadilly
Manchester
M1 2BS
Phone: 01612369622

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Oak Tree (Mitchells & Butlers)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Rob Hunter left this review about Piccadilly Tavern

Was meeting someone in town yesterday and it was pissing down with rain, first ducked into the Wetherspoons but it was predictably rammed so made the short walk up here to find it also very busy at Saturday lunch time but bearable. I was pleasantly surprised to discover 10 hand pulls at the bar and while some of these were nationals there were a few unusual ones too. My Moonstone IPA by Hadley Brewing Co was fine, though I have no idea how much it cost me as I wasn't told and the chap serving just stuck his hand out for my money.

Would probably be best appreciated when it's not quite so busy but it's one I would be happy to go back to.

On 17th March 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 436 recommendations about 403 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Piccadilly Tavern

Occupies the ground frontage of a building dominated by Romanesque arches. As eluded to by the great Aqualung and other esteemed reviewers, this really did feel like I was walking into another Spoons. Large, open plan, on a couple of levels, foody and generic decor although a few nice old photos were on the walls. TVs had the aftermath of the World Cup final and music was a decent level. Spoons type clientele and service was functional. I only saw 4 real ales: Pedigree, GK IPA, Abbot and a visit saving Titanic Plum Porter - which was decent enough. Generic place, but I would give it another go.

On 19th July 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Piccadilly

This had scaffolding on the outside when I visited and at first until I looked at my map I thought it was a Spoons!
Inside it's a single room with a raised area at the back and the bar on the left. It is rather like a Spoons but the furnishings are a bit better than most.
The bar has ten hand pumps where one was unused and one had a cider then there was Hop Back Summer Lightning, Backyard Dandelion & Burdock Porter, Moorhouse Pendle Witches Brew doubled up, Pedigree, Purity UBU, Black Sheep Bitter and Bombardier. I went for the Backyard Porter (£2.90) which was excellent. This place was a lot better than I expected and turned out to be the best of the pubs visited in Manchester on the day. It is rightly GBG 2015 listed.

On 22nd June 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2144 recommendations about 2139 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Piccadilly

Very busy you could think it was a spoon,s but that,s next door but this is a bit better will call back IT used to be the Goose on Piccadilly. But think M and B have tried to make it look like there next door spoons god knows why

On 4th October 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Piccadilly

Called in on Saturday for a last one before heading home. Packed again with rugby fans from the festival of rugby league at the Etihad. The beer selection is getting better in here and I had a good pint of Skinners Cornish Trawler. Keep the improvement going please guys.

04/05/2010
This place was absolutely packed at 6:30 on Friday evening, no idea why as it's not very good. It used to be the Goose On Piccadilly and as Clive mentions below it's still very much a Wetherspoonalike. No outstanding features just a big barn. Three handpumps on the bar serving Bombardier and something so unremarkable I can't remember what it was, plus Holden's Mind Blower. Needless to say I had a Holdens', it wasn't bad either, a bit cold but not bad. I still don't like the place though.

On 30th May 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2748 recommendations about 2676 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Piccadilly

M&B 'Town' pub, targeting the Wetherspoons market with similar cheap food and drink offers. The internal layout also has similar furniture and decor, and the atmosphere is distinctly transient. One difference - only three handpumps, offering John Smiths Cask, Cains Dragon Heart and Red Castle Cream from Newmans Brewery (a very good pint for £2.65).

On 16th January 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 5808 recommendations about 5808 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about The Piccadilly

Uncannily similar to the Wetherspoons a bit further up Piccadilly, so a pretty poor experience.

On 28th March 2010 - rating: 4
[User has posted 737 recommendations about 676 pubs]