User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Bottled Beer Bargain Alert with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Paramount (JD Wetherspoon), Manchester

33 Oxford Street
Manchester
M1 4BH
Phone: 01612331820

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Old Boots left this review about The Paramount (JD Wetherspoon)

Smaller spoons in a modern building over two floors, the upper being a mezzanine. The counter is down one side near the front with two banks of five pulls but no usual suspects, except the kegs, and fair selection across the casks, high end prices and average beer quality. Usual mix of high and low tables, you can hardly get a fag paper between the low ones at the back never mind a hefty Mancunian lass. The staff actually seemed on the ball on my lunchtime visit, however destined to be one visit of one I fear in spite of its odd GBG 2020 entry.

On 13th March 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Ian Mapp left this review about The Paramount (JD Wetherspoon)

Barn sized Wetherspoons where everything is exactly to JDW standards.

Busy. Plenty of beer choice. Cheap. Filthy tables.

On 16th December 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 691 recommendations about 685 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about The Paramount (JD Wetherspoon)

not the nicest Spoons but perfectly functional. fairly standard of the chain inside - open plan and on 2 levels - though maybe a touch classier. Decent choice on the 10 handpumps this morning. this area of town isn't the best for pubs so it's probably worth a visit at some point.

On 21st November 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 772 recommendations about 753 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Paramount (JD Wetherspoon)

Visited on a Saturday evening a couple of weeks ago. A lot busier than I remember it being in the past; there was nowhere to sit at all. Large open plan with an upstairs mezzanine area, which appeared to be used for a private party at the time of my visit. Decent selection of real ale. The two banks of hand pumps are at opposite ends of the bar, but a blackboard complements each bank of pumps letting you know what is available on the other bank. Very useful. Had an 1872 Porter in here by Elland Brewery, and noted that at 6.5% it was no more expensive than the other more moderate strength offerings. It was rather pleasant too!

On 16th March 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 540 recommendations about 481 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Paramount (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a Spoons in a horrible modern building that was packed on a Friday evening. To make matters worse there was a drop down screen showing Wimblebore. As time was short I ignored the beer and went for the Pear Mania (£3.19) the strongest of the festival ciders.
I wouldn't return here.

On 24th July 2017 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Paramount (JD Wetherspoon)

Reasonable corner 'spoons in a modern building, with a large seating area around the bar area and more tables up on a mezzanine. Lots of slot machines and quite a few (silent) sports TVs, but also a number of historical information panels. Efficient bar staff. Fair selection from two banks of five handpumps, including the Hawkshead Dry Stone Stout (£2.90).

On 14th January 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Paramount (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a modern build JDW on a corner location with the name intended to celebrate the theatre and picture house legacy of this part of town. Apparently the Paramount was the original name of the adjoining Odeon. The large curved glazed frontage lets in welcome natural light which can be at a premium in Manchester. Write ups of the local defunct theatres on the walls, as well as Manchester famous names. There is a typical spoons gallery above the rear area but it was rather gloomy up there on Friday morning.
The pub served a good purpose for the usual Wetherbreakfast which was enjoyed with a livener pint of Moorhouses Blond Witch, breakfasts were flying out especially to throngs of orange clad construction workers. Quite a decent spoons.

On 15th November 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Paramount (JD Wetherspoon)

A pretty decent Wetherspoons. Large open plan with an upstairs seating area. A good selection of cask ales on.

On 18th August 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3389 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Davies left this review about The Paramount (JD Wetherspoon)

One of JDW's better offering, with a wide selection of beer and listed in the 2014 GBG. The clans were gathering for a certain local derby the Sunday morning we called, and it was busy at 11AM but the service was calm and efficient, and the breakfast up to scratch. JDW can do it if they try.

On 29th September 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 524 recommendations about 516 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Paramount (JD Wetherspoon)

I liked this Spoons and I thought it was the best one out the three visited in Manchester today. I did like the layout and the large glass frontage, service was good and staff helpful. I went for Moorhouses Witches Brew - well that would sway my opinion.

On 11th June 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]

Page: 1 2