User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with NickDavies on the Pub Forum

J.J. Moon's (JD Wetherspoon), Tooting, SW17

56a High Street
SW17
SW17 0RN
Phone: 02086724726

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 5 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about J.J. Moon's (JD Wetherspoon)

Quite small for a spoons pub, two sets of five pumps, the furthest bank reserved for the usual suspects, the nearer five a bit more interesting,my Purple Moose Madocks Ale was in decent shape. Not a particularly interesting place but have been in worse.

On 24th June 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1586 recommendations about 1567 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Chris Amies left this review about J.J. Moon's (JD Wetherspoon)

A very small Wetherspoons - it would be small-ish even if it was a non-spoons pub, long and narrow. The usual daytime drinkers in there (I was having a post-run breakfast which was the usual Wetherspoons one, perfectly ok if nothing to get excited about).

On 27th May 2018 - rating: 4
[User has posted 8 recommendations about 8 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about J.J. Moon's (JD Wetherspoon)

Fairly typical Wetherspoon shop conversion in a long narrow building. Seemed to be quite well looked after, however I had the strange experience of being the only customer, admittedly at breakfast time. Pleasant enough though.

On 13th April 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2676 recommendations about 2619 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about J.J. Moon's (JD Wetherspoon)

One of the smallest remaining 'spoons with a relatively small bar and a narrow, elongated seating / dining area. However, the usual dark, semi-traditional furniture and decor does the place no favours at all. Also has the most restricted menu I have seen in any of this company's outlets. Very modest selection of six real ales from the two banks of five handpumps, but my pint of the local Twickenham Autumn Red (£2.49) was thankfully in decent form.

On 5th November 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 7108 recommendations about 7108 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about J. J. Moons (JD Wetherspoon)

Sat on the busy junction opposite Tooting Broadway station, this is a long, narrow shop converted Wetherspoons pub of the type that can be found all over South London. Folding front doors lead into a long carpeted room with the servery running down the right hand side of the front section. Rows of high and standard tables are lined up opposite the bar and the walls have some dark wood panelling and a few old framed pictures hung up. A couple of TV screens are dotted around showing a news channel with the sound left on or Open golf coverage. The room narrows significantly once the bar ends, resulting in a long section stretching to the back of the building. High tables and stools are arranged down the right hand side of this space, with standard tables and chairs to the left. There are lots of shelves and cabinets here displaying books, jugs, tankards and the like with a fireplace midway down and some partitioning screens to break things up a bit. I thought this was quite a nice spot to relax, screened somewhat from the rest of the pub and, whilst unmistakably still a ‘Spoons, a little more pubby that your average shop conversion.
There are ten hand pumps on the bar, three of which were dispensing ‘Spoons regulars, two more set aside for festival ciders, leaving five for guest ales. Three of these were from the Windsor and Eton Brewery, as the pub had hosted them in a ‘Meet the Brewer’ event the night before. I gave their Boatman a try and thought it was a pretty decent brew. The barman serving me was very friendly and keen, advising me to follow the pub on Twitter to ensure I didn’t miss any of their upcoming ‘Meet the Brewer’ events.
As Wetherspoons pubs go, this one doesn’t really stand out much from the crowd, other than for its cramped (cosy?) interior. Having said that, I quite enjoyed settling down for a post-work pint and thought the bar staff made a real effort with their customers which would make me more than happy to return.

On 20th August 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2826 recommendations about 2826 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about J. J. Moons (JD Wetherspoon)

This is an older Spoons (1991) and is a typical shop conversion, long and narrow with wood panelling and the usual sort of Spoons furniture. It is most certainly rather cramped.

There were 10 pumps but five of them were taken up by Ciders (at £2.85) plus the two GK usual suspects. At least there were no uninvited guests, but the three were all below 4% ABV. I went for the Phoenix Navvy (£2.29) which was in good condition.

This is a fairly average Spoons but seemed to be fairly well run. I've no idea why it should be more expensive than some of my local Spoons or even the one in Brixton.

On 17th August 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about J. J. Moons (JD Wetherspoon)

A very long and narrow Wetherspoons, obviously a single shop conversion, possibly then extended at the back. The front area with the bar along one side is very tight indeed, with the crammed in tables impinging on the bar waiting area.
It gets a bit better towards the rear beyond the bar, until you find the "family area". Otherwise, its the usual formula, the side wall opposite the bar is full of mirrors, I assume to give the feel of space, wood panelled, and there are bookshelves, glass cases with malt whisky boxes etc. The usual brand potted biographies include one of snooker player Jimmy White.
The usual suspects plus three guests but one of which was "coming soon"....tick, tock, tick, tock. There is a fireplace towards the back. Unusually they had the rugby on with the sound on too.
Not the best 'spoons in their stable, but it was ok for a quick pint.

On 4th February 2012 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1695 recommendations about 1669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about J. J. Moons (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a narrow, cramped pub that stretches back a fair way. There is nothing to distinguish it from other Wetherspoons pubs, except that it seemed to have a greater number of all day drinkers in than most others of the chain that I have visited. There really is hardly room to move in here. It must have been hell on earth before the smoking ban, and even now it ranks as one of the poorest ‘spoons that I’ve ever been in. I’m unlikely to visit again – although on the plus side the pint of Welton’s Beach Babe Bitter I had was very good.

On 7th June 2011 - rating: 3
[User has posted 2599 recommendations about 2513 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about JJ Moons

Long narrow Wetherspoon's with the usual real ales on.Gets very busy.Opposite Tooting Broadway tube station

On 3rd July 2007 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]