User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Devonshire Cat, Sheffield

49 Wellington Street
Sheffield
S1 4HG

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Devonshire Cat

Very different from my last visit over ten years ago - remodelled inside and even the repainted exterior of the block of student flats above make it almost seem like a new building on the same site. Now has a large central servery and plenty of seating of different types around it. I understand that the pub has been operated by Abbeydale since 2013, and four of its beers - including a decent Deception - were amongst the cask ales being dispensed from the three banks of four handpumps (although a few were unclipped on this visit). Plenty of interesting craft keg and bottled offerings, numerous gins and a full menu too so there is plenty here for those with different tastes. However, I would echo the comments from others about it being difficult to quickly work out exactly what beers are available, but it's still a good pub though.

On 28th July 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6216 recommendations about 6216 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Devonshire Cat

I can't really add to the previous review. The pub may have excellent beer, but for the traditionalist it lacks. Add to that the presence of many students above, which probably explains why the place has the feel of a student bar.
For the record, my half of Abbydale's Deception New Zealand Pale Ale was very good and at £1.65, was bang-on average price for day. However, when in a pub, I prefer to have a thatched roof above my head rather than students.

On 15th July 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1001 recommendations about 986 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Devonshire Cat

As a good example of the fact that pub appreciation is a very subjective thing I have to say I did not warm to this one.
I am not in a position to pass judgement to whether the modern makeover of a few years back has improved the place or not, but it just left me all a bit cold and gave me the feeling that I was drinking in a student bar, which given the fact that it is now located below a Unite Student living accommodation block is probably not surprising and a strong steer to who the target demographic of this one is.
I also didn’t appreciate the fact that the 12 ale pumps are spread around the central square bar and you have to do a complete circuit to see what is available. For our visit there were seven ales on in the form of four from Abbeydale ( Deception, Daily Bread, Heathen and a vegan friendly Huckster Cryo ) Mallingsons Flight Risk, North Brewing co. Sputnik and Five Points Railway Porter.
And when I did find the beer listing board above the entrance to the toilets it looks like Wills observation from the review below is being recognised in that it wasn’t accurate and up to date. The Heathen was not on there and Abbeydale moonshine which had gone, was. Also half the cask boards had the beer followed by the brewery and the other half were the other way round, a small point I know, but a bloody annoying one. And as also mentioned below the keg boards were so busy that the reader would have benefitted from having access to the Hubble telescope.
But my biggest disappointment was that the Five Points Railway Porter is one of my favourite beers but I decided to duck this Hackney Brew for something more local in the shape of the Abbeydale Daily Bread, which turned out to be thin and lifeless. I’m not sure if that was the fault of the beer or the pub, but either way it left a bad taste in the mouth, literally.
I can see why others hold the Dev Cat in high esteem, but on the strength of my experiences of two days in Sheffield there are a lot more other pubs above this one on my list for a return visit.

On 15th July 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1712 recommendations about 1661 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Devonshire Cat

After a closure of a few weeks, the Dev Cat has now reopened with a complete internal revamp - there is now a central bar with seating in three distinct areas, including one that can be curtained off for semi-private parties. Apparently this makes service much quicker - thereby addressing a constant gripe of some I know who have been coming here off and on for years - but at the cost of making it much slower for a real ale aficionado to decide what to drink (of which more below). Evidence in support of the changes comes in the reported £16k takings in the first week after reopening - though to be fair I have no idea what the place took before the refurb!

My problem with the new format, from a beer tourist's point of view, is that the three groups of four hand pumps are spread around the bar and are badly lit, or certainly were on a Tuesday night, making the beer descriptions and pump clips hard to read. There is a blackboard which lists not only the (up to) 12 real ales and ciders but also the (up to) 16 keg offerings. The blackboard is situated above the steps leading to the toilets, which must make it a nightmare for the staff to change the listings, but more importantly makes it difficult for customers to choose their preferred drinks, as it is not completely visible from the bar area, even for those with the eyesight of a 20-year-old. Moreover, the beer descriptions are only available below the pump clips at the dimly lit bar - the blackboard beer listings are cluttered with the (I think unnecessary) information that a three pint growler costs three times the price of a pint - on every beer! However, I presume they know they client base better than I do, and maybe they sell lots of growlers to students who are unable to multiply £3.20 by three. Or hope to.

Having said all this, I have to say that I had three beers here last night on my way home from work and enjoyed them all. The regulars seem to be Abbeydale Moonshine and Daily Bread, with another eight real ales and one cider on hand pump, mostly from northern breweries. I had Wold Top Coastal, Abbeydale Just Desserts and Great Heck Patrick. (See photos for beers available at the time of my visit.) A welcome return to Sheffield's real ale scene.

On 7th December 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2659 recommendations about 2506 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Devonshire Cat

This is a pub whose name I was familiar with but not having read the reviews was surprised to find it was the ground floor of a modern building. Inside it is completely open plan with a mix of tall tables and normal ones plus some benches and sofas. For me the interior was as uninspiring as most Spoons but I don't visit Spoons to swoon over the interior but for the beer. The beer selection is certainly the trump card here with not just twelve handpumps but a small room to the right of the bar crammed with bottled beers.
The twelve beers included at least five from Abbeydale one of which was a House Devonshire Cat beer, a House Dev Cat Stout by Blue Bee, Two Nottingham Brewery beers and beers by RAW and Revolutions. I went for the Abbeydale Absolution (£3.20) which was in excellent nick.
It's not as attractive a place as the old pubs in town but the beer range and quality more than makes up for that.

On 17th November 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Devonshire Cat

Large open plan modern pub, pine furniture interior & feels almost chain-like you could be in a Hungary Horse or a Sizzling pub.

Superb selection of beers including various local brews, though the quality was slighlty disappointing.

Strange place really, but worth a visit.

On 17th December 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Devonshire Cat

very nice bright open pub.Great range of beers.Both beers tried were in top condition.My sort of pub.

On 13th September 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Devonshire Cat

11 ales on handpump on our visit, plus some beers from Belgium, Holland, Spain, and Germany. I tried a Japanese lager on draught called Kirin Ichiban. On the ale front, I went for Oakwell Barnsley Bitter and a bitter from Pheasantry Brewery Notts. There was also a small shop selling 170 different types of bottled beers. They also serve up good food, which is made from fresh ingredients. Will call again.

On 21st April 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


paulof horsham left this review about The Devonshire Cat

As Pub SignMan says, it's a single large room in a modern development. A variety of seating options at tables large and small, as well as very comfortable sofas should restrict the necessity for vertical drinking.

At the bar, 2 banks of 6 handpumps offer a wide variety of ales; blackboards above the bar can help you decide. Beer menus are also dotted around and list a large number of quality beers from around the globe. The bar staff are very helpful if you need any advice. The kitchen seems less successful, however, as they seemed somewhat overwhelmed by the pre-Christmas crowds (who had, I presume, pre-booked?).

There's no great character to the Devonshire Cat, but it does its job well enough and I'd recommend it.

On 27th December 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 293 recommendations about 283 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Devonshire Cat

This is a large single room pub with wooden flooring and half panelled walls which give it something of the feel of a slightly smarter version of a Wetherspoons. There’s a good array of seating across the open floor plan with high tables and stools near the servery, a couple of sofas near the front door and bench and standard seating elsewhere. Some low partitioning walls in a cross shape in the middle of the room break the space up quite effectively and have glass panels with the pub’s cat symbol etched on them. A few beer signs are dotted around the walls, but otherwise the decor is fairly minimal, which is a shame as the place doesn’t have a great deal of character. Music played in the background throughout my stay and many of the other customers were enjoying food from a varied menu which prices main meals around the £8-9 mark.
The pub specialises in bottled beers, with a small bottle shop (The Beer Box) next to the bar offering 150 different beers. Cask ale fans are well catered for as well, as there are twelve hand pumps on the bar which on my visit were dispensing Bradfield Devonshire Cat Bitter and Farmers Blonde, Abbeydale Deception, Acorn Delta IPA, Oakwell Barnsley Bitter, Kelham Island Pale Rider, Thornbridge Jaipur, Young’s London Porter, Derby Penny’s Porter and Business as Usual, Phoenix Hopsack and Newsome Trial By Porter. In addition to all that, there is also a wide selection of cider, perry and continental lagers.
This is a versatile sort of pub and although it’s not got the ambiance of some of Sheffield’s more traditional ale houses, it more than holds its own on the beer front and should be included on any crawl around the city centre.

On 5th May 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2546 recommendations about 2546 pubs]

Page: 1 2