User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - November 2020 with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

Mc & Sons, Southwark, SE1

160 Union Street
SE1
SE1 0LH
Phone: 02074013744

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Mc & Sons

They had four ales on in here - Doom Bar; Truman's Lazarus; a stout from West Berkshire Brewery; and Hamerton No 7 (5.2% and £4.60 a pint). Food is Thai only. You queue at the food counter towards the back and a young lady takes your money as you queue (all meals are £6 - eat in or takeaway) and you choose from the six dishes on display at the food counter. A bit retro - at one time food in almost all pubs was on display. Your selection is then shoveled into a cardboard box irrespective of whether you're eating in or taking it away. Personally, I would prefer the plate option, but I guess youngsters (and the majority of the clientele on the weekday lunchtime I visited were young) like eating out of bento box fast food containers.

This was my first visit since its Charles Dickens days, and I think I might prefer it now. The walls are covered with black and white photographs and prints - I recognised some of the subjects, such as the King of Thailand (although he would have subects rather than be a subject), JFK, and General Slim of WWII fame, but loads of others I didn't. I quite like that sort of thing. It's bare-boarded with only normal tables and chairs, and having a 10-seater table in the middle of the room being used as a communal dining table during the lunchtime peak. There's a little snug area on the right by the window at the front, which you can apparently hire for private use. I don't recall it being there when I've visited previously, so I guess it's a recent addition.

It was doing a very good trade in food on the Wednesday lunchtime I was in, so obviously they've hit on a winning formula. I paid for and received my pint; and paid for and received my Thai Panang curry in about five minutes, which is a boon if you're pushed for time. I would certainly visit this pub again, and would recommend it to anyone who is not put off by the smell of Thai currys and stir fries.

On 12th May 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Mc & Sons

The former Charles Dickens has been given a vigorous makeover, albeit still in an alehouse style. The bar and rear room form one long rectangular space, although a small area just inside the door has been made into a modern-day snug. Fairly sparsely furnished in the drinking area opposite the counter, with more tables in the dining area further back. Hammerton N7, Moor Raw (£4.50) and Titanic Plum Porter available from three of four handpumps, with the other one being pulled through while I was there. Reasonable selection of craft keg beers and ciders too. Overall, not really the sort of place you would find by chance, despite being on a direct line between London Bridge and Waterloo, but well worth seeking out.

On 30th March 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Mc & Sons

Nicely refurbed using old authentic pub furniture and fittings, the interior is opened out, the walls full of black and white photos.
Four handpumps were serving Sharps Atlantic,Hogs Back TEA, Hammerton Pentonville and Thornbridge Jaipur IPA which as John mentions below was excellent. It's been a long time coming but its much better now than as the Old Charles Dickens.

On 1st January 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1354 recommendations about 1340 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about MC & Sons

Now re-opened with a nicer interior and nicer bar staff.5 cask and some good Irish keg beers. Lovely Jaipur not cheap but worth the price.

On 26th December 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Charles Dickens

A rather dull basic pub with a few cheap Dickens prints.Great beer selection.Beers from Twickenham,Milestone,W+ Eton and Adnams.Also Mighty Oak-hoppily ever after which was good.Worth a visit for the beers.

On 6th March 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Charles Dickens

Larger than it looks south London pub, nicely laid out, boarded floor, half panalled walls and pictures/quotes of various Dickens characters on the walls.

The area around the bar as you walk in has some high tables and stools, and other trad rectangular tables & wooden chairs. It feels quite spacey. The pub goes deeper from the road and there is a beer garden.

Menus on every table with meals starting at £6.50 which seems good for London.

6 real ales, some local, some further a field, good choice and quality & extra mark for this.

On 25th September 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


david buckle left this review about The Charles Dickens

Used to frequent this place often for good food food and good beer. Hadn't been for a while untill last nite. Oh dear what a change in 6 monts. The positives. The beer is still very good and priced well. The 2 people behind the bar were welcoming polite amusing and also very knowledgeable about the real ales which is a great plus. The young lady in particular was very helpful in finding me a suitable ale. The negatives. Used to enjoy eating here but won't make that same mistake again. Food is sloppy swimming in grease cold ( they were quiet) no presentation and over priced for what it was. We had four meals and they were all the same. I would visit again if in the area for the beer and bar staff. Just never eat here again. (The white herart around the corner does fine food) its a ahame as this is a nice little pub. Also toilets were filthy.

On 31st August 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Charles Dickens

The interior is open plan,with a wooden floor and an L shaped bar to the right.On the shorter side there are six handpumps,while down the longer side are an array of keg dispensers.There is wooden seating throughout,with a slightly larger rear section leading to a walled courtyard with an awning.There are flat screens dotted about showing terrestrial TV soccer but with the sound turned down,a good compromise.There are prints on the wall of Dickensian characters but that's about the only reference to the pub name that I saw.
All ales priced at £3.40 with Hogs Back Spring Ale,Truman Swallow and Swifts,Westerham Finchcocks Original,Mighty Oak Oscar Wilde,Cottage We'll Get it Right and Elgoods Double Swan,which was the pick on the night.There is a kitchen churning out pub grub staples until 9pm at what looked like very reasonable prices for the area (mains £7 -£10).Although the pub was busy,it never became overcrowded and seats were available throughout a Friday evening session.The staff were on the whole friendly and efficient,apart from one guy who was reluctant to change an end of barrel pint,until his colleagues pointed out the error of his ways.
A decent selection of well kept ale (it's now in the 2012 GBG)means this place is on the list for a revisit.Slightly off the beaten track,good to find a pub not crammed to the rafters on a Friday night.

On 23rd June 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2087 recommendations about 2087 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Johnstone left this review about The Charles Dickens

Not bad but has a somewhat continental feel to it. Hardly Dickensian.

On 29th April 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 98 recommendations about 98 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Charles Dickens

This is a traditional pub with a stripped out feel to it, located down a back street not unreasonably far from the Thames Path. The bare floorboards and non-descript half panelled walls create a bit of a drab look across both rooms. The front room has a mix of standard seats as well as a number of benches and pews, whilst the rear room seems to be full of basic tables and chairs. Several TV screens were showing muted, live international football with pop music being played over the speakers. There were a number of large framed plates from Charles Dickens’ novels hanging on one wall, plus a number of old photos of the pub, but aside from this, the place seemed to be dominated by blackboards listing ales, special offers, food, and so on.
There were six handpulls dispensing a good range of beer, all at £3.20 a pint. My choice was from Sharp’s Atlantic IPA, Hog’s Back Spring Ale, Springhead Drop of the Black Stuff, Nethergate Suffolk County Best Bitter, Adnams Mild and Mighty Oak Maldon Gold. I tried a pint of the Springhead and found it was in very good shape. A number of pump clips dotted around the bar confirm a committed ale policy. Food seemed to be traditional pub grub, with mains around the £7-10 mark.
Despite being all but empty on my visit and in spite of the somewhat bland surroundings, I actually really liked this place. I felt very comfortable in here and had I not made other plans, I would have probably stayed for a few more pints.

On 14th April 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2541 recommendations about 2541 pubs]

Page: 1 2