User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 20th September 2020) with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

The White Swan, Birmingham

276 Bradford Street
Digbeth
Postal town: Birmingham
B12 0QY

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Tenanted (Marstons)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The White Swan

Fantastic old pub with outstanding architecture. The only beer on during our visit was a range of Banks's, which was perfectly kept. Just stopped for a half and moved on. well worth a visit for the interior alone.

On 28th April 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The White Swan

Open on a Saturday afternoon - not that there were too many punters.

Beautiful inside - A victorian treasure - Long, ornate wooden bar. A couple of real ales on - and I went local with the Banks's. It was wonderful.

Some photos of my Digbeth pub crawl at - http://bit.ly/1NuhI8Y

On 23rd August 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 669 recommendations about 663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The White Swan

Evening only pub

On 29th June 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The White Swan

Very traditional two-room Marston's pub, with many items of heritage interest inside (earning it a place in Camra's National Inventory of Historic Pub Interiors). 'L'-shaped main bar with a gantried counter and a fine bar-back, with an ornately-tiled corridor beyond. However, the side lounge was closed for a private function so I didn't get the chance to see that. Disappointingly, only two of six handpumps were in operation, with Banks's Mild (£3.00) and Sunbeam available. Will definitely visit again to look at the whole place properly, though, and perhaps the real ale choice will be better then too.

On 24th January 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6109 recommendations about 6109 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The White Swan

The White Swan definitely lives up to all expectations, we really enjoyed visiting this stunning heritage pub. We received a good friendly welcome from the barmaid. As it was late on Sunday eve when we visited and the pub was fairly quiet, our friendly bar person showed us around the pub and explained her family ties and the history of the pub.
We were told that when the area was in its heyday, the bar would have been four deep at lunchtimes. The pub also used to have an off-licence, which was situated at the far end of the bar area and is now used for storage. The main entrance corridor on the left was most impressive. The lounge also has tiles up to ceiling height and the now painted ceiling is originally pressed copper tiles.
Beer wise, I went for the Banks Sunbeam, which was very well kept. Unfortunately we missed out on their hot pies and cobs, will have to call again to give them a go.

On 16th July 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The White Swan

Another beautiful Victorian red brick and terracotta pub in Digbeth and a CAMRA National Inventory pub. An ornate green-tiled corridor leads to the comfy back room and the narrow bar off to the right. The bar area has a lovely bar back with clocks built in and there’s coloured leaded windows to be seen as well. Several beers are available from the Marstons portfolio - so perhaps a little less to get excited about than the Anchor but a good pint is a good pint and this is a fine place to drink one in. Cobs and pies are served, prices are very reasonable. Well-worth a stop.

On 12th November 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The White Swan

Loved the interior of this friendly Digbeth pub. Long bar is a delight, and I just missed the guest beer Hydes Ringmaster so settled for an excellent Ringwood Boondoggle. Banks Original also on. Lovely tiled coridor leading to a comfy back room. Cobs for £1.50 looked good too.

On 21st October 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1306 recommendations about 1196 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The White Swan

a traditional but smart industrial boozer in the Irish Quarter. Its a nice place for a pint, but only one real ale - Banks Bitter - lacks the variety of others around for the real ale fan

On 24th August 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


General Staal left this review about The White Swan

This is one of my favourite pubs. Soupy has described this place well.

The beer is always excellent. The Banks's Mild and Bitter are superb and the guests are always worth trying. There are usually four ales on, including the Mild and Bitter.

Although the Swan has less ale choice than the Anchor up the road, in my opinion, it is the superior pub!

It does a mean cob and it serves hot pies! What more could you want?

On 27th June 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 142 recommendations about 125 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The White Swan

There is little to add to what has been written already, the tiled interior and the sumptuous barback give it it's place on the CAMRA national inventory, it's traditionally furnished in keeping with the building style. I called in on a very quiet Monday evening when the pub was almost empty and the beer could have been better, I will however definitely be back again as it is a pleasant pub.

On 22nd June 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2277 recommendations about 2108 pubs]

Page: 1 2