User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappearing and 'in peril' breweries with london calling on the Pub Forum

The Old Joint Stock, Birmingham Central, Birmingham

4 Temple Row West
Birmingham
B2 5NY

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2 3 4

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Will Larter left this review about The Old Joint Stock

I love going to the OJS, if only for the architecture and ambience - can't afford to stay long because of the prices. There are (at least) three banks of multiple hand pumps (I didn't walk all the way around the large central bar), with Fullers beers on the five facing upon entry, and a bank of six guests on the next stretch of bar to the right; the Fullers are then repeated on the next corner, and for all I know there are others. (See photos for beers available when I was here.) I had Gales HSB (now a Fullers brand, of course) and Butcombe Rare Breed, both being in top condition if a little on the cold side at first. I sat down in order to recover from paying £4.70 for two halves. Phew! That apart, I enjoyed my visit and would come again - it's about the same distance from the station as the Wellington and the Pint Shop; in fact it would be possible to do all three if taking an hour's break from the train.

On 27th October 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2564 recommendations about 2423 pubs]


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Old Joint Stock

ORIGINAL REVIEW March 2015

You just have to go in this place,the Victorian splendour is breathtaking.Formerly a Lloyds Bank the central glass dome above the island bar is fantastic,while the busts around the ceiling ledge stare down on the punters.There are stairs up to a Gallery which is reserved for diners(Fullers Ale and Pie menu with specials) and there is a baby grand piano up here,which if being played would make pub dining here feel very classy,lit by the impressive chandeliers.At the rear on the ground floor is a charming Club Room which can be hired and make sure you investigate the rear of the building where stairs lead to the Theatre with regular performances.The rear patio garden has steps down to an alley which contains the back door to the Wellington,so a great real ale crawl can be had with little walking involved.
Despite being tied to Fullers there are many guests beers ,often Locales,so it is worth walking around the island bar to inspect the 21 handpumps to see whats on.Fullers beers are doubled or triple clipped ,but the guests aren't.On my trip the selection was Fullers Seafarers,Chiswick,London Pride,ESB,Past Masters with the guests Silhill Brewery Old Joint Stock(well kept),Byatts Regal Blonde & XB,Everards Blue Boar,Harvest Pale and Beowulf Dragon Smoke Stout. Thats a very decent selection of styles and strengths making this a must visit for any real ale crawlers,although you will have to factor in Fullers very high pricing policy for ale,which might make you wince.For anyone who loves pub interiors this is also a must visit,just go in and enjoy.

UPDATE
A recent visit found far more emphasis on Fuller's ales and I couldn't spot any guests although I'd had a few by then.Also the walkway to the back of the Wellington was closed,this maybe a Saturday evening precaution but it was serendipidous as it forced us in Pint Shop.A one point downgrade from me for the lack of guests.

On 8th April 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2049 recommendations about 2049 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Old Joint Stock

As described below, a splendidly ornate bank conversion with numerous architectural features, augmented by an impressive central wooden bar. A good selection of beers on offer alongside the normal Fullers offerings - settled on the Fixed Wheel Mild Concussion which was quite superb.

On 3rd December 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2166 recommendations about 2120 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Old Joint Stock

This place is well described in the reviews below. Absolutely packed on my last visit with plenty of Millwall fans in! A home from home for them with London prices! Always a good selection of Fuller's beers and a good choice of guests on. I have yet to have a bad pint in here and I am always happy to call in.

On 24th September 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1038 recommendations about 999 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Old Joint Stock

Stunning decor - one of the best bank conversions I've seen (although it was actually built as the library for the cathedral in the middle of the green opposite). The island bar layout and very high ceilings mean that there is plenty to see from almost any seat (and you get an interesting view from the rear mezzanine balcony, but this is often roped off). The Club Room (the former manager's office) is located at the back, and signage indicates a dining room and the theatre above, but I've never seen either. Small rear patio. Good range of Fuller's beers - typically Pride, Chiswick, Seafarers, Oliver's Island, ESB and a seasonal - plus four or five local guests from the likes of Byatt's, Sadler's and Backyard Brewhouse from a total of 20 handpumps, and on this visit I went for the Little Smoothie milk stout from Little Beer Corporation (£4.25). Only quibbles are that you get charged London prices and it can take some time to get served if you stand at the wrong spot when busy (and it can be very), but well worth a visit just to admire the interior.

On 25th February 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5968 recommendations about 5968 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Old Joint Stock

Great interior, absolutely rammed to the rafters on my visit, five Fullers beers were available , none exciting, not really my cup of tea.

On 8th October 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1308 recommendations about 1295 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Old Joint Stock

First pub of the day on my Birmingham trip so fortunately I was in before most of the lunchtime crowd. A tremendous interior, up with the best I have seen even if being a conversion much of the stuff does not go back years. A squint ended island bar in dark carved wood with an enormous elaborate globe rooflight above. The ceiling is vaulted with Roman/Greco statuettes on plinths, there is a decorative ceiling frieze and numerous framed prints and photos of the building through the ages. Stairs lead up to a mezzanine at the back then I understand again to a second floor theatre which remains unseen by myself. The front windows have huge folding drape curtains which when drawn back give great views of the cathedral opposite.
Being a Fuller's house and as a resident of London the ale range was never going to send me giddy but they had plenty on from around 20 pumps and luckily there were guests from Hook Norton in Hop to it Lion and Hooky Mild. I still went for the ESB though as a first pint livener. Food served, it is an Ale and Pie place but not for me at about 11.30.
Unmissable if in central Birmingham.

On 18th April 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Old Joint Stock

Don’t normally go out of my way to visit Fullers pubs when out of the Smoke but decided to visit on the strength of previous reviews and the fact that you virtually fall into its back entrance when leaving by the back entrance of the Wellington.
Another splendid bank conversion by Fullers and one very reminiscent of the Counting House in Bank in the City of London albeit on a slightly smaller scale and slightly less opulent. We did walk up to take the view from the mezzanine floor and see if we could be accommodated in this section, but it is used for dining and was fully booked.
Would have liked to have stayed longer but the pub was heaving on this early Saturday evening, which was good to see, but did mean standing room only.
Full range of Fullers brews available around the oval bar but went for a very passable Castle Rock Harvest Pale Ale which was on as a guest.

On 8th March 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1698 recommendations about 1647 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Old Joint Stock

A very impressive pub and at the prices they charge so it should be. Once you've picked yourself off the floor after they charged you it is a really nice pub. If you're unfortunate enough to come from London/The South then you probably think its cheap. 10 handpumps with 8 different beers on on this visit.

On 23rd September 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3380 recommendations about 3297 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Shivaji Shiva left this review about The Old Joint Stock

Welcoming pub with a great interior and good selection of beer. I have enjoyed every visit. Unsurprisingly given the location,it is often filled with suited office workers. It is also surprisingly child-friendly with a handy board-room like dining area in the rear and, in my experience, friendly staff. Running late to meet my family on a recent visit I asked where they might be and met the warm response "Ah, so you're dad - come this way..." I have also found the doorman friendly and cheerful - and enjoy nipping through the back from the Wellington.

On 15th August 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2 recommendations about 2 pubs]

Page: 1 2 3 4