User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
pubs galore bar with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

Hen & Chickens, Birmingham

27 Constitution Hill
Handsworth
Birmingham
B19 3LE
Phone: 01212363121

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Hen & Chickens

Nov 2017 - further work here and its opened out into different bar space. Much nicer than previous & the beer, although national was good quality. Bit of an American diner feel in a Victorian setting, but worth a look and a nice improvement.

10/04/2015 - Revisit - now slightly improved and sells beer! Includes 2 real ales, Youngs bitter and Robinsons Dizzy Blonde

17/08/2010 - Very close to the Jewellery Quarter but probabaly just on the wrong side of the tracks, its now a run down local on a busy road from Birmingham (you can see the City Centre just up the hill) to the Black Country. Its an industrial side of Birmingham that has seen better days.

There is a pool table inside and some bench seating, but not at all comfortable.

There is no real ale, in fact they havn't even got a keg bitter - I was offered cider or Guiness.

On 22nd November 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Hen & Chickens

A bit rough round the edges but nothing wrong with that. 2 real ales and food served.

On 2nd August 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2693 recommendations about 2637 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Hen & Chickens

Quite an impressive, if very run down, building housing a right old-fashioned boozer with a twist (namely the rear part of the 'L'-shaped bar seeming to operate as an Indian restaurant). Basic furniture and decor, loud sports TV and a pool table. Rocking Rudolph and Everards Tiger (£3.20) available from two handpumps, although ordering a pint of latter results in a little confusion since Tiger lager is also available. Overall, a bit better than I was expecting from first appearances.

On 17th December 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6002 recommendations about 6002 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Hen & Chickens

A Victorian corner pub and one I thought i had reviewed some years back, but alas not - saying that, the place had closed and re-opened since my last visit. It is a fantastic building of three storeys - the upper two having Roman windows, bands of differing brick and a machicolatated look, like a medieval castle parapet. The lower frontage is now in a clinical white, with pilasters, large leaded windows and it still retains its corner entrance. The interior now seems to be jus one small L-shaped room, as stated by Alan. The room is white, with a black cornice and carpet. The bench seating is part brown and part blue, as some has been recovered. There is a pool table and a couple of Sky TVs shown the Sky Sports News. There was no music. A couple of pictures are on the walls, but it is pretty palin. The service was fine and a few lads were in playing pool. Beer; no real ale, no keg MILD, just the usual taps with Cobra. I had a shandy and left. A lot cleaner than it was before, but very basic.

On 15th November 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Hen & Chickens

The Hen and Chickens looks like a large corner pub,it is situated on a pretty run down street just away from the city centre.
Once inside there was a single L shaped room with bench seating around the edge of the room,there was a pool table to the front which had black baize,the room was carpeted and the TV was showing Sky sports football updates.
There were no real ales on the bar,the keg bitter was Worthington cream crap,this was drinkable but cold.
There were a few other customers in on my late Saturday afternoon visit,i thought the pub had a bit of a rough edge to it.
I was happy enough having a drink in here,but this is more of a locals pub,not one for a night out.

Pub visited 17/8/2013

On 17th August 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]