User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 10th November 2019) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

The North Western (JD Wetherspoon), Liverpool Central, Liverpool

7 Lime Street
Liverpool
L1 1RJ

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Gill Smith left this review about The North Western (JD Wetherspoon)

Arriving in Liverpool for a 2 night stay to get around some Good Beer Guide pubs and anything else that takes our fancy, we started here for a bite to eat and a drink. Last time we were here it was still the Head of Steam. We enjoyed Big Bog Blueberry Hill Porter and Higsons Amber.

On 21st August 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1296 recommendations about 1186 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Jon B left this review about The North Western (JD Wetherspoon)

a spectacular interior including a bar with views of St Georges Hall and a majestic room with rail memorabilia on the walls, along with various other nooks and crannies. it's far better than before it was a Spoons but does have a frantic atmosphere with a constant turnover of customers making it difficult to relax. beer choice nothing special. if you want a proper pub experience there are plenty of better places nearby but this is alright for a swift one, i guess.

On 3rd November 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 640 recommendations about 630 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The North Western (JD Wetherspoon)

When I last visited back in 2010, this was still the Head of Steam about which I summarised: "Overall, it's not too bad a spot to wait for a train but you feel that it could all be a bit better than it actually is". All changed now, of course, and much more than a bit better... Anyway, it has been completely reconfigured, with the bar moved from the Grand Hall - now an imposing lounge - and much better use made of the space generally. Retains the important decorative features (such as the tiled railway map), but has been smartened-up considerably otherwise. The beer choice from the two banks of six handpumps was a bit limited, but that was most likely due to many ales having run out during the Camra AGM and conference. Still, there were a few interesting options, and my pint of Great Newsome Holderness Dark (£2.45) was in good form.

On 9th April 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5796 recommendations about 5796 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The North Western (JD Wetherspoon)

A really nice building, sympathetically refurbished by JDW at a serious cost I would think. There's a small lounge to the rear as you enter with the bar to your left. There's another bar area to the left side with most of the guest beers appearing on this bar. Even further to the left is a magnificent room with lots of railway posters, a nice fireplace, some booths, a statue etc It has a very impressive ceiling as well. We called in here twice for a beer on our recent trip to Liverpool and also called in for breakfast one morning. Friendly, efficient staff (in the main) and all the pints I had here were in very good condition. We'll be calling in here next time we're over as it's now Ms CAMRA's favourite JDW in Liverpool.

On 7th March 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2745 recommendations about 2673 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The North Western (JD Wetherspoon)

With the addition of the North Western, this brings the grand total of four JD Wetherspoon pubs to Liverpool city centre. In my opinion, I think they have done an incredible job in refurbishing this building. The original lounge at the far end of the pub is my favourite part, as I used to frequent this area, when it was a pub back in the late 80's. The new area of the pub now has two bar areas and the interior is mostly painted in tones of grey, with all the ornate plaster work picked out in silver. There are two large prints on the far wall near the staircase leading to the upper floor, depicting some heavy engineering of steam locomotives.
On the bar, two banks of six pumps, Roosters and Peerless taking prime position recently. My pint of Roosters Wild Mule was in exceptional condition. This is a must visit pub when out and about in Liverpool.

On 16th August 2015 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2894 recommendations about 2894 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The North Western

Wetherspoon have really gone to town here turning a small part of this listed old building into one of their pubs. I entered and left via the back entrance from the station concourse. I failed to notice where any other entrances are but I assume there must be some. Inside it has taller tables around the central bar area with low tables and chairs in the areas away from the bar. There is a staircase leading to an upper area that I didn't investigate. They've relied mostly on the Victorian decor rather than going overboard but there are some fancy chandeliers and a collection of old railway posters on the walls of the far room where I sat.
The bar is two sided and has two sets of six hand pumps. on these were the two GK beers doubled up, Old Speckled Hen, Brain's SA, Beartown Bruin's Ruin & Kodiak Gold, Wadworth Summer of 1842, Peerless North Western, Liverpool Craft American Red and Coach House Flintlock.
I went for the American Red (£2.30) which was in excellent condition. Compared to all the other station Spoons I've been to this one is currently good value. The prices here are identical to the two closest Spoons £2.30 for a standard guest but the food dearer with the clubs being a pound or more above normal. It wasn't overly busy on my morning visit but it had only been open less than a fortnight and people might not know about it. I did notice there was still a Head Of Steam hoarding in the station.
Defo a good job done here and worth a look even if you're not using the station. Let's hope they don't ramp the prices up.

On 21st July 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2144 recommendations about 2139 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The North Western

Now open as a very large Wetherspoons called The North Western. It is on the left hand side of the large former North Western Hotel. A multi-roomed Wethers with a mezzanine floor in one of the rooms. Two bars serving a total of 8 cask ales. As its more expensive than the others in the area it won't attract the mingebags. Lots of staff seeing as its just opened (and didn't bode well when 2 of them didn't know what a stout was!) and most of them seem to be arsing around instead of serving. It is a good Wethers and probably the best of them in the city centre. Overlooks the fantastic St Georges Hall and is connected to Lime St Station via the rear entrance.

On 13th July 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3363 recommendations about 3279 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Head of Steam

This place has closed and is going to be a Wetherspoons at some point in the summer.

On 9th March 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3363 recommendations about 3279 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Head of Steam

MerseyAle (Spring 2014) reports that new owners have removed the cask ales.

On 3rd June 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2127 recommendations about 1974 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roy Collins left this review about The Head of Steam

Called in on Saturday lunchtime and the place was empty .You have to walk along a long passage with unused rooms leading off to get to the bar from the station.Decor and furniture looked tired.Only had 3 real ales on -all from Liverpool Organic brewery -one of which was sour.Not a great experience but worth a visit if waiting for a train.

On 28th October 2012 - rating: 4
[User has posted 124 recommendations about 121 pubs]

Page: 1 2