User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

Crown Hotel, Liverpool

43 Lime Street
Liverpool
L1 1JQ
Phone: 01517076027

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Oak Tree (Mitchells & Butlers)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Bucking Fastard left this review about Crown Hotel

An ornate interior with lots of original features ,the ceiling in the tap room is impressive,while the rear room is a calmer spot and has fitted bench seating around the walls.The elegant curved staircase leading the the first floor dining room has a roof light and there lots of wood panelling to admire and a marble fireplace.The tap room furniture is a little too modern with some high tables while the flatscreen here also lower the tone.
Food is served either in the back room or upstairs ,but the menu is corporate and food service will be at work here.
There are 7 handpumps with TT Landlord and Doom Bar as regulars with guests on my trip Sharps Atlantic,Moorhouses White Witch,Wily Fox Crafty Fox,Froth Blowers Monsoon and Jenny Jenny Golden Ale (NBSS 2.5).A low ABV range which was a little underwhelming.
Being the nearest pub to Lime Street does mean that some of the customer base are transient ,loud and with a smattering of village idiot types so although I enjoyed looking at the interior ,this won't make it on a must visit list.

On 7th February 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2087 recommendations about 2087 pubs]


ROB Camra left this review about Crown Hotel

Much improved after the refurbishment. It looks like they may have refurbished the clientele as well. Both the upstairs and downstairs area now look back to their stunning best. Not at all like the flea bitten down trodden mess that we visited (briefly) a couple of years ago. Last time Ms CAMRA walked out in disgust at the lowlifes at the bar and the crappy décor. This time she was happy to settle down and have a drink. Still not the most inventive selection on the bar, but my pint of Rev James was in very good nick. Worth paying a visit again now.

On 13th January 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2866 recommendations about 2786 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Crown Hotel

Called into this 2019 Good Beer Guide pub and found 7 beers on the bar. Wooha Sunshine IPA, Laine Mangolicious, Cotleigh Tawney Owl, Robinsons Trooper, plus Doom Bar, Landlord and Summer Lightning. Chose the Wooha which was fine. Looked a popular choice for folks with cases coming or going to Lime Street station.

On 21st August 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1308 recommendations about 1197 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Crown Hotel

Has just reopened after a refurb. The layout is still the same as is features such as the ceiling. A new tiled floor is now in place plus a new side entrance. Handpumps down from 8 to 7 with an increase in fizzlypop fonts.

29/2/16:
Has increased its real ale selection to 8

14/11/15
This lovely ornate pub can be let down by some top drawer divvies that you may find inside. There's nearly always a tramp/pothead/wanker standing in the doorway. Handy for the station but now the Wethers has opened you may want to go there. Its a shame because this is a nice pub. An 8 when its not full of divvies but a 4 when it is.

On 1st April 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3389 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about Crown Hotel

the building stands out in a slightly garish way when you exit Lime Street, even more so with the redevelopment works going on in the area. M&B have kept a really fine pub though that is much improved on last time I was in (although the price of the ale has increased considerably too). no divvies on this visit and in my opinion it's far more pleasant than the nearby Spoons outlets. 8 real ales on, half of which were interesting guests. some of the tables have corporate food menus on but not all, which is nice.

On 16th August 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 772 recommendations about 753 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Crown Hotel

The Crown Hotel is a great looking pub that is right outside Lime Street station,so very handy for a last half to end my pub crawl on.
Once inside the bar faces,there is a square shaped room to the front,the seating here is comfy bench type and small stools,there is another room to the rear which is carpeted and has a very ornate ceiling,the seating in this room is bench type chairs and small stools.
There was a decent choice of real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Rudgate Dick Firkin which went down well,the other beers noted were Doom Bar,Old Speckled Hen plus one more.
The pub was very busy on my early Saturday evening visit.

Pub visited 28/5/2016

On 18th June 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Crown Hotel

Unmissable as you exit Lime Street station, with the pub's name in large, gold, lettering on each facade and a huge (and frankly bonkers) embossed shield advertising the former owners - "Walker's Ale, Warrington". There are also rather grand, moulded ceilings in the busy bar and the more civilised back lounge. It must have been quite something in its heyday, and thankfully it has become gradually less cluttered with promotional material in recent years. There is an ever better range of real ales too from several banks of handpumps, and the Peerless Triple Blonde was in good form on this visit. Well worth a visit, although choosing a quiet time is best if you want to take a good look at the interior.

On 16th April 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Crown Hotel

This is a completely new Liverpool pub to me. It's already been well described. On my visit beers available were Liverpool Organic 24 Carat Gold, Pedigree, Brain's Reverend James Gold, GK IPA and Maxim Lambton's Cask Ale. I thought this was a rather dull mainstream selection. I went for the Liverpool Organic beer which was in excellent condition and reasonable value at £2.60.
The ornate interior doesn't do a lot for me so the beer selection made it a bit of a disappointment. The JDW North Western is a much better bet.

On 23rd July 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Crown Hotel

Another of Liverpool’s heritage pubs with a sumptuous Art Nouveau exterior and ornate gin palace style interior. Two-roomed place, the main thing to gawp at on entering is the huge intricately moulded ceiling in the main bar, wall friezes and wood panelling. The nice bar uplighters also caught my eye. Beyond to the rear is a nice lounge room with a very nice upstairs dining room featuring plenty of stained glass. As mentioned below, there are a few modern things that grate against the splendid interior but if that’s the price one has to pay to keep it open and serving, then fair enough; especially given the state of Central Commercial Hotel, another historic pub that’s populated by screaming scallies and karaoke. Loads of pumps but only (only?) five on; Great Yorkshire Top of the Hops, GK IPA, Liverpool Organic, Salopian Gold and Thwaites Nutty Black. Not a bad selection and the latter two drank very well as well as being notably cheap. Its position next to Lime Street BR means that you do get the passing dosser in here. Still, it’s better than I expected given other reviews and I’d do this one again as the beer quality was undoubtedly good – especially handy if you’re waiting for a train. Also opens early so a good alternative to the usual Spoons o’ clock start to a pub crawl of the City.

On 17th January 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Crown Hotel

A splendidly ornate gin palace right next to Lime Street station, the exterior Walkers of Warrington signage is certainly eye-catching, once inside, there is an L-shaped carpeted ground floor bar area leading through to a separate and attractive room at the rear, named The Bar Room. Ornate ceiling and upper wall friezes, two thirds height wood panelling, blue glazed brick fireplace, stairs curve up to a dining room but with pub seating too, there is a very attractive domed rooflight up here lighting the stair landing. The pub is Grade II Listed and on CAMRA's National Inventory.
So that's the good bits, sadly the service left a bit to be desired, a number of pumps were clipped with the dreaded "coming soon" or a variant thereof, so I plumped for one not clipped in this manner, Tribute. "That's not on" I got, "it is clipped" I said, "none of those are on" was the answer. On establishing what actually was on I settled on Brain's Rev James, the same barmaid then stopped pouring my pint half way through to go and answer the phone. Quite special. The beer, once I got one, was fine. Of three banks of about 15 pumps in all, about half were out of use leaving my Rev James, Rudgate Ruby Mild, GK IPA and Black Sheep Bitter shared across the others.
Also, totally at odds with the grandiose interior, there were stacks of tacky and oversized posters advertising cheap meal and drinks deals, this is a very attractive pub with a great preserved interior so why go and "JDW" it? I suppose pubs close to stations do not tend to be great with a non-regular transient trade and many passing through very quickly but I felt that the surroundings were seriously at odds with the pub experience. I did however see a certificate for the CAMRA of Pub Renaissance of the year, 2014, so maybe substantial improvements have taken place compared to a possibly dismal past, who knows?
I liked the building overall and I'm glad I visited but someone needs to sort the place out a bit in my opinion based admittedly on this one visit.

On 2nd November 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]

Page: 1 2