User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappointment of the week with hondo on the Pub Forum

The Pied Bull, Chester Central, Chester

57 Northgate Street
Chester
CH1 2HQ
Phone: 01244325829

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Steve C left this review about The Pied Bull

The Pied Bull is a comfortable and traditional pub and hotel that was reasonably busy compared to its peers during a recent Tuesday night visit. I counted six hand pumps that were drawing Pied Bulls own Change-a-Bull (x2), Taurus and Bull’s Hit alongside Snail Bank’s Gooseberry Fool and 4Ts Brewery’s IPA. A standard and premium keg range is also available as is a traditional pub food menu. This is one of the better pubs in this part of Chester and is worth a visit.

On 28th July 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3546 recommendations about 3525 pubs]


Old Boots left this review about The Pied Bull

Adequately described already, hotel bar in ancient building, allegedly the oldest continually licensed premises in Chester. Serving its own microbrewery products plus a guest, a cider and usual kegs. There’s a beer garden out back as well. It is an hotel bar not a pub and tries to keep neds, numpties and other neer’do’wells out but not always successfully.

On 6th May 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2133 recommendations about 1981 pubs]


Quinno _ left this review about The Pied Bull

Claiming to be the longest continually licensed pub in Chester, this is a nice old building with quite a nice traditional-feeling interior (varnished wood floor, low oak beams, white rough walls) which has been kept tidy, to the point of being a little staid. The draw here is that they have a microbrewey (Pied Bull), so you can sample something local. Offers accommodation, and there’s the usual supernatural guff about the resident ghost. There’s a nice rear courtyard which on a cold evening probably wouldn’t attract any ghouls. Six ales on, with three of their own available (forgot to note the guests). Went for the Pied Bull Black IPA which was fine (NBSS 3). Another Chester pub that gets rammed during busy periods so time your visit well. 7.5

On 1st March 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]


Jon B left this review about The Pied Bull

a very pleasant olde worlde pub/hotel with one of the best real ale selections in town. low beams galore and a nice traditional atmosphere. highly recommend especially at less busy times.

On 1st December 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 641 recommendations about 631 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Pied Bull

I do like he Pied Bull and always try to pay a visit when in Chester. I think I spotted six hand pumps, three of which were offering their own Pied Bull ales (Change-a-Bull Hoppy American Brown Ale, Black Bull and Bull's Hit) plus Adnam's Broadside and a couple of guests. Normally a fairly busy pub I have found, but I was the only customer in just before midday on Tuesday. Service was friendly on my visit, the lady behind the bar had only been there a week or so but was pleasant and polite and checked that I had enjoyed the previous ale when I went back to the bar to order a second. I went for the Hoppy American Brown Ale which was lovely (and unusual), and followed by the Bull's Hit which was a pleasant golden ale. This pub seems to have recently extended into the white building to the left, and as you enter through the main door there is a new doorway off to the left to the new restaurant (where the seating under the window used to be). Would definitely recommend a visit if only for their changing range of Pied Bull ales - I like to try something new where I can!

On 28th February 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 437 recommendations about 404 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Pied Bull

This old pub has been more than well described below. It's a long wooden floored single room with the bar on the right in the middle. It was quiet on my Friday midday visit.
There are seven hand pumps which had one unused, a low ABV rhubarb cider, Pied Bull Matador, Pied Eyed, Quaffabull & Redbull and Adnam's Broadside.
I went for the Matador which was an excellent pint. It was £3.70 discounted to £3.33 which strikes me as expensive up here so the CAMRA discount was welcome.
Despite that I quite liked this place and would return.

On 10th March 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2144 recommendations about 2139 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Pied Bull

A very nice pub that offers accommodation. Descriptions are elsewhere though there are now 7 handpumps with one used for cider on this visit.

On 19th October 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3369 recommendations about 3285 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Pied Bull

There were a couple of ales from their own Pied Bull microbrewery (I had a pint of the 5% Matador at what I considered to be a reasonable £3.60), a couple from Off Beat Welsh brewery; Adnam's Broadside, and Equinox. There are all kinds of meal deals - we were in on a Monday evening when they were offering "Blues Burgers". This gave you a burger with all the usual trimmings, plus a pint of one of their own ales for £8.95, which seemed fair enough to me.

The inside was fairly comfortable as well. As you might expect it had dark wood all over the place including beams on the ceiling. Where we sat near the front of the building was a brick built fireplace with a coat of arms, plus a set of horns, above it. I saw some local CAMRA awards on one of the walls. This struck me as one of the better town centre pubs.

On 14th September 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2545 recommendations about 2463 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Pied Bull

Another Chester pub that we haven't been to before, and a brewpub with 2 of their beers available, one had just gone. Also guests from Waen, Magpie and Adnams. We enjoyed Pied Bull Black Bull Porter and Waen Growling Copper. Also in the 2015 Good Beer Guide.

On 9th November 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1296 recommendations about 1186 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Pied Bull

On one of the main streets inside Chester’s city walls is The Pied Bull, which, according to a sandwich board on the pavement outside is an “award winning CAMRA pub”.

By the entrance, we learn that The Pied Bull is Chester’s oldest existing coaching inn, established in 1473 and was formerly known as The Bull Inn and Delta Hotel. The ubiquitous blue circular plaque tells us that it was refronted in the 18th century when it became an important coaching inn. The refronting extends to the far side of the pavement, so you actually walk under an archway straddling the pavement before you reach the entrance.

Inside, we find a traditional and reasonably characterful interior with much wood panelling and shiny dark polished beams and which, according to the inn’s own leaflet “reflects its distinctive heritage”. It’s carpeted throughout and music free. There’s a clear emphasis on catering for the numerous visitors to this historic city with, in addition to a dedicated dining area where tables for four are laid out with place mats, most other tables having condiments and menus on the tables. Seating is largely of the normal spindle backed chair variety that one expects to find in an inn of this style. There is little of specific note apart from an old fireplace above which we see a pair of bulls horns and an old framed tapestry, about which, somewhat disappointingly, no details are provided.

Accommodation is offered – double room £ 80 – and they open at 7am for breakfast for non residents.

Somewhat surprisingly, as it just doesn’t feel like that type of place, The Pied Bull is home to a microbrewery and, on the back of the wine list, we learn that their one barrel brewery was installed in their cellar in April 2011. Tasting notes are provided for 5 of their beers – described, as appears to be the vogue nowadays as “Craft Brewed Ales”. These are Pied Eyed, Black Bull, Bulls Hit, Matador and Sensibull. .A beer festival was being advertised for 4-7 October 2012 with beer suggestions being invited.

There’s 6 handpumps which, on my recent late September lunchtime visit were offering Salopian Oracle, Adnams Broadside, Hard Knott Cool Fusion, Titanic Pier 54 plus 2 Pied Bull beers – Bulls Hit and Red Bull ( 5.5% - not described on the drinks menu ) The Buls Hit was an excellent tasty pint, but, at £ 3.20p, somewhat overpriced in my opinion for a beer that had just come up from a downstairs cellar. The pub is listed in the 2012 CAMRA Good Beer Guide.

This is a pub definitely worth seeking out when in Chester, but I would suspect that diners can dominate at peak meal times so, unless you’re popping in for food, you might want to time your visit accordingly

On 2nd November 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]

Page: 1 2