User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - July 2020 with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Sheaf, SE1

24 Southwark Street
SE1
SE1 1TY
Phone: 02074079934

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Sheaf

ORIGINAL REVIEW Dec 2010.

Little to add to Roger B's accurate review,I enjoyed my visit to this pub which still retains the feel of it's previous incarnation as a "Ball's Brothers".Seven real ales available with Youngs Bitter and Nethergate Redcar Best as regulars and a changing array of guests,my Dark Star American IPA was on good form.Will definately use this place again as it does appear much less hectic than The Market Porter,but still provides a good range of ales.Food served including a Pie of the Day if you plan an extended stay.

UPDATE

Now has just three handpumped ales and both my Dark Star Hophead and Castle Rock Harvest Pale were in poor condition and quite tasteless.I couldn't be bothered to try the house Redcar Bitter.Dominted by flat screens ,this is good for televised sport but little else.

On 30th September 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2057 recommendations about 2057 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Sheaf

Housed under the former Hop Exchange building, this is brighter and more open than most basement bars, benefitting from a fairly restrained used of dark timber when compared with the likes of Davy's, etc. Tends to be busy, but not crowded, except at the height of the early evening rush. As always, a fine selection from the ten handpumps, including the tasty Shefford Plum Mild (£4.30) on this visit.

On 15th April 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6076 recommendations about 6076 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Sheaf

Basement bar with a characterful barrel vaulted interior. 10 real ales and "craft keg" served. 2 dartboards and live sport shown.

On 26th October 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2693 recommendations about 2637 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Sheaf

I was a little dubious when we initially arrived in here. There were 10 handpumps and one customer in this large cellar pub. I requested their house beer, called Red Car, Summer ale. The beer had just finished, so I was ready to make another choice, when the barmaid said the cellar man was already putting a new one. The Red Car is brewed by Fullers and have to say it was very good. The owner is from Redcar, so hence the name.
After a while, another couple of alers arrived, so we were all having a good old chat. Mrs Ale went for the Bude Brewery Neet, which was also in great shape.

On 20th July 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Sheaf

The Sheaf has a fairly narrow frontage but once inside and down the stairs,the place is quite large.
The room is L shaped with the bar facing,there is comfy bench seating to the left and front right and long tall tables and low backed stools in the middle area and to the rear left.
There is a good choice of real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Milestone Will Scarlett which went down very well,the other beers i noted were Wentworth WPA,Youngs Bitter,Gadds No 7,London Pride,plus one from Brentwood Brewery and an house beer called Red Car bitter.
There were TVs showing cycle racing and quiet background music was playing.
I was quite happy have a drink in this pub.

Pub visited 26/5/2015

On 26th May 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Jim Brittin left this review about The Wheatsheaf

There has been much confusion between the 'old' Wheatsheaf [Stoney Street] and the 'new' Wheatsheaf [Southwark Street]. This has now been resolved as the latter has been re-named 'The Sheaf'. Staff now wear new design blue T-shirts.

On 30th August 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6 recommendations about 6 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Wheatsheaf

Light and airy cellar bar well described by previous reviewers which we tend to use as the last point on a crawl of Borough. And that’s the reason why I haven’t reviewed previously as my drunken scribbling have been illegible the following day.
Visited again last Thursday late evening. It was busy but no problems getting served. And as my employer has now deemed to trust me with one of those smart phoneymajigs, I have photographic evidence to be able to report that alongside the Pride and Youngs Bitter, Brentwood Best, Box Steam Brewery Tunnel Vision, Brewshed Best from the Brewshed Microbrewery, Fullers Brit Hop, Batemans Yella Belly Gold, and Warwickshire Beer Co. Shakespears County and Bottoms up were being dispensed.
And I remember trying the two Warwickshire beer company brews and they were well kept, as is my usual experience of the Ales here.

On 20th June 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1699 recommendations about 1648 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


I L left this review about The Wheatsheaf

Updated 15th April 2013
This is the first time we have been in here since the original Wheatsheaf in Stoney Lane reopened.
oK it was a Monday night but got the feeling its not what it used to be.
First off it took some time to get served despite we were the only other waiting to be served he other barman was doing a booking but after sorting that he still didn't serve us. Next was the price at £3.90 a pint that was under 4,0% is dearer than pubs further into the Market. To op tat it was not at its bet but not quite off enough to take back to the bar.

To to all this off there was a cyclist in there that seamed to be a regular that swore at my other half when she tried to get close enough o see what half she had got. I didn't realise that he swore at her ill we left.

Not impressed and we won't be back. They even had a check o put a gin p o say 'don't accept any imitations'. Now the opened Wheatsheaf may be quit a bit different o what it was hut you don't get this rot of treatment in there.


What a difference there is between the old Wheatsheaf in Stoney Street and this new one round the corner in Southwark Street!
Low vaulted ceilings and some small rooms to the back. There is a good slelection of ales kept in good condition. Also has free Wif Fi.

On 15th April 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 287 recommendations about 284 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Wheatsheaf

Cellar bar under the Hop Exchange building, The arches in the roof provide a fine feature and there are various seating ares. All a bit basic but with great charm. There are various photographic portriats on the walls.

Very busy with suited professions on my visit, there are 6 real ales & plenty of wine. A fine characterful place.

On 25th September 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Wheatsheaf

In the basement of The Hop Exchange building on Southwark Street and close to Borough Market and London Bridge station, is The Wheatsheaf, which, as we all know by now, has temporarily replaced a much smaller Wheatsheaf pub just around the corner which closed several years ago whilst a new railway bridge is constructed.

Much larger than you would expect from the outside as you descend the few steps from street level, the “new” Wheatsheaf is brightly lit and has a number of different areas and alcoves. Arched brick ceilings remind us that we are actually in a basement, with, of course, no natural light. One alcove near the entrance has a darts board. Several alcoves at the rear can cater for small groups and parties. Seating is a mixture of traditional tables and chairs, with one screened off area having several large sofas. For those of us who don’t like standing, you can usually find a seat or table somewhere in the spacious interior.

A large number of black and white photos on the walls are of regulars from the “old” Wheatsheaf, but the “new” Wheatsheaf has more of a bar feel to it than a pub and, based on my several recent visits, these regulars have not transferred their allegiance to the new pub. With a wide, but reasonably priced food menu, there’s a definite effort to attract a wider customer base than the previous pub did, with several groups of City workers enjoying post work pints and food. Several screens show televised sport and, on one recent visit, Newcastle v Man Utd was being shown and, unfortunately, this rather dominated and shaped the atmosphere of the whole pub.

The Wheatsheaf is part of a small chain of London pubs – The Red Car Pub Co – and, in contrast to the original Wheatsheaf which was a Youngs pub, the new pub offers a good range of between 9-10 real ales. The range includes Red Car Best Bitter, a pleasant bitter with an ABV of 3.8% and which, according to the pump clip, would now appear to be brewed by Itchen Valley Brewery ( and not Nethergate ).

Those of us who like to drink in a bit of comfort and space will probably find that The Wheatsheaf is a more than acceptable alternative to the rather frenetic and chaotic Market Porter nearby

On 18th January 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]

Page: 1 2