User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Bottled Beer Bargain Alert with aleandhearty on the Pub Forum

Old Cross Tavern, Hertford

8 St Andrews Street
Hertford
SG14 1JA
Phone: 01992583133

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Old Cross Tavern

This is currently the local CAMRA branch's pub of the year, so expect the ale selection to be good - which it is, even though on this occasion I failed to note them all. I had something called Mocha Stout, from Bosun's Brewing Co I think, at £4 a pint. It's almost a rarity to find a stout on handpump.

It looks like a shop conversion, so isn't very big inside. But it's big enough, with the bar counter on the right as you enter, with some traditional seating on the left. There's a smallish outside seating area at the back.

This is a straightforward drinkers' pub, which is a gem for real ale enthusiasts to find, even if it doesn't boast any pub heritage features. Definitely worth including on any crawl of Hertford.

On 16th September 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Old Cross Tavern

The GBG comes up trumps for a stranger in town.

Exactly my sort of place - from the decor, to the five real ales and a perfect Timothy Taylor Landlord, to the pork pies tempting you from the bar.

Not a sound from the handful of punters. Just the hiss of the coal fire and tick tock of an ancient timepiece.

Perfect visit blogged at http://bit.ly/2kfV3VM

On 29th January 2017 - rating: 10
[User has posted 276 recommendations about 275 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Old Cross Tavern

I was surprised to find this pub was a shop conversion after trying to find it in an old Herts beer guide. I wouldn't be at all surprised if it was a pub prior to becoming an antique shop as I assume it must have a proper cellar. The windows outside display a collection of old bottles of beer.
Inside it's small with a carpeted seating area on the left and the wooden floored bar area on the right. The bottled beer theme continues inside with display cabinets packed with old bottles.
On the bar were eight hand pumps with only six in use. The beers were Taylor's Landlord, Old Cross Gertcha, St Austell Tribute, Tring Kotoku, Church End Vanilla Stout and finally a 6.5% Mighty Oak beer which I was dismayed to see was posted as just being sold in halves at £2.20 a half. I went for the Stout (£3.80) which was in good nick and enjoyable but expensive. I assume this must be a totally free house so to me the prices were too high and I was also put off by the two mainstream beers. I don't like the idea that stronger beers are only sold in halves or thirds especially at a moderate ABV of 6.5%.
I would return here if only to try the home brewed stuff, but even that seems to be fairly limited.

On 28th December 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Old Cross Tavern

ORIGINAL REVIEW October 2010
This is an outstanding real ale pub which has picked up many CAMRA awards.Converted from an antique shop in the 90's,the interior is small but perfectly formed.Traditional wooden furniture,including settles and benches with a real fire ,wood panelling and exposed brick work creates a genuine feel and there is no music,fruit machines or anything else to disturb the drinking atmosphere.The decoration includes panels below the bar with sack cloth from the only maltsters still operating in Hertfordshire. This small bar is to the right of the entrance and has eight handpumps with London Pride and TT Landlord as regulars and a brew from the local Red Squirrel and Dark Star usually available.On my visit the Red Squirrel London Porter was excellent,Dark Star Tripel tempted strong ale lovers (8.5%),while the house brew Laugh and Titter was complemented by Oak Nouveau from Mighty Oak and Harvest Pale from Castle Rock.The ale quality here is top draw and every pint sampled by the four of us was excellent.There is a good collection of bottled continental lager and a real cider always on.The covered courtyard at the back is useful for outside drinking and the former kitchen how houses the microbrewery.As others have said a must visit in Hertford,and one of the very best in the region.

UPDATE
I am in here on a regular basis,and there have been some minor changes.There is now a list of 14 Belgian and bottled beers,the pub doesn't open until 4.30pm Monday-Thursday and the prices of the guest real ales has crept up with some higher ABV brews coming in at £3.90 with lower strengths around £3.60,although the on site brewed ale is a much cheaper option.There always seems to be something from Dark Star and Mighty Oak available but it is rare for all the handpumps to be in use,there is normally a choice from around 5.Ale quality is still extremely high,it's top of the league as far as I'm concerned in my home town.

On 30th August 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Old Cross Tavern

Arguably Hertford`s premier real ale free house, the Old Cross Tavern was created in 1999 out of a former antiques shop. Once through the fairly anonymous looking front door, you find a relatively small pub with the open bar area to the right as you enter and then a seating area around a real fireplace to the left. The decor is minimalist but light and airy although slightly shabby in style machines and the walls are lined with beer bottle filled cabinets and other beer paraphernalia. And as this is primarily a location for beer drinking, there is no TV’s, Jukeboxes or fruit machines to get in the way of that.
Usually there are 7 or 8 well kept ales on, primarily from regional and micro breweries. The pub has been the recipient of several local CAMRA branch awards and is a regular entry in the CAMRA GBG’s..
The limited internal space is supplemented by a small courtyard at the back, in which Beer festivals are held in May and October.
On my last visit Viper Ales Jake The Snake and Maldon Gold were on from the Mighty Oak micro brewery alongside TT landlord and Thornbridge Jaipur IPA, and the couple I tried were well kept as usual.
Food is basic and tends to be traditional homemade Pasties and Pies, which, like the beer, are top notch if you like that sort of cuisine.

On 22nd August 2011 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1699 recommendations about 1648 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Old Cross Tavern

This is a tiny living room type pub with a small bar at one end with eight hand pumps. There is a covered courtyard out the back with lots of vines and hanging baskets, but it is no smoking.

My Landlord was in tip-top condition, but I think I would enjoy this place a lot more if I was twenty years older.

On 16th October 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Old Cross Tavern

Lively and friendly town pub, the best of the Hertford selection tried yesterday. Eight handpumps, serving six at the time. Mainstreams Pride and Landlord, Mighty Oak Oscar Wilde, Red Squirrel Natural Blonde, Laugh and Titter...barman claims this is a house brew?, plus something else I seemingly didn't record. A good selection of Belgian beers too although it was amusing to see the guy drinking Kwak with the glass in a wooden holder. I'm sure its supposed to be the proper way. Fairly traditional town style interior, a mix of exposed brickwork and wooden panelling in the single bar. Decoration consists of cases of beer bottles and jugs and tankards suspended from the ceiling beams. A big old log fire for the colder months. Recommended.

On 14th September 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1686 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Old Cross Tavern

About the best pub in Hertford for real ale.A small bare boarded pub with up to 8 real ales on.Rolls and home made pies make up the food in this traditional pub.Outside covered drinking area.A must to visit when in Hertford.

On 3rd June 2007 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2043 recommendations about 2024 pubs]