User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

Winter Gardens (JD Wetherspoon), Harrogate Central, Harrogate

4 Royal Baths, Parliament St
Harrogate
HG1 2RR
Phone: 01423877010

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Gill Smith left this review about Winter Gardens (JD Wetherspoon)

Called at this JDW bar last month as we had been advised it was one worth a visit for the grand style. As strangers though we did not know disabled access was at the rear, and after the walk down the hill to get to the front entrance my disabled husband found he had to struggle down the magnificent staircase. Once inside the bar area we did manage to find a table and chose Bridgehouse Aired Ale and Settle Nine Standards Porter, both of which were fine.

On 12th August 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1296 recommendations about 1186 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Winter Gardens (JD Wetherspoon)

As Noted below this is a grand old building which was rammed on my Saturday afternoon visit. Miraculously a small table became available so I grabbed it.
It's been more than well described below but I can see the point about it being a huge barn and the furnishings are generally fairly standard and crammed in.
The fifteen hand pumps had three unused, the two GK beers and Moorhouse Black Cat Mild with the remaining nine being festival ales. I went for the Brewsters Seventh Heaven and the Adnams Tally Ho which were both at the festival price of £2.69. The standard guest ale price here is £2.79 making it expensive for the North and even the South.
I liked this one but would almost certainly have enjoyed it more on a weekday afternoon. It's GBG 2018 listed.

On 23rd October 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2144 recommendations about 2139 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Winter Gardens (JD Wetherspoon)

Nice enough Spoons with a well spread out selection of ales. Had no problem getting served and will no doubt return.

On 23rd December 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1474 recommendations about 1472 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Winter Gardens (JD Wetherspoon)

I can see why some people may like this large Wetherspoons & its certainly a good use of a grand building, but these are the Spoons I personally don't like, a vast open space with high ceilings, filled with standard Wetherspoons furniture that do it no justice and akin to the cinema conversions they have done.

A souless echoey space that has a large bar with nowhere near enough staff.

On 9th November 2015 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1267 recommendations about 1244 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Winter Gardens (JD Wetherspoon)

For all those drab shop converted Wetherspoons pubs seen up and down the UK, there is always the occasional gem to make you forgive and forget. Set in Harrogate's former Winter Gardens - part of the Royal Baths complex - this must be one of the chain's most spectacular houses, and that sense of awe is apparent from the moment you step off Parliament Street and through the entrance porch. On this side of the pub, you find yourself in a relatively small seating area with lots of comfy chairs under some grand stone arches and decorative woodwork features. A magnificent curved stone staircase leads you down from here into the huge main bar area, past some fine stone pillar balustrades which were draped with French and Chinese flags for some undiscernible reason. Padded banquette and standard seating is arranged in abundance either side of the staircase, underneath a remarkably high skylit roof. Moving into the centre of the room, there is an incredibly large L-shaped space centred around the bar, which sees a modern counter run down the left hand side with an unusual bar back fitted with a sail-shaped canopy. High tables and stools stand directly opposite and there is additional seating towards the rear, under some nice old posters advertising Harrogate as a holiday destination. The room is mostly covered in dark wood panels, whilst the decorative ceiling is a real sight to behold and some of the tables have built in lamps which I don't think I've seen in a 'Spoons before. Large patterned windows on the back wall look out to a pleasant rear courtyard.
The fifteen hand pumps are spread along the length of the bar counter, so it takes a while to figure out exactly what is available. A good proportion were dispensing guest ales on this visit and I opted for a pint of Purity Rivet which the surly barman took an eternity to serve to me, having decided to stop midway through pouring to chat with another customer. Sadly the beer wasn't worth the wait and was easily the worse pint of the 30 plus pubs visited in my three days in North Yorkshire.
One bad pint doesn't necessarily make a bad pub though and I was more than happy sat here reading my paper, admiring the surroundings and soaking up the atmosphere. This is undoubtedly a jewel in the Wetherspoons crown and might very well convert even the most ardent 'Spoons-sceptics.

On 18th June 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2347 recommendations about 2347 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Winter Gardens (JD Wetherspoon)

Agree with Quinno, a well deserving nine awarded by me too. Apart from the magnificent space Spoons have acquired, their choice of ales on our visit were all very tempting. I went for the Evans Evans Golden Hop, a well balanced 4% good session ale, which kept me frequenting the bar for another, whilst Mrs Ale enjoyed the Lymestone Stone Cutter. The service in here was efficient and friendly, in spite of the amount of thirsty customers around the bar areas.

On 29th May 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2905 recommendations about 2905 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Winter Gardens (JD Wetherspoon)

Grand old place, with high ceilings above a 'L'-shaped bar. Large seating area on an indoor terrace at one end and a separate room at the other. Three banks of five handpumps on different parts of the elongated counter, offering a decent selection including Moorhouse's Old Boss (£2.45). Worth a visit just to look around, but good beer too.

On 15th April 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5808 recommendations about 5808 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Winter Gardens (JD Wetherspoon)

A magnificent JDW in the converted Winter Gardens. High ceilings, ornate decoration and a genuine element of grandeur. Having a drink at the top of the stairs by the old entrance is a pretty mesmeric experience. In this area there are also some discrete side rooms. Allied to this was an excellent range and breadth of ale - my Inveralmond Rascal London Porter was very drinkable. The bar is huge so you do need to walk around to check what’s on. To the rear is a nicely appointed patio that is a bit of a sun-trap. A superb Spoons.

On 1st April 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Winter Gardens (JD Wetherspoon)

Called in on both nights on our recent trip to Harrogate and also had breakfast here one day. The staff are still pretty efficient for a JDW and once again there were several guest ales on the bar. Excellent building apart, this is still one of the best JDWs around.

15/09/09
Top marks to Wetherspoons for their sympathetic conversion of this building, I believe it cost an arm and a leg to complete. Usual Wetherspoon suspects on the bar but with 3/4 guests on as well. Whilst it has always been busy whenever we've called in, we've never had that much trouble getting served. We may have just been lucky, but we've been in quite a bit on different days/nights. Pretty good for a Wetherspoons.

On 7th March 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2748 recommendations about 2676 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Winter Gardens (JD Wetherspoon)

Outstanding building sympathetically “spooned”. The Parliament Street entrance leads into a vestible then down a Hollywood style staircase into a very big room. Beers are not bad, normally a mixed range as Wetherspoons provides. The service is average Wetherspoons not the worst by any means but not too good, I have often got bored waiting for a pint in this one.

On 22nd October 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2133 recommendations about 1981 pubs]

Page: 1 2