User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 24th May 2020) with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

Idle Beerhouse, Bradford

7 Albion Road
Idle
Postal town: Bradford
BD10 9PY

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Idle Beerhouse

You enter this one roomed pub into a good sized front seating area, with the bar area on a raised section at the back. The majority of the drinkers were seated along the bar on our visit and a couple of the lads moved to let us look at the pumps and one helpful guy pointed us in the right direction, to peruse the beer board, positioned on the left hand side of the bar area. There was a choice of four cask and six craft keg on this visit. I found the beer choice to be interesting and ordered the Wild Child Brewery Rum and Raisin stout, which was superb.

On 17th May 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about Idle Beerhouse

Further to my previous review, I visited yesterday and noticed the bottom half of the windows have been coated so you no longer have a clear view in from outside, which reduces the goldfish bowl effect. Quiet at the time of my early afternoon visit, probably towards the end of any lunch trade around 2pm.

On cask at the time were Tim Taylor Landlord, Wishbone Hazy Wheat, Ilkley Spring and Stod Fold Dark. Two pumps were unclipped. I had the Dark and the Hazy Wheat, both at £1.65 for half a pint. Both ales were pulled through before being dispensed, which is always good to see when you suspect yours may be the first serve of the day.

On 20th June 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 514 recommendations about 469 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about Idle Beerhouse

Had been previously when it was Symposium, and pleased to have returned a few times since it has become the Idle Beerhouse and discover it still offers a great selection of real ale. There are 6 hand pumps plus 6 keg lines on the back of the bar, including one cider. The real ales were just over £3 a pint when I visited. The selection has been different on each visit. Would definitely recommend when in Idle. The only downside for me is that it can feel like a bit of a goldfish bowl.

On 4th January 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 514 recommendations about 469 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


aleand hearty left this review about Idle Beerhouse

In July, Market Town Taverns sold Symposium to the Beerhouses chain (WRLRR Dewsbury, Stalybridge Buffet Bar 'et al'). After a refurb, it re-opens today as the Idle Beerhouse.

On 25th August 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 358 recommendations about 343 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Symposium Ale and Wine Bar

The Symposium Ale & Wine Bar is situated in Idle's small shopping area.
Once inside there is an oblong shaped room to the front which has bench seating and normal tables and chairs,the bar is up a few steps to the rear,this area is quite narrow,there is bench seating facing the bar.
There was a good choice of real ales on the bar,i failed to note all because it was very busy,i had a drink of Oakells MPA which went down very well,the other beers noted were Bradford Jasper,Thwaites Wainwright and one from Revolution.
The pub was packed on my late Saturday afternoon visit with drinkers and people having meals.
This is a very pleasant pub,the sort of place to take the wife to.

Pub visited 12/9/2015

On 12th September 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Symposium Ale and Wine Bar

Split-level alehouse in a converted shop, with further seating in a room to rear. Very busy on a Saturday evening with good numbers dining so limited space for those just looking for a pint (although the small area around the counter did clear after a while). Well-chosen selection of six beers on handpump, including a decent pint of Two Roses Locke Ale (curiously priced at £3.12). Certainly worth a visit if in the area.

On 22nd February 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


James Joines left this review about Symposium Ale and Wine Bar

A Market Town Tavern
Real Alea always available and a winelist.
Food offering

On 28th December 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 841 recommendations about 835 pubs]