User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
What are you going to do now ? with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Turls Green (Lloyds No 1), Bradford Central, Bradford

Centenary Square
Bradford
BD1 1HY

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Lloyds No. 1 (J D Wetherspoon)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Turls Green (Lloyds No 1)

Now that the Titus Salt is under new ownership you would think they would make the only remaining Bradford JDW a bit better but if anything it's got worse. It's still a Lloyds although unbranded and was much quieter on a Thursday early evening than my previous visit. There is a solitary extra hand pump which was unused. The beer choice was rubbish with the IPA version of the JDW Trio Of Doom, 2 ciders from the festival over two months ago and Daleside Monkey Wrench. I went for the Monkey Wrench (£2.15) which was in good nick but is a very sweet beer.
Score reduced from 6 to 3.

Visit October 2016
__________________

This is a fairly typical Lloyds set in a modern building with an upstairs area that I didn't venture into. The lights and the Idiot Booth are in the left corner as you enter. It was getting dark when I arrived here and found it quite gloomy inside. There was no Sound Of Music or even Mary Poppins.
There are just two sets of three hand pumps on the ground floor which had GK Abbot and IPA, Daleside Lemongrass Thai PA, Marble Earl Grey the IPA, Saltaire Cascadian Black and Everard's Tiger. The absence of Doom Bore was welcome and I went for the Cascadian Black (£2.35) which was in very good nick.
This is one of the better Lloyds but I preferred the standard JDW in Bradford and it seems a shame that they want to shut that one down.

On 2nd October 2017 - rating: 3
[User has posted 2145 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Turls Green (Lloyds No 1)

The Turls Green is a modern looking Spoons that overlooks a grand looking square in the centre of Bradford.
Once inside there is a largish square shaped room with the bar on the right side,the room is carpeted,the seating the usual Spoons type a mix of tall and normal tables and chairs,there s also a decent sized room upstairs which has its own bar.
The guest beer choice was very poor on my Saturday morning visit,with only two beers that i fancied to drink,i had a drink of Oakham JHB which went down very well,the other guest beer was Jennings Snecklifter,there was also Spoons regulars in the form of Ruddles Best,GK IPA and Abbot.
I quite liked the views from the large windows,a decent enough Spoons that i was happy enough having a drink in.

Pub visited 2/1/2016

On 14th February 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Turls Green (Lloyds No 1)

Modern purpose-built Lloyds JDW overlooking Centenary Square and the City Hall, quite a nice location and they take advantage with a decent-sized patio seating area. Two-storey interior and the usual Lloyds-style ambience, though this one seemed a little lighter and welcoming than the usual. Being purpose-built it is indeed little more than a decorated square box, as noted below. Fair amount of ale on and mine was in decent enough nick. Fag-end of a Sunday evening visit so pretty quiet and hard to judge the usual atmosphere. I thought it was decent enough for a Lloyds, really.

On 16th November 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Turls Green (Lloyds No 1)

The main feature here was the large patio area out front, plus its location across from the Town Hall. They had six ales on, so we went for the Woodfordes Tap & Go.

On 6th November 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2971 recommendations about 2971 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Turls Green (Lloyds No 1)

Who'd have thought a Wetherspoons would be the best out of 4 pubs visited in Bradford. Initially, I thought it was going to end in disappointment as my first request (Doom Bar and a Steak) was met with the fact they were both off. Drinks wise, I was pointed to the specials and had a wonderful "Monty Python Holy Grail", which I have subsequently determined is a black sheep brew. It was wonderful. And I got a mixed grill. Only thing I couldnt understand was the sound of music. Have Wetherspoons had a change of heart? Oh, it a Lloyds.

On 20th March 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 641 recommendations about 635 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Turls Green (Lloyds No 1)

Two storey modern 'spoons in main square of the city. Six pulls downstairs with another two upstairs oddly not with the same beers. Otherwise usual 'spoons internally with an outside seating area. Beer and service quality are fine, service better than the beer in this case. Useful enough being fairly near interchange but Jacobs is closer and better.

On 27th October 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2258 recommendations about 2098 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Turls Green (JD Wetherspoon)

Modern building overlooking Bradford town hall and new City Park. Quite dark despite the large front windows. Odd layout, with an awkward mid-height partition partially separating the interior. Large patio seating area out front. Six beers on handpump, with four interesting guests (including the local Naylors Black & Tan) in addition to the regular Ruddles and Abbot.

On 10th December 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Turls Green (JD Wetherspoon)

New build JDW Lloyds right in the centre of Bradford facing the new fountains. It's a pretty generic square box and totally featureless. Downstairs seems to be aimed more at vertical drinking, whilst the upstairs room is filled with dining tables & chairs. There were 3 guest ales on my visit, which is pretty decent for a Lloyds and the pint I had was in very good nick. I called in early on a Friday evening and it was already fairly busy. I expect it's packed later on. It's a decent option for a last pint before catching your train from Bradford Interchange, which is what I was doing.

On 20th April 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2815 recommendations about 2738 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Jonathan Crewdson left this review about The Turls Green (JD Wetherspoon)

Like the Sir Titus reviewed on here, this is another Wetherspoons place. Usually a fair selection of real ales and prices are okay but it attracts that type of patron who starts drinking at 10am and never stops. Also plays music so loud you can't think let alone have a conversation. Not really in the spirit of what a pub is about.

On 30th August 2011 - rating: 2
[User has posted 39 recommendations about 39 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Earley left this review about The Turls Green (JD Wetherspoon)

Ate and drank there today. Turls Green name doesn't seem to appear anywhere. Two pints of Acorn Pacific IPA were excellent. Also available was an Elland brew and Ruddles. Gammon steak was ok too. Fllorr service good but girl behind bar was a bit offhand.

On 2nd February 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 12 recommendations about 12 pubs]

Page: 1 2