User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 26th June 2022) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

The Falcon Inn, Skipton

The Green
Arncliffe
Postal town: Skipton
BD23 5QE
Phone: 01756770205

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


. Wittenden left this review about The Falcon

Well described by my fellow scribes.This is what I'd always imagined a 'Dales'pub to be:unfortunately, most are not.Just enough ephemera to delight the lover of whimsy and Yorkshire cricket,but not enough to be a 'theme'.Unusually for anywhere north of say Norfolk, one is offered the chance of beer 'from the jug'.For this writer, coming from the depths of Kent, this is ideal,as I always prefer beer straight from the cask, when well kept. Here, the Timothy Taylor's Boltmaker was in pretty good form, and made a pleasant change from the strained and sparkled fare on offer north of the Rubicon.
Yes, this is a proper homely pub.Ideal.

On 6th November 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 264 recommendations about 263 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Falcon

This is a really nice old fashioned pub, with multiple rooms of varying degrees of smartness and scruffiness, but all an absolute delight. There's a public bar, quite small, to the left side of the bar. The front dining room, on the right on entering, looks like a museum. Service is friendly, though can sometimes be a little distracted, due to multitasking.

The small central bar counter now does have hand pumps, which will please those who don't like their beer served from a barrel or jug. The option still exists to avoid the modern contraption and go for the beer as nature intended - just ask. At the time of my recent visit there was Timothy Taylor Best Bitter (which I believe is what is now usually called Boltmaker) plus Saltaire Elderflower Blonde.

In the past I've been disappointed to find this pub not open when cycling in the Dales in autumn. Their website says it's open all day, every day, which may be down to the current licensee, or it may perhaps revert to less complete opening in the off season again - best to check if making a journey to get here.

Date of visit: 20th June 2017

On 3rd September 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3050 recommendations about 2870 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Falcon

Stunning location. Not sure about the pouring of the Landlord from a jug. Probably the worst pint we had on a 26 pub walking holiday on the InnWay. We spoke with quite a few locals who we also not fans of this technique.

Still, the pub is so wonderful and unchanged its a must visit. Glorious.

Some photos at my walking blog - http://bit.ly/1VbzxOj

On 17th April 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 965 recommendations about 957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Falcon

This is what you call a proper pub, this pub has been in the family for four generations. Also it stared in as the original Emmerdale pub, called the Woolpack. Was also lucky to have the opportunity to stay for a nights B+B, over looking the green. You don't need an alarm clock as the local Cockerel will wake you from his spot on the green. Landlord and locals great fun. To me Tim Taylor Landlord I'd take it or leave it, but when it's served straight out the keg and into a jug - wow was that a good pint. I believe the food is great, but unfortunately Mrs Miller the landlady had a broken wrist, so I'll get to sample her cooking on my next visit.

On 17th March 2011 - rating: 10
[User has posted 3092 recommendations about 3092 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


David Ross left this review about The Falcon

We were impressed by almost every pub we visited on the "Inn Way to The Yorkshire Dales" walk, but The Falcon was exceptional. This is probably what pubs were really like 100 years ago, as opposed to the false "olde worlde" look so many adopt now. The bar consists of several small rooms and almost seems to be part of the landlord's house. Wooden seating, outside toilets and bric-a brac scattered around give it a wonderfully untidy appearance. The landlord seemed rather put out when we ordered two colas with ice, but we were in the middle of a long walk on a hot day, so the ale, unfortunately, had to wait until later, and elsewhere. If you're in the area, don't miss it.

On 6th September 2010 - rating: 10
[User has posted 769 recommendations about 683 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alfie Aleswigger left this review about The Falcon

Fantastic pub in a pretty isolated village. The same landlord has been there for over 20 years. Beer served straight from the barrel. The pub and decor hasn't changed for decades. This is a Pub Enthusiasts delight. I think Places like this should be protected and listed for prosperity.

On 5th January 2009 - rating: 10
[User has posted 46 recommendations about 44 pubs]