User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Covid Rules Stuff with rpadam on the Pub Forum

Fifteens, St. Annes Town Centre, Lytham St. Annes

42 St Annes Road West
Lytham St. Annes
FY8 1RF

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Real Ale Ray left this review about Fifteens

We walked around the corner from No 10 Alehouse, so didn't really see the exterior splendour of this building as you would from the opposite side of the road. It was only when we entered the pub that the equally stunning interior hit us. The main features was the large stained glass windows fixed into a sandstone frame, the mezzanine floor and I also liked the patterned timber flooring in the back lounge area.
There were six beers across six handpumps on our visit, so we went for Bowness Bay Fell Walker and the Mill Valley Brewery Mill Blonde. Both of which were top notch and priced at £2.85 a pint.

On 1st March 2020 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Fifteens

Excellent bar, a bit different from the usual, subdued orange lighting, mezzanine floor, comfy seating. Excellent beer and choice

On 15th October 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Fifteens

This is arguably the best pub in St Annes. A decent variety of real ales on on my visit with 6 ales on and all different, from light to dark ales. Extensive descriptsions of the pub elsewhere. A good pub.

On 24th October 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3389 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Fifteens

Situated in the heart of the town centre in a very attractive building which apparently used to be a branch of Lloyd's Bank, this is a cosy pub with eclectic décor and a good ale policy. You enter into a narrow room with the servery running down the left hand wall, notable for an impressive high bar back which is lined with mirrors and pump clips and has a TV screen in the centre, showing an FA Cup fixture on my visit. There are also mirrors below the bar counter which look quite nice until you take a seat opposite, at which point you find yourself faced with the reflection of everyone's crotch. There are some limited seating options opposite the bar and a few more tables squeezed under the front windows, but the main seating options appear once you pass the bar and the room opens out a bit more. In the rear left corner, there is a particularly comfy spot with L shaped banquettes strewn with lots of cushions and with another TV screen above which was showing a different football match. The room kinks slightly to the right before running a lot further back and this whole part of the pub has plenty of standard table and chair seating, plus what appears to be an old church font with a marble top, surrounded by high stools. The flooring here is particularly attractive, with the boards laid in a particular arrangement which has created nice geometric patterns. The décor is a real mixed bag, with all sorts of old photos, paintings, adverts, vases and other such homely items creating a warm, comforting feel enhanced by muted lighting which includes some large integral lamps at either end of the bar counter. I didn't walk all the way to the rear of the pub, so it appears that I missed arguably it's stand out feature - a snug set in one of the bank's old vaults, complete with the original strong-room door. Steps near the front door lead up to the toilets and a small balcony which looks down over the bar. Most customers were watching the football on my visit, but I found myself distracted by the excellent indie soundtrack that was playing in the background.
There were four ales on handpull when I arrived, two of which - Hawkshead Fifteen Stout and Moorhouse Fifteens - seemed to be house beers, with Old School Brewery Headmaster and Bowness Teal Tipple as guests. A final handpull was dispensing a real cider. I tried the Fifteen Stout, which after the first mouthful, I quickly realised was Hawkshead Dry Stone Stout - a beer I'd enjoyed elsewhere the previous evening.
I really liked the feel of this place and thought it would be the sort of place you could take your friends or other half whilst being able to enjoy good beer at the same time. I'd be surprised if there is a better pub in St Annes and would recommend a visit if you're in town.

On 28th March 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2512 recommendations about 2512 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about Fifteens

What a gem of a pub can not add any thing to it what John Bonser as already said about the place A must to call in if in St Annes

On 15th March 2014 - rating: 10
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about Fifteens

In the centre of the attractive coastal town of St Annes, a few miles south of Blackpool on the Fylde coast is Number 15 or “Fifteens of St Annes” to give it its full trading name. It’s situated in the main shopping street, on the edge of St Annes Square.

Quite why it’s called Fifteens will remain an unsolved mystery as far as I’m concerned, as its postal address is 42 St Annes Road West.

As we approach the pub, we see a sandwich board outside telling us that it’s “the best little pub on the square”. It’s a tallish thin building, wedged between larger buildings and, with its tall rounded leaded windows and tapering roof, very much resembles a former church or chapel. The CAMRA Good Beer Guide, however, tells us that it’s a former Lloyds Bank branch.

The interior is bare boarded with a long single bar counter on the left. It’s quite narrow here, with bar stools and a ledge for drinks, but widens out further down and features much shiny woodwork, a high ceiling and burgundy walls. I suppose you’d describe the décor as eclectic – in one corner is an old dressing table and the walls are decorated with a series of Monet prints and other similar style artwork. Seating is largely traditional, with comfortable seating, cushions and curtains creating, despite the loudish music, a cosy atmosphere.

At the front of the pub, a wide imposing staircase leads to an upstairs seating area, from where one can admire the impressive ceiling, the etched windows and also look down on the drinkers below. The ground floor seating area extends back beyond the bar counter and, towards the rear, we find the pub’s most impressive feature – the former bank vault ( now known as The VIP Vault ), complete with sturdy door, banquette seating, cushions and a collection of tasteful nude paintings/prints. This room can be hired for special events, but, not being particularly big, can only comfortably accommodate 20-25 people at most.

The pub is evidently looking to appeal to a broad cross section of customers and, based on my recent late November visits, appears to be succeeding with a good mix of age groups..

Live televised sport is prominently advertised, but does not dominate. There’s a regular pub quiz, which is billed as “the silliest quiz in St Annes”. On my Saturday evening visit, an Old Skool 90’s night complete with DJ “ Mandave – AKA Linda” had just got under way, but was nowhere near as dreadful as one might naturally expect.

5 real ales were available, served by the enthusiastic and welcoming proprietor, Martin, and his friendly staff, dressed in T shirts, proudly announcing that Fifteens had been Blackpool, Fylde and Wyre CAMRA District POTY for 2012. Beers on were 2 from Bank Top, 1 from Prospect ( Pickaxe 5% ), Reedley Hallows New Laund Dark ( a dark stout - 4.4%, )plus the house beer, Fifteens, brewed by Moorhouses. On my second visit the following day, one of the Bank Top beers had been replaced by Lytham Gold, from a local microbrewery nearby. Beer quality was excellent on both visits. The pub is a CAMRA Good Beer Guide regular and is one of the sponsors of the Blackpool Beer Festival, held at the football ground in Bloomfield Road.

This pub is well worth seeking out when in the area

On 11th January 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pete Burnett left this review about Number 15

A great little pub good prices.
Shame about the staff, moretime is spent outside smoking than serving.
Allways a pity when the landlord gives the only review, the weekend millionaires and mid week dropouts seem to be the only custommers unless you count nonpaying deadlegs and friends of the staff.
With regards to review being out of date shame Yesteryear still think pub sells food(check website)
to sum up
Could be a good pub after a staff overhaul Martin being one of the best landlords in St Annes.

On 2nd August 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Martin Gillett left this review about Number 15

the last description is woefully outdated. The prices in 15 are extremely competitive. Although the 2-4-1 has ceased, there is still a 'happy hour' from 5-8 everyday with reduced prices on standard lager, smoothflow, cider and house wine.
The greatest improvement has been the wonderful addition of real cask ale. 15's reputation is changing from what it was; a haven for weekend millionaires and midweek dropouts to one of superb purveyors of wonderful ale in what is the biggest and best, small pub in St Annes.

On 1st June 2009 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Les Sands left this review about Number 15

Can get cramped very quickly.
prices are dear for the area but its two for one 4-till 10 Sun to Thurs, and 4-8 Friday and Saturday on draft beers and house wine

On 19th July 2007 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6 recommendations about 6 pubs]