User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Those two new Tier 2 rules explained! with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Grape Vaults, Leominster

4 Broad Street
Leominster
HR6 8BS
Phone: 01568611404

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about The Grape Vaults

This is a small grade two listed pub that that is unspoiled, friendly and a down to earth local and i can see why it is regarded by most as Leominster's best real ale pub.There was 4 cask beers on when i visited and i also liked the furnishings and the old bare floor boards.

On 13th September 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2115 recommendations about 2079 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Grape Vaults

I came here one afternoon on my birthday around 1973 and remember a landlord with a spade beard who presided over a small pub with quite a traditional interior and lots of knick-knacks with a bar to the left wall. What I do recall were a pair of ship's port and starboard lanterns mounted on a shelf above the bar - we debated their relative position, in that they were correctly positioned with regard to the barman looking ahead but were wrong from the perspective of the customer.
That's about all I remember, but from the outside at least, this appears to be one of the more attractive options in the town.

On 20th February 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 997 recommendations about 982 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Grape Vaults

Still the best of the real ale pubs in Leominster in my opinion too. Service was good, the atmosphere friendly. Five hand pumps available, with three Ludlow beers plus Woods Shropshire Lad and Swan Gold; all from local breweries.

Date of visit: 18th April 2017

A further visit on Sunday 30th July found the pub closed, a fact that is not mentioned on Facebook or WhatPub, just on the door of the pub. The old ways still the best?

On 5th August 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2643 recommendations about 2492 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Grape Vaults

Looks like the best of the pubs in Leominster, from the on-line reviews I looked at.

It didn't disappoint.

Two 1650s building knocked into one. All wooden furniture and creaky floorboards.

Four real ales on - my Ludlow Gold was perfect. Very good home cooked food.

Decent pub.

Photos at my blog - http://mappiman.blogspot.co.uk/2016/09/100916-grape-vaults-leominster.html

On 10th September 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 277 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Grape Vaults

The only Leominster pub I had visited previously, before I started reviewing pubs, so I was keen to renew acquaintance. Unfortunately it was closing time when I arrived, with the landlord chatting to a last customer and most of the furniture upended to facilitate cleaning. I willingly was served a quick half of Ludlow Best Bitter and took a seat by the roaring coal fire. The notice outside the door describes this as an "unspoilt Victorian pub", and indeed it does look as though it has had nothing done to it for a good long time, other than the replacement of the occasional pane of glass. The bench seating has what looks to be original wood panelling and the fireplace seems to have hand painted tiles, depicting fairly crudely drawn grapes.

The small bar to the left on entering has five hand pumps, with two beers from Ludlow brewery and one each from Woods (Shropshire Lad) and Mayfields (Priory Pale). As with the majority of the pubs I visited on this brief excursion into Herefordshire, I left reluctantly, vowing to return.

On 7th November 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2643 recommendations about 2492 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Richard Arwkrite left this review about The Grape Vaults

Of all the pubs in Leominster this is a must visit. The small bar serving real ale is to the left on entry. The inside is what a pub would have been in the past. A couple of rooms knocked together,it is very cramped.Who cares what they serve its the visual experiance that counts.

On 23rd September 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 197 recommendations about 185 pubs]