User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pubs Old & New with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Ledger Building (JD Wetherspoon), West India Quay, E14

4 Hertsmere Road
E14
E14 4AL
Phone: 02075367770

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Lloyds No. 1 (J D Wetherspoon)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Tris C left this review about The Ledger Building (JD Wetherspoon)

Reviewed 23rd January 2019:

I came here once before in the easter of 2004; it opened in 2001. Then it was very noisy with a flagstone floor as I recall which if correct has now been carpeted which greatly reduces noise. Otherwise, it's as described below with the obligatory games machines confined to the entrance vestibule.
Otherwise it is a mentioned, rather grand by 'spoons standards.
On our visit it was moderately busy but many of the tables were cluttered with empty glasses to complement the sauce bottles. Food comprises the usual fayre but despite the relatively modest number of customers, we were told that our order would take an hour to arrive; we decided not to eat. Indeed 'freshly-made' pizze were unavailable due to the pub having run out of bases, so not 'freshly-made' then.
Fifteen pumps on offer with around 12 in operation with options from the likes of Wimbledon brewery and Truman's Firestarter at an astonishing £3.19 a pint and good if a little cold. Doom Bar and GK IPA were available if so desired.
This isn't a bad place for a cheap pint of decent ale and is about the closest thing you'll get to a pub in the Canary Wharf development, but there's no real reason to come all the way out here unless you're combining it with a trip to the neighbouring Museum of London Docklands.

Reviewed 23rd January 2020:

A return after a second annual visit to the Festival of Lights and unsurprisingly nothing has changed, except that this time tables were cleared promptly and food, in the form of a chicken tikka masala for my friend, arrived in probably under 10 minutes.
Ales tried: Harviestoun's Haggis Hunter and Watney's Young Harvey both at £3.39 a pint and really rather bland. An identically priced pint of Truman's Runner was on poor form.
The six-day midnight licence is most welcome and this is still one of the more 'upmarket' 'spoons, so not a dominatrix in sight (oink, oink).

On 30th January 2020 - rating: 4
[User has posted 953 recommendations about 939 pubs]


Malden man left this review about The Ledger Building (Lloyds No 1)

A reasonable Wetherspoons conversion of a former dockyard admin building situated on the edge of the Canary Wharf business district. The front entrance has a portico to which you arrive having walked through a large outside seating area. Inside, the main room is a long rectangle with arched and oriel windows on the far end wall, the bar running along one side. Seating directly in front of the bar area is exclusively at high tables with stools, presumably to maximise room. A corridor to one side has three separate small rooms off it, two of which were privately booked at the time of my visit. It was a busy spot, even though my visit was on a Saturday, I presume due to the proximity of the Docklands branch of the Museum of London.
Various festival beers were on as well as the JDW usual suspects, prices marked being higher than usual for a JDW.
I was served (eventually) by a remarkably disinterested barman with hardly a word being exchanged.
An ok building and the obvious spot to go to for a pre or post museum visit refreshment.

On 29th October 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1686 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Ledger Building (Lloyds No 1)

As Wetherspoons go I quite liked this one. Granted it was 4.30PM on a Wednesday so we got in before the evening after work rush from the glass towers close by. An impressive dockland building now put to good extended use as a pub I liked the multi area layout of this one either side of the main corridor, and as mentioned the toilets are indeed very impressive. And as my visit was also complemented by a fine pint of ELB Quadrant Oatmeal Stout this was all in all one of the more enjoyable ‘spoons visits.

On 24th March 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1699 recommendations about 1648 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Ledger Building (Lloyds No 1)

An unusually low building for a dockland setting, appearing somewhat inconspicuous from a distance compared with the former warehouses nearby and tower blocks beyond. In fact, if looking for the place in the late afternoon/early evening you will probably hear all the customers outside in the large patio area first. However, as you approach the hubbub, the historic façade with its grand portico awaits... Once inside, the refurbishment is a curious mixture of heritage and modern, and the decor of the main bar and side rooms gives the place a distinctly cool feel. The toilets are a feature, though. Some 12 different beers were available from the 15 handpumps on this visit, with White Horse Wayland Smithy and Mordue Workie Ticket being amongst a pretty decent selection of real ales. Certainly worth a stop if in the area.

On 7th February 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Ledger Building (Lloyds No 1)

On the fringes of the Canary Wharf complex, this former commercial building has been well renovated to form a single large bar decorated in standard JDW form, with gaming machines and WiFI to complete the inventory. There is a dismal-looking cobbled terrace at the front, on this occasion occupied by only two sorry-looking female smokers. It is a stark contrast to the other bars in this insalubrious underbelly of the complex: the clientele are mostly lower-paid Eastern European workers, the staff are rude, the WiFI didn't work and the outside terrace was littered with fag ends and food wrappers, which detracts from the whole area. There were ten ales on – I had Sambrook's Powerhouse Porter, not a beer I would normally enjoy but it was in good condition if, predictably, over-chilled. There is little, other than the cheap beer, to recommend this from some other pubs in the area.

On 25th November 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2532 recommendations about 2510 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Ledger Building (Lloyds No 1)

A Grade 1 listed building ,used by the clerks of the Port of London Authority until the 60's,there is very little Lloyds No 1 branding visible either on the exterior or interior.The entrance is impressive and a central corridor runs straight ahead.To the right is the main bar in a large open plan space with slightly fussy furniture while on the other side of the corridor the three interconnecting rooms have a more authentic look and feel.These sections are popular with diners,drinkers may feel more comfortable closer to the bar.
The loos are noteworth and drew strong praise from both the gents and ladies in my Saturday lunchtime group.We were here to eat and it was all wholesome,if standard fare from this chain.
At the bar there are three banks of five handpumps but with the dull GK IPA,Abbott and Doom Bar all doubled up.A single pump was dispensing a real cider,while the guest ale were Hobgoblin,Adnams Broadside and Old Ale (£2.79 and well kept),Batemans Rosey Nosey,Wolf Santa Paws and Hook Norton Twelve Days.Rather too many Xmas ales for my liking but everything sampled was in reasonable shape.
I suspect that the timing of your visit may dictate how you find this pub,afterwork Friday would no doubt be more hectic compared with my trip the following lunchtime.Given the location pricing is very reasonable and I can see myself using this place again when next down in Canary Wharf.The pub is also next door to the free entry Docklands Museum if you need to gen up on the history of the docklands.

On 30th November 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Ledger Building (Lloyds No 1)

15 real ale taps. Food served.

On 24th November 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2693 recommendations about 2637 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Ledger Building (Lloyds No 1)

I arrived here today just before midday to find this rather opulent place fairly quiet. It has a fairly large main room with a long bar and a couple of smaller rooms with just tables and chairs.

All in all I found this a very pleasant place in which to have a drink. I was expecting it to be more expensive than it is, my pint of London Fields Hackney Hopster was £2.39 and in good condition. I would say the beer prices were some 30-50p dearer than the East London Suburbs Spoons and some of the food options a bit dearer.

It's a Lloyds Number 1 rather than a Spoons and having visited three of them now I am finding it difficult to see what the differences are.

If you're visiting Docklands it's worth a visit but I doubt if I will be back as the whole area is not the easiest to get to other than by bus or the Legoland Railway.It took me a good hour to get here from another East London Postal area.
The Jubilee line may be a better option.

On 10th January 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Ledger Building (Lloyds No 1)

One of the more characteristic Wetherspoons house in one of the old docks financial buildings that was disused for the best part of 20 years. The building underwent a major restoration and refurbishment that has resulted in a tastefully modern bar that fortunately doesn't take the gloss off the building's character or heritage although it may not be done out to everyone's taste. The rather grand entrance is flanked by 4 large columns and this leads leads to a flag stoned corridor. Off to the right, the barn like main bar is long and cavernous with the ceiling held up by modern wooden frames and a long narrow skylight at the rear. There is plenty of seating although it can get packed at peak times as you would expect. On the other side of the corridor are 3 interconnected rooms of fairly equal size that offer something a bit more sedate away from the crowds although some of the colour schemes on the fairly bare walls are rather dull to say the least. These rooms can be individually or collectively sealed off and used for functions or private parties. The central room also has a small outdoor patio. The Ale selection is above average with 5 guest beers supplementing the 5 more standard ones. Prices are the highest ‘Spoons prices I have come across with guest beers at £2.50 but, not being part of the multi-million pound bonus brigade, this is still bargain territory to me compared to what is on offer in the rest of Docklands. The service can certainly be improved with the zombie like staff eminating very little in the personality department. Twice I had to correct them when they started to pull the wrong pint and I'm not sure that dishing up a guest beer in a Pride glass would be a hit with the Cask Marque guys either. The toilets downstairs are worthy of exploration, even having a small lounge outside if you are the type who feels the need to linger around public conveniences. Overall, there is little in the way of bars or pubs in Docklands that appeal to me and I like the Ledger because it does have a different ambience and feel to the usual ‘Spoons and is probably the only place in Docklands I would feel comfortable having anything other than a quick pint.

On 23rd September 2008 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Ledger Building

large multi-roomed Wetherspoons in a lovely setting on the Canary Wharf Complex. Good range of real ales and the usual Wetherfood! outside seating area for those long summer days

On 23rd May 2007 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2043 recommendations about 2024 pubs]