User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
New pub visits 2022 with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Charlie Hall (JD Wetherspoon), Birmingham

49 Barnabas Road
Erdington
Postal town: Birmingham
B23 6SH

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Gill Smith left this review about The Charlie Hall (JD Wetherspoon)

Called into this JDW 22.1.20 while updating all West Mids Wetherspoon bars and found it to be usual standard and had two Black Hole brewery beers which were ok.

On 8th August 2021 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1324 recommendations about 1207 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Charlie Hall (JD Wetherspoon)

Mostly unremarkable 'spoons bingo-hall conversion, but the front features a slightly curious raised covered terrace and the main part of the hall-like rear extension has a double-height ceiling for some reason. Usual furniture and decor throughout. Modest selection of real ales from the two banks of five handpumps, including some duplicated clips, with A Tall Christmas Tale from Wickwar (£2.19) being the most interesting selection.

On 11th December 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 7001 recommendations about 7001 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Charlie Hall (JD Wetherspoon)

This is an archetypal Spoons barn. It consists of a large high ceilinged rectangular room with the bar on the left. There are all the usual fittings but there is a small extension at the back with a wooden floor and some natural light. This area also leads to the patio and houses the toilets so there is not the usual climb up several flights of stairs.
The bar has two sets of five hand pumps that on my visit had GK IPA & Abbot doubled up, 2 ciders, Doom Bore, B & T Crooked Hooker, Banks's / Arcadia Angler's Ale and Stonehenge Danish Dynamite. I went for the Danish Dynamite which was in first class condition.
This is a fairly average sort of Spoons but it gets an extra point for the beer quality.

On 7th March 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Andrea Hughes left this review about The Charlie Hall (JD Wetherspoon)

Typical Wetherspoons layout and food, with a decent range of real ales although a bit of a mixed clientele!

On 30th April 2014 - rating: 3
[User has posted 21 recommendations about 21 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Charlie Hall (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a Spoons conversion, with the back patio area. Usually, you get cinemas that become bingo halls, but this place is different, as in it was a 50s-ish pupose-built bingo hall, operated by Cascade back in the 90s. It is a plain, white building, with a loggia. It takes its name from the Ward End born (site of the Fire Station) bit-part, Laural and Hardy semi-regular. The interior is one long room, effectively. It is in blue, beige, red, white etc - the usual mix, with some wood panel and a hearth feature at the end where i sat. Books are also dotted around, as are lots of Laruel & Hardy stuff, and info boards. A few TVs had the footy on and there was no music. The service was fine and the usual Spoons mix of clientele were in. The usual Abbot and Ruddles were on, with the usual taps too, along with around 5 handpulls. I had a more than decent Flack Manor's Black Jack Porter - showing, to me at least, the Spoon's beers are improving in general. Yes, i would go back - it is, in effect, the best real ale place in the area.

On 19th February 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3067 recommendations about 3062 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john dwane left this review about The Charlie Hall (JD Wetherspoon)

we go here about once a week and the service is always frendley normally a range of 3/4 guest ales quality quite good but for me i wish they wood make sure the sparklers are on because i like a head on my beer.

On 30th August 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2 recommendations about 2 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Taylor left this review about The Charlie Hall (JD Wetherspoon)

Huge JDW and quite massive single room. It must be good 80m by 50m room. It used be bingo hall and I can see why it is big. Named after famous Actor that starred with Laurel and Hardy and was born nearby. Easily busiest pub in Erdington as Erdington has high unemployment so they go to JDW for cheap drinks. Dining area at the rear of the room. You have to negotiate through maze of smokers in order to reach only door than leads inside. At least this JDW never fail me with excellent drinks.

On 4th February 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 75 recommendations about 75 pubs]