User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 26th June 2022) with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Boy & Barrel, Bradford

60 Westgate
Bradford
BD1 2QR

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Boy & Barrel

This has apparently been done up, but on passing today I wouldn't have known that from the outside. I assume the money got spent on the inside!

On 10th March 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 678 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Yeadon left this review about The Boy & Barrel

The Boy and Barrel has reopened with a new landlord after a recent refurbishment. See T&A article.
https://www.thetelegraphandargus.co.uk/news/18202646.boy-barrel-bradford-opens-new-landlord-refurb/

On 4th February 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 54 recommendations about 47 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Boy & Barrel

Very basic - and small - town-centre pub of a type that has almost vanished in large parts of the country. No money appears to have been spent on the place in decades, but this has the minor advantage that it still retains some interesting features such as the decorative glazing in front and side windows. Narrow bar with limited seating apart from a reasonable table at the front, a few high stools opposite the bar and a couple more small tables further back. One TV plus some dubious-looking remnants of what might be a karaoke system. No real ale, so it was a quick pint of John Smiths Extra Smooth (£2.00 during the day-long happy 'hour') and I was off...

On 10th December 2012 - rating: 4
[User has posted 7001 recommendations about 7001 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Boy & Barrel

An excellent if very shabby victorian interior with lots of dark wood, Minton tiles, leaded stained glass and lincrusta. A plain counter takes up most of one side of the main bar, there's a small seating area at the front then opposite the bar some drinking booths without tables or seats, I don't think it ever had them, there are just stools and a shelf in each now. At the back left is a small plain snug. Between the counter and front seating area is a huge amount of audio kit; fortunately not in use. There's a total of five handpulls four of which are clipped with Tetley's Cask however they don't sell it. Odd and eclectic bunch of customers when I was in, I nearly tripped over one smoker sitting on the front steps. This is a great example of a small victorian town pub which has sadly been left to fester; newspaper cuttings on the wall suggest the pub is under threat of closure which is a shame as in right hands this could be a wonderful pub.

On 8th July 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2592 recommendations about 2360 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Boy & Barrel

This pub was open yesterday 09/03/2012. It was such a scruffy mess and there was such a horrible noise coming out of it from the karaoke (or it could have been a cat strangling contest) that I couldn't persuade myself to go in.

On 10th March 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3000 recommendations about 2917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Boy & Barrel

The Boy and Barrel is a smallish pub in the bargain basement area of the city centre.
Once inside this pub is fairly narrow i had a drink at the front of the pub and there was one real ale on here this was Tetley bitter and this was a decent drink.
I thought it was nice to see a smallish pub like this still open in the city centre.

On 20th January 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


tony craven left this review about The Boy & Barrel

fantastic original pub, one of only a few left, entertainment every night and has recently started serving burgers and hot dogs

On 2nd August 2007 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2 recommendations about 2 pubs]